Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2012

      The reason it is called"Bourbon Chicken " is because of a Restaurant on BOURBON STREET in Loisianna,that makes it. That recipe made it famous so famous that they could afford to share it! SOOO,it does not have to have Bourbon in it! But once you have the recipe like everything else, you can change it, if you want to change it, and make it your own!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      I have been looking for a bourbon chicken recipe that is close to a local cajun fast food restaurant near us and this comes the closest yet. Very good. I will fix it again, but cut the pepper amount in half---very hot! I also did not see how the author intended to finish cooking the chicken, but I assumed it was to be simmered in the sauce. I cooked it for 20 minutes and it seemed just right. I tripled the recipe to make enough sauce and also used 2 Tbs of corn starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Yum! I used half the amount of chicken but left the amount of sauce the same. Next time I might use a touch less sugar. I don't know why it's called bourbon chicken when there isn't any bourbon in it, so I put some in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Very Nice, I doubled the sauce. I used bourbon, boneless skinless thighs, also added red/ yellow peppers and scallions.
      Will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic. As almost everyone else states, definitely double the sauce (or halve the chicken, whatever) . And if you're confused on the lack of bourbon, the apple juice is the substitute in this recipe. Who needs apple juice?! Use bourbon! And don't be like me and try to double the sauce recipe in your head, or you may end up adding 4 times the amount of pepper called for...OOPS.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Fantastic with the right amount of spice! No changes

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      Made this tonight for dinner and it turned out exactly like the kind you get in a restaurant. I didn't have apple juice, so I used Cran-Grape juice and it didn't change the flavor (although it did have a slight grape jelly scent.) I doubled the sauce and it made the perfect amount, served over Jasmine Rice. Next time, I'm going to throw in some fresh broccoli spears in the last few minutes of cooking.<br/><br/>For those who asked why there's no bourbon in the recipe, there's not supposed to be. You will not find any true Bourbon Chicken recipe with bourbon in it. The name comes from Bourbon Street in New Orleans. Good bourbon has a very strong flavor and would really change the way this dish tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      My husband, oldest son, and I really enjoyed this chicken. It has such a good flavor. I served it over jasmine rice. We discovered it's good with peanuts or cashews mixed in. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      This turned out wonderfully. Tasted more like a gourmet sauce. I ended up using 2 tablespoons of cornstarch, but I also doubled the sauce recipe. I highly recommend doubling the sauce. I also threw in some peanuts about 4 or 5 minutes before it was done along with the chicken. Also, even though I'm a salt lover, I think I'll use low-sodium soy sauce as I found it a little too salty. The boyfriend loved it just the way it was though. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Made for dinner tonight and it was fantastic! Had some basmati rice and peas with it which was yummy :). Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      Absolutely delicious!!! Doubled the sauce recipe. My super picky boy ate every bite of it and asked me to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Wonderful!! definately would make this again. I had to use about 2tbsp of cornstarch to thicken sauce up, but other than that it was pretty straight forward. I have never had bourbon chicken before, so this was a great introduction..and it tasted like I spent hours in the kitchen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      for a dinner party this dish is fantastic easy to prep and simple to cook even for a beginner the end result will impress.I also used a fresh red chilli as well as flakes .This dish will also stand in a slow cooker to give you more time to drink wine with guests add cornflower just when about to serve enjoy Andy Dalton

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I have never made Bourbon Chicken before, and I found this to be a very easy dish to prepare. And it tasted wonderful. I will make it often. Thanks for posting it, Deejer. Make for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      LOVED IT! I made it tonight for dinner and thought it was absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe except instead of cornstarch & water, I used flour and water. Definitely will make this again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I love this recipe! I altered it a little though. I marinated the chicken in the sauce for about and hour. I then sauted broccoli and green peppers before I sauted the chicken. I then poured the marinade in the pan as the directions said and added the cornstarch. At the end I sprinkled toasted sesame seeds over the whole dish and served. YUMMMMM!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      Made this last night. Very good and easy to double..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      We loved it! Will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      wheres the bourbon? recipe is good but i expected to use some bourbon in it,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Delicious and just what I've been looking for. I've made a couple of other Bourbon Chicken recipes from this site but none of them gave me the taste that I was looking for. This recipe is FANTASTIC! Wonderful flavor, beautiful colored glaze on the chicken. The heat from the crushed red pepper is very subtle. You really don't notice it until after you have swallowed a piece and then you feel this tingly heat. I served it on simple, white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 529.8
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    41%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1573.3 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 50.1 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites