Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boston Market Squash Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boston Market Squash Casserole

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2004

      OH...MY...GOD!! I made this for a some friends about two weeks ago (just as an experiment). It was the first time I'd tried the recipe so I was a little skeptical. Lucky for me...it was a HUGE success! I even had to make "to-go" boxes because everyone loved it so much. Everyone wanted to take some home...even the folks who claim to dislike squash. My boyfriend was disappointed to find that I had given so many "to-go" boxes...he didn't have any left. We've had it FOUR times since!! This recipe tastes exactly like Boston Market Squash Casserole (if not better). I was almost tempted to use shredded chesse but the cubes of cheddar cheese are like finding little drops of heaven. Also, crumbling the Jiffy Corn Muffin in the casserole (instead of my usual Seasoned bread crumbs) seemed to have made all the difference. I will NEVER go back to my old Squash Casserole recipe again!!! I only have one suggestion: The cheese already produces a little bit of grease so, if you have a sensitive stomach, do not use the entire 3/4 cup (a stick and a half) of butter. Just use about 1/3 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Yummmmmy! What a great way to use up my garden squash. The first time I made this, I did find, like others, that it was a little heavy and soggy. My DH also likes his veggies to be firmer. All was easily fixed the next time by NOT cooking the squash prior to baking, and by reducing both cheese and butter by half. I also then used only enough bouillion to moisten the mixture prior to popping in the oven. The result was a much lighter dish that was more to our palette, and yes, more like stuffing than a casserole. In fact, when people ask what it is I tell them Squash Stuffing - it seems to help mitigate any aversion to squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2004

      Needed a recipe for a squash casserole for Easter and took this. Everyone liked it. I put cherry tomatoes, sliced in half, to give color and flavor. I think I put 1/2 cup of butter - next time I would try less butter - maybe 5-6 Tablespoons. Very good casserole for a group gathering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Excellent!! No need to cook squash/zucchini prior to assembling dish, cooks perfectly in oven. Half butter, omit salt completely, used shredded cheese. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This is a great casserole. My whole family just raved over it. It had the right amount of herbs in it. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Whoa...this stuff is very addicting. I fell in love with this at Boston Market and as of a few weeks ago they have discontinued it. :( So after learning that I was on a quest to find one I could make at home, because it really is that good. The texture is a little different, more grainy because of the cornbread, but the taste is almost the same. I did follow to the T and felt the butter was way too much, making the dish greasy. So next time I will cut the amount of butter in half or less. The thyme is what makes this dish, so don't leave this out. I can't wait to make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      I didn't have any yellow squash, so I doubled the zucchini. It froze well. I used the cornbread recipe on the carton of corn meal & everyone loved this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This was had really great flavor. I am a salt eater, so I made it exactly by the recipe. however, next time I will definitely use only 2 bouilon cubes, and may even eliminate the salt..I will also reduce the butter by half...it was gone in a flash when i took it to work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I thought it was terrific - DH not so much (it was squash, after all). Made half a recipe, and used shredded rather than cubed cheese. Also, we use a chicken base paste rather than bouillon cubes. Instead of adding it to the pan with frying onions I mixed a tsp. of it with the reserved water, then used the recipe amount of salt. It came out fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      This is amazing! I halved it and it was just perfect. Cut the butter to 2.5 tablespoons and used unsalted. I cooked the squash and cornbread the night before and chopped everything else to make it easier for a weeknight. Better than Boston Market, less grease.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I liked this. I would caution people to carefully watch when it is boiling to only get it to fork tender and not beyond. Next time thats what I'll do as mine was a little too soft. I didn't add any salt and pepper thinking people could do it themselves, but I don't think it needs any extra. I have a family of cheese freaks, so extra cheese was used and put on top when served. Overall~good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      I made this for Thanksgiving. I doubled the recipe. I did reduce the butter by half a cup (or 1/4 a cup for reg. recipe) and it still tasted great. Everyone really liked it including the ones who don't like squash. The only thing I will change next time is to omit a cube or so of the chicken bullion. My casserole was not overly salty, but for me it was on the borderline. Overall I thought it was a great recipe and will continue to make it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      I steamed the cubed squash instead of boiling and only until almost tender, otherwise followed the recipe with the exception of reducing the butter by half & using half of my own cornbread recipe (Favorite Cornbread) It makes A LOT, I froze one dish and served the other for dinner. An oversight was that I forgot to add salt, didn't miss it Only salted a little @ serving. Thanks for sharing, this is a time consuming and multi-stepped recipe, but worth the effort and a great way to use up an abundance of squash from the garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

    • on January 11, 2013

      We have never had B. M.'s squash casserole, but I'm thinking we don't need too. This is a winner of a recipe. And its made at home!!!! My family is big cornbread lovers so I knew this would be a hit. We loved it. I really like the crispy bits on top after taking out of the oven....mmmmm. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      I made this as our Thanksgiving "try something new" dish. After reading through the reviews, I decided to use 1/2 cup butter and omitted the salt. Everyone loved it! I don't think I needed to worry and probably could have made the recipe as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Our family loves having this delicious casserole every year at Thanksgiving since 2008, after I discovered it on RecipeZaar. Even by cutting the butter in half, you do not lose any of the fantastic flavor! Your family and friends will be begging for seconds (and thirds)! Thanks Tish for posting it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

    • on April 25, 2011

      OMG!!!!! This was sooooo awesome! I almost think that I could live off this dish! I only used about a quarter of the butter (because I forgot it and ended up dolloping some on before baking). Also, I was out of chicken bouillon so used a packet of chicken gravy I had laying around. I added fresh corn. Really, this recipe is really great for any spring/summer veggies! Let me say it again - Awesome! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. You've changed my life! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      So yummy! My only complaint was that it was too salty - no need to add salt when there's 3 chicken boullion cubes in there! Otherwise, i loved how the flavors all blended together. I used 1 stick of butter as more than that seemed a little too much. We used shredded cheese since I didn't have enough to cube up. It was delicious, & I will totally make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boston Market Squash Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.8
     
    Calories from Fat 269
    67%
    Total Fat 29.9 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 76.2 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1163.8 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites