2868 Reviews

I'd have loved to be able to read through the more than 2,000 reviews, but that is not possible! What does strike me is how people continually sub ingredients. In this recipe the ingredients are simple and won't kill you.:( All I had to buy extra was the apple juice. Also, I'm flabbergasted at the number of reviews!! This is a perfectly nice recipe, but 2,384 reviews??? Wow! I did not sub or change a thing. I did, however, mix all the sauce ingredients in a bowl while the chicken pieces were frying: saves time. 1 - 2 tablsp olive oil, LinMarie, is by far not enough to pan-fry 2lbs chicken pieces!! I added maybe 2 or 3 extra tablespoons while the chicken was frying. Next time I will not use ground ginger, but rather 1 - 2 tablespoons finely grated fresh ginger, which should be more flavoursome. The pepper flakes were fine (I think I used a full teaspoon). However ... the sauce needed thickening, and I did add cornflour mixed with a little water, right at the end. The sauce looked much more attractive once slightly thickened. I will make this again, because (let's face it) it's a lot of flavour with little effort. What I will change, is the breast meat. We don't as a rule like skinless breasts, and I think boneless thighs, skin on, or even bone-in thighs will be far more flavoursome. Sorry, I was not complaining, just explaining!!

113 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie March 13, 2011

We really enjoyed this recipe. We changed a few things to suit our taste, such as using less sugar (only 1/4 cup) and thickening with cornstarch (1T with 1T water) at the end. Bottom line is that this recipe is a winner....thanks!

81 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakebaker61 January 20, 2003

Loved this recipe. Used orange juice instead of apple juice, balsamic instead of cider vinegar, and it still turned out great. Thank you.

78 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craftykeya January 16, 2003

A good recipe! A tad on the hot side, next time I am going to cut the red pepper down to a 1/4 tsp and add some veggies. This will be added to my rotation. Thanks LinMarie SueyTee

61 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suey Tee December 02, 2002

OMG! I have died and gone to heaven. I did something differenc with the sauce. Instead of cooking the chicken and sauce, I decided to marinate a 1 1/2" thick rib eye stead in one zip lock bag and in the other ziplock bag, I marinated some boneless, skinless chicken thighs and marinated both over night in the refrigerator. I had my cast iron griddle on my bbq which I had made bacon early in the morning and left it there, I heated it on high, lower the temperature to medium, placed the chicken thighs and grilled them until they were a golden brown in color. I did the same for the steak which turned into a beautiful dark brown. Both chicken and steak were so tender, juicy and delicious, all you heard was, oh, my god how delicious and tons of moans, not to mention. plenty of finger licking. I am now making it with some baby back pork ribs and am also planning on grilling some jumbo shrimp wrapped in bacon. I'm sure they'll be awesome. This sauce has lots of possibilities all you need is come creativity and you have something delicious. Oh, yes forgot, 'MAKE PLENTY OF SAUCE TO HAVE ON HAND"

Thankx for a wonderful recipe.

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Boopster May 24, 2011

I've reviewed this before, but it's so incredible, I wanted to share my ideas. First, loved the idea of cutting back on vinegar, red pepper flakes, brown sugar and using low salt soy. I used more juice instead of extra water. For those of you that shop at Aldi's, they sell this HUGE bag of stir fry veges with noodles for about $2.99. There are huge sugar snap peas, mushrooms, baby corn, carrots, chinese noodles and more. When I said the veges were HUGE, I mean it. You wouldn't be able to buy all these veges for $2.99. It comes with a teeny, tiny packet of stir fry sauce, but I just put it in the freezer for another use. I cook the veges/noodles according to directions on the package and serve with the chicken. The whole fam loved it.

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tree luee dee August 16, 2010

Made this for dinner tonight for my fam. Absolutely loved it! Took the suggestions of others and coated the chicken in Cornstarch...added 1 Tbsp Cornstarch to the sauce to help thicken it while simmering, mixed in some Green Onions and served it over fresh steamed broccoli and brown rice. Yum!! Will definately be making this again, thank you!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahKaye March 20, 2011

Love this recipe. Became fam favorite after first try. Like to use chicken thigh meat because it doesn't dry out as much as all-white meat. Will cut chicken into bite-size pieces, fry in pan, then add sauce ingredients to pan with what chicken juices. I add approx 2 TBL cornstarch to thicken the sauce a little. I do cut back on the dried red peppers (personal preference). I serve over rice, topped with chopped green onions, and stir fried veggies on side (chopped cabbage, sliced onions, celery, broccoli, and carrots). Love to drizzle sauce over the veggies. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.siriani July 27, 2010

I would like to suggest to anyone making this recipe...make the sauce first..taste..At least I saved my chicken..Yes!! did not like. but hey you might.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise December 16, 2002

I took the others suggestions and cut the vinegar in half. Also, I lessened the crush red pepper by 2/3. My wife, who is the bourbon chicken lover, said she thought is was a great meal. My kids and I enjoyed it also.

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DarrenMD March 05, 2003
Bourbon Chicken