Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bourbon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bourbon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2001

      Recipe was simple and quite delicious. The whole family loved it, well, except the four year old, but she doesn't like anything really. :: laugh ::: I didn't have a lot of time to marinate the chicken, so I cut it into cubes to marinade and pan fried it. If you want to use the leftover marinade as a sauce, either use less soy, or put something else in it to take the saltiness out. The chicken was WONDERFUL, but the marinade a bit salty when used as a sauce. I still give this five stars because the marinade wasn't meant to be a sauce in the first place :: smile ::::

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2002

      This was a really good dish and easy to pepare. The sauce was wonderful - I used lite soy sauce because of the sodium in regular soy sauce. The chicken was a little dry - but I think 1 1/2 hours is too long to bake chicken. I used skinless chicken breasts, but not boneless. I think cooking it about 45 minutes would have been long enough. It's definitely a keeper though - and the sauce can be used on ribs or porkchops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2001

      Tastes great, and pretty simple too. Be careful not to overcook it, though, if you end up cutting the chicken into small chunks. In that case 30-45 minutes should be fine. Keep checking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      This was a huge hit at my family reunion. The chicken was delicious. I added an addition 1/4 cup of brown sugar to mine, because I had family eating this that wasn't used to the bourbon flavor. In the future I would also recommend cutting the amount of Bourbon by about 1/8 a cup if you have family that aren't used to Bourbon. Cooking time is a bit long, I cooked mine for about 45 minutes, and I made a double recipe. This is going into my cookbook for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2002

      I think I cooked it too long. Otherwise the sauce was great. The aroma while it was cooking was awesome. Otherwise due to not paying close enough attention the chicken was a little dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      excellent! I made this at the request of my fiancee. I had not had this before. The KIDS said it tasted like beef jerky, they liked it very much. I was impressed and will make it again! only suggestion was a personal preference to add green onion and chives. wish I could save the sauce for something! very good!! ::applauds::

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Do not have to cook for hour and half and definaley marinade over nite. A few hours doesn't cut it. You really have to like bourbon to enjoy this dish...and it is more of a liquid sauce, not really a marinade. Try maybe on a steak next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      this was introduced to me by a friend at work... it was AWESOME! my husband loved it and i've also shared it with my inlaws and they loved it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I just made the recipe and I found it to be just as good as the cajun place in the mall where i work at.hats off to you .this will be going in my recipe book

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      if you dont like bourbon or have young kid try apple juice instead

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Okay so I made this today and the only thing I change was that I cooked it for 45 mins and it turn out great, I served it with rice. and everyone in the house loved it. I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for sharing this recipe. 5 stars is not enough!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This chicken was delicious, however, I'm not sure if this review should count! I thought I had bourbon but I didn't and it was late on a Saturday night when I was going to marinate it so I substituted whiskey for the bourbon. I was fortunate that the substitution didn't kill it! It was absolutely delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      Well my husband and I both liked this recipe, we love chicken so it's great to find something new. I wanted this recipe because I tried it at a restaurant but it didn't taste as good. I think I should have cut up the chicken before marinating it so that the whole chicken would have been marinated, not just the outside. I also think the recipe calls for too much bourbon so I will cut back a little next time. Still tasted very good though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Very good. My daughter and her friend barely left me any. Luckily, I got a spoonful so I could personally let you know that I loved it. I served it over rice. This is a recipe that that is so good and easy that I will make it again. Kid pleasers make mom pleasers. Thanks for posting Mark O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I thought this was just a tad bit sweet. Next time i will cut the sugar down a bit. My family LOVED this. We served it with Sesame Noodles (76930) and Pot Stickers (98345). This made for an awesome homemade chinese type night. Will definately make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

    • on February 19, 2008

    • on September 07, 2007

      I have only had one recipe in my life turn out bad enough to throw in the garbage and this was my second! Not sure if grilling it would really make that big of a difference but it was awful. The onion was too much and it tasted like booze. Maybe we just aren't used to liquor? We all took one bite and threw it away. Sorry, guess I'm too simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      I used fresh garlic, ginger and onion because I didn't have the powdered variety and it worked brilliantly. Big hit at my recent red white and blue dinner party - by the way I am an Aussie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bourbon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.8
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    27%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1686.7 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 27.9 g
    111%
    Protein 33.5 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes