72 Reviews

We have never had B. M.'s squash casserole, but I'm thinking we don't need too. This is a winner of a recipe. And its made at home!!!! My family is big cornbread lovers so I knew this would be a hit. We loved it. I really like the crispy bits on top after taking out of the oven....mmmmm. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 11, 2013

I made this as our Thanksgiving "try something new" dish. After reading through the reviews, I decided to use 1/2 cup butter and omitted the salt. Everyone loved it! I don't think I needed to worry and probably could have made the recipe as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
guambyrd November 24, 2012

Our family loves having this delicious casserole every year at Thanksgiving since 2008, after I discovered it on RecipeZaar. Even by cutting the butter in half, you do not lose any of the fantastic flavor! Your family and friends will be begging for seconds (and thirds)! Thanks Tish for posting it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigwinefan November 06, 2012

OMG!!!!! This was sooooo awesome! I almost think that I could live off this dish! I only used about a quarter of the butter (because I forgot it and ended up dolloping some on before baking). Also, I was out of chicken bouillon so used a packet of chicken gravy I had laying around. I added fresh corn. Really, this recipe is really great for any spring/summer veggies! Let me say it again - Awesome! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. You've changed my life! LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcapayas April 25, 2011

So yummy! My only complaint was that it was too salty - no need to add salt when there's 3 chicken boullion cubes in there! Otherwise, i loved how the flavors all blended together. I used 1 stick of butter as more than that seemed a little too much. We used shredded cheese since I didn't have enough to cube up. It was delicious, & I will totally make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P September 22, 2010

I really liked it! I made it for company and they wanted the recipe, which I happily gave them. I made it w/o the cheese also. It's still really good, but it doesn't have as full of flavor, understandably. Great way to use up a LOT of squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Epicurian September 20, 2010

Oh, yummy! I didn't change a thing. It definitely makes a big batch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. July 23, 2010

Really Good !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark r. July 19, 2010
Boston Market Squash Casserole