Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    2,808 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 2,808

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2011

      I'd have loved to be able to read through the more than 2,000 reviews, but that is not possible! What does strike me is how people continually sub ingredients. In this recipe the ingredients are simple and won't kill you.:( All I had to buy extra was the apple juice. Also, I'm flabbergasted at the number of reviews!! This is a perfectly nice recipe, but 2,384 reviews??? Wow! I did not sub or change a thing. I did, however, mix all the sauce ingredients in a bowl while the chicken pieces were frying: saves time. 1 - 2 tablsp olive oil, LinMarie, is by far not enough to pan-fry 2lbs chicken pieces!! I added maybe 2 or 3 extra tablespoons while the chicken was frying. Next time I will not use ground ginger, but rather 1 - 2 tablespoons finely grated fresh ginger, which should be more flavoursome. The pepper flakes were fine (I think I used a full teaspoon). However ... the sauce needed thickening, and I did add cornflour mixed with a little water, right at the end. The sauce looked much more attractive once slightly thickened. I will make this again, because (let's face it) it's a lot of flavour with little effort. What I will change, is the breast meat. We don't as a rule like skinless breasts, and I think boneless thighs, skin on, or even bone-in thighs will be far more flavoursome. Sorry, I was not complaining, just explaining!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      We really enjoyed this recipe. We changed a few things to suit our taste, such as using less sugar (only 1/4 cup) and thickening with cornstarch (1T with 1T water) at the end. Bottom line is that this recipe is a winner....thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      Loved this recipe. Used orange juice instead of apple juice, balsamic instead of cider vinegar, and it still turned out great. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      A good recipe! A tad on the hot side, next time I am going to cut the red pepper down to a 1/4 tsp and add some veggies. This will be added to my rotation. Thanks LinMarie SueyTee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      OMG! I have died and gone to heaven. I did something differenc with the sauce. Instead of cooking the chicken and sauce, I decided to marinate a 1 1/2" thick rib eye stead in one zip lock bag and in the other ziplock bag, I marinated some boneless, skinless chicken thighs and marinated both over night in the refrigerator. I had my cast iron griddle on my bbq which I had made bacon early in the morning and left it there, I heated it on high, lower the temperature to medium, placed the chicken thighs and grilled them until they were a golden brown in color. I did the same for the steak which turned into a beautiful dark brown. Both chicken and steak were so tender, juicy and delicious, all you heard was, oh, my god how delicious and tons of moans, not to mention. plenty of finger licking. I am now making it with some baby back pork ribs and am also planning on grilling some jumbo shrimp wrapped in bacon. I'm sure they'll be awesome. This sauce has lots of possibilities all you need is come creativity and you have something delicious. Oh, yes forgot, 'MAKE PLENTY OF SAUCE TO HAVE ON HAND"

      Thankx for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      I've reviewed this before, but it's so incredible, I wanted to share my ideas. First, loved the idea of cutting back on vinegar, red pepper flakes, brown sugar and using low salt soy. I used more juice instead of extra water. For those of you that shop at Aldi's, they sell this HUGE bag of stir fry veges with noodles for about $2.99. There are huge sugar snap peas, mushrooms, baby corn, carrots, chinese noodles and more. When I said the veges were HUGE, I mean it. You wouldn't be able to buy all these veges for $2.99. It comes with a teeny, tiny packet of stir fry sauce, but I just put it in the freezer for another use. I cook the veges/noodles according to directions on the package and serve with the chicken. The whole fam loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Made this for dinner tonight for my fam. Absolutely loved it! Took the suggestions of others and coated the chicken in Cornstarch...added 1 Tbsp Cornstarch to the sauce to help thicken it while simmering, mixed in some Green Onions and served it over fresh steamed broccoli and brown rice. Yum!! Will definately be making this again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      I would like to suggest to anyone making this recipe...make the sauce first..taste..At least I saved my chicken..Yes!! did not like. but hey you might.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Love this recipe. Became fam favorite after first try. Like to use chicken thigh meat because it doesn't dry out as much as all-white meat. Will cut chicken into bite-size pieces, fry in pan, then add sauce ingredients to pan with what chicken juices. I add approx 2 TBL cornstarch to thicken the sauce a little. I do cut back on the dried red peppers (personal preference). I serve over rice, topped with chopped green onions, and stir fried veggies on side (chopped cabbage, sliced onions, celery, broccoli, and carrots). Love to drizzle sauce over the veggies. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      I took the others suggestions and cut the vinegar in half. Also, I lessened the crush red pepper by 2/3. My wife, who is the bourbon chicken lover, said she thought is was a great meal. My kids and I enjoyed it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Fantastic!! I have never had bourbon chicken so I cannot comment on the authenticity but who cares what you call it, its great! I love that I always have the ingredients on hand without planning ahead to stop in the Asian section of the grocery store. I have made this once a week since I found this recipe and here is what has worked for me. First of all, double the sauce because it is delicious over rice. Secondly, my chunks of chicken cooked through in less than 20 minutes so I had dinner on the table even faster. Finally, to combat the extra sauce and shorter cook time, I added a little bit of cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken it. No big deal and worth the extra step to have dinner in 15 minutes. Thank you for a perfect recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      You have to make the sauce and cook the meat in order to appreciate this recipe. You can taste the sauce first and determine. This recipe is used by all of the oriental resturantes in my area and are a best seller. If you want the liquour taste, then this is not for you. If up are a drinker, then no this recipe is not for you. Thank You Very Much DOloris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      I've made this twice now. Once for myself, DH and DD. I didn't have apple juice so I substituted orange.I also used low-sodium soy and only 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. At the advice of others I coated the chicken (and tofu) in cornstarch and lightly fried both. I removed the chicken and tofu and heated the sauce. After 15 minutes of the sauce not thickening I added 1 Tbsp. of cornstarch mixed with 1 Tbsp. of water to thicken. Worked perfectly. I added the chicken for the last 5 minutes to finish cooking. The chicken was moist and perfectly cooked.

      The second time I made this was for DH's family (10 people). I cooked 3 lbs. of chicken and 2 bricks of tofu, again coated in cornstarch. I doubled the sauce and had just enough. And this time I used apple juice and honestly couldn't tell the difference between apple and orange. It went over really well.

      This was a huge hit and I love how easy it is. This will definitely become part of our rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Made this in a dutch oven, on a camping trip recently. It was delicious! Everyone just loved it. I didn't have one complaint. It was easy, I just pre-mixed the sauce ahead of time to cut down on prep time before dinner. I couldn't have been more happy with the results. Needless to say, we had a lot of happy campers! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      This chicken was easy and very tasty! I added a small pack of frozen stirfry veggies to the sauce & chicken while it was cooking & it was delicious! This will be a repeat for my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This was a big hit in my family! Even my 19 month old ate it up. I did make a few changes based on previous reviews... doubled the sauce, used half the sugar called for, used applesauce instead of juice, and I dredged the chicken pieces in cornstarch before cooking them. Also, I only added the chicken breast back in the sauce for the last 10 minutes. Turned out great! Served with stirfried veggies (carrot, mushroom, zucchini, and onion) and rice. I probably would lower the sugar a bit more the next time, as it was still a bit sweet for our taste. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      This was great I didn't change a thing. It was very easy to make. Both my husband and I think it's a keeper Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      My kids loved it. I followed the recipe step by step. I love bourbon chicken but this did not taste like bourbon chicken to me. It still was very delicious we love spicy foods. next time I will add 1/4 cup of bourbon. You can also mix the ingredients and marinade overnight. Drain chicken but make sure you save marinate. Brown chicken, add marinate & bring to boil. add (2 tsp of cornstarch dissolved with water) to thicken sauce at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      My family loves this recipe. We're making it for the 2nd time tonight.The first time we made it exactly as written. Tonight doubled the sauce and we've added broccoli, mushrooms, water chestnuts and carrots and it's AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Very good flavor. I like the sauce to thicken so took the chicken out and boiled the sauce longer. The chicken pieces were done before 20 minutes so check at 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 141

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.4
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    42%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.0 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.0 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes