8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was just perfect! i halved the recipe and used 1 jalapeno pepper. cooked ribs and basted with this sauce. i rate this 5 napkins, err stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia January 28, 2003

great sauce! we butterflied a whole bunch of tiger prawns and basted with this sauce while broiling - fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SukiB January 27, 2009

Everyone loved this sauce and I really liked the addition of the bourbon. It gave the sauce great flavour! I left out the chilies since I didn't have any (added in some hot sauce to give it a kick) and cut down on the brown sugar. I cut the recipe in half and it worked really well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu December 09, 2007

This is wonderful. I didn't have any bourbon so I made it without and it turned out great. I can't wait to try it with the bourbon to see how much better it can be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfraz September 27, 2007

I made this recipe, but instead of using the ketchup, I used my own ground tomatoes. It is a huge hit. Everyone is asking for it! The kids are putting it on everything, and the neighbours want the recipe! This is a very easy and delicious recipe! I will definately make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam #5 August 21, 2005

I guess this wasn't for me. Everything sounded great but it had a very strong ketchup flavor. I think it would of been a good sauce for meatloaf without the bourbon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Gourmet November 19, 2004

Oh yum Pets!...this is delicious BBQ sauce. I used it on my broiled chicken, and I also marinated the chicken in the sauce for a couple of hours before I ccoked it... I always keep chilies in my freezer, and DH always keep bourbon on hand, so your recipe caught my eye, (I love recipes with bourbon!) I have made BBQ sauces with different kinds of whiskey before, but this one is fantastic! definately a keeper for me...I have the balance of the sauce stored in the fridge for next week. Thanks Pets for a wonderful BBQ sauce recipe!...KC :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz May 11, 2004

This is a fantastic BBQ sauce. It smells and tastes so good. I used chipolte flakes given to me by Lorac, as I thought they would compliment the other flavours in there. This is made and sitting waiting for a patch of fine weather so's I can try it out on the BBQ!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 24, 2003
Bourbon Barbecue Sauce