Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,784 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 2,784

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2014

      Excellent recipe! Wouldn't change a thing. Served it for a dinner for 200, and went off like a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      Really a great recipe.Enjoy this.Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      This is delicious! I made it exactly as written and it came out great. I had leftover sauce, and discovered that it is wonderful for cooking lots of other things besides chicken. We've used it as an ingredient with skillet-fried thin-sliced potatoes (white and sweet potatoes mixed, with some bacon and onions), and last night I poured tossed about 3/4 cup of leftover sauce with bite-sized chunks of eggplant, bell pepper, and onion (along with an extra 2 T of olive oil), spread them on a baking sheet, and oven-roasted them at 425 for 20 minutes. The best roasted veggies I've ever had! I'll be keeping this bourbon-less "bourbon" marinade handy in my fridge for more experimentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      Oh my goodness, was this tasty!! I found myself licking the leftover sauce in the pan when I was doing the dishes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Just made this and it was wonderful. I cut the chili peppers a bit as my family is not big on spicy foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      Yummy! I lightly coated my chicken pieces in flour before browning. I think that helped to thicken sauce, as in did not need to add cornstarch. I actually added a little more water to make sauce go further. I also added fresh pineapple chunks while simmering. Just the right amount of sweetness to contrast to the spicy hot flavor of pepper flakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      Quite sweet, I would omit half of the sugar next time but otherwise a hit with hubby and 14 month old!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      Like this recipe needs another review.....but here goes. OFF THE CHART in flavor with very little effort. I added a little cornstarch to my chicken before browning it up and after adding the sauce ingredients and the chicken back into the pan, I added a little more cornstarch mixed with chicken stock to help it thicken up more. Absolutely wonderful dish! Not time consuming, easy on the budget, and it makes the cook look like a rock star! Thanks LinMarie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2014

      This is a tasty recipe. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts since they are more flavorful. I really browned the thighs that I cut into medium sized pieces in an iron skillet on medium-high. I mixed all the ingredients in a small bowl before adding them to the skillet. I used pineapple juice with a tablespoon of vanilla extract (would have used bourbon if I had any) instead of apple juice. I also added some much needed sesame oil to give it more flavor. I thickened it up with a little cornstarch (2 tsp cornstarch mixed with 2 tsp water) towards the end. Served it over Jasmine rice. I gave this 4 stars because it isn't quite the bourbon chicken you can get in the food court, but is the closest I've made. I'd make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      WOW! This was a big hit at my house! I added the 1 tbsp of corn starch to make the sauce thicker, but I will definitely be making this again and again. I served over steamed broccoli and rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      I tripled the recipe but otherwise made it as written. The sauce is very hot so next time I will cut back on crushed red pepper by half. I added green pepper and sliced onion at the end and threw in 3 lunch sized containers of pineapple tidbits to try to cut the heat. Over all pretty good. Will serve over white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      This was wonderful!!! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and before I cut them up I put the thighs in the freezer for 45 minutes so they would be easier to cut in bite size pieces, then per the reviewers I dredged them in probably 1/4 C cornstarch mixed with 1/4 C flour. Also, I only had Jasmine rice and it worked fine. Next time I will serve with snow peas and make sure I have the ginger as well as reduce the sugar down to 1/4C as it was too sweet for me but I'm not complaining! It was deeeeelicious!!!!! You've got to make this!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      I used a tablespoon less sugar than recommended and still felt it was a little too much. Also only used 1/3 of the red pepper. I did not have apple just so just mixed a little applesauce and boiling water and then strained it to 1/4 cup then added it to my magic bullet with the balance of the ingredients. Really liked this recipe and will make it again but just with a little less red pepper spice....I like things a little more mild. Not a criticism of the recipe just a personal preference. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      This was pretty good, not sure if I will make it again but if I do I will definitely add cornstarch to thicken as the last reviewer recommended. It was a decent home cooked recipe but didnt taste like the food court bourbon chicken at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      It was an excellent recipe, wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      This is nothing like the bourbon chicken We get in the Chinese restaurant around here in Akron Ohio. I followed this recipe to the T. It taste somewhat close to bourbon chicken but somewhat close is being generous. It's not a bad recipe. It dose taste good; however, when I go to the store to pick up the few things I don't have, I want it to taste like it is supposed to. My grocers market sells bourbon chicken breast that are great and actually taste like it should; bourbon chicken. If you want bourbon chicken, try a different recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Awesome!!! A little on the salty side-I will use lower sodium soy sauce next time. I didnt use any red pepper and apple juice but tasted soooooooooooooooooooo good. I will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Made this for the family and they came running to the dinner table. They were hovering over the crock pot while it was cooking it smelled so good. I also reduced the sugar and added cornstarch. This is a definite repeat dinner soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      I saw how many great reviews this had so I had to try it. Followed as written but I also had to add a shot of Jack to make it a true bourbon chicken! The only thing is that you don't list how much rice to make. I made six servings and there was too much sauce. Will cut this receipe in half the next time. Great flavor to the chicken, but my rice was soup. Reheated the next day was much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      Taste good but did not come out as a dark red like it did in the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 140

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites