92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was terrible. I don't even know where to begin. I get where some of you complain that there isn't enough spice. It is a mild meatloaf. First off, there has to be less tomato sauce and more bbq sauce or, use ketchup and bbq sauce combined. Tomato sauce is too bland. And a shake of garlic powder is completely useless here. It was rediculously not enough. I used 95% ground sirloin so there was not the grease factor here, but there was a lot of liquid I spilled out and that is from the tomato sauce. It was mush, sliced mush. It was a waste of good ground sirloin. You have the right idea, but you got steered wrong with the bland tomato sauce. I think if you use half a cup of ketchup or bbq or a mix of both would improve it immensely. Also, I would recommend minced onions, dried or fresh. What a waste of good meat. The only thing I can think of that there are good reviews on this is that these people make lousy dry meatloaf. All this recipe has going for it is that it makes a moist one. That's it.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail in the kitchen February 14, 2010

This recipe just couldn't have been any easier to make. My husband is a big Boston Market Meatloaf fan and he loved it. His exact words were" you can make this one any time you want". This will replace my old recipe for meatloaf. Thanks.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnreq October 16, 2002

Thank you Mille. This is a very easy recipe. I shared this with a group of friends of mine and they loved it. I made it, using BULL'S EYE BBQ Sauce, and found it terrific.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Moshe January 01, 2003

I was really disappointed with this recipe. My family doesn’t eat beef so I substituted ground turkey. It was VERY wet even after an hour+ in the oven. It tasted like eating BBQ flavored mush, very nasty. I have never had a problem subbing ground turkey or chicken for ground beef in recipes but I think is one where you should definitely use the ground beef. It will probably turn out much better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michell waterman February 14, 2004

This tastes just like Boston Market's excellent meatloaf. The combo of tomato and barbeque sauces make a moist and flavoful mixture. Be sure to use ground sirloin or round versus ground chuck. We are low carbers and so I omitted the sugar and halved the flour to 3 TBS and it still got rave reviews at our home. Try this with Crabbycakes' superb Mock Mashed Potatoes(#59553) made with pureed cauliflower instead of potatoes for low carb nirvana.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNLisaB September 05, 2003

I've made this many times. This time, I was out of tomato sauce and had .97 of a pound of ground beef. I substituted fiery salsa for the tomato sauce and told my family is was 'Mexican Meatloaf.' They loved it! Also, using a meatloaf pan makes a huge difference in the outcome. I've used a regular loaf pan and the meatloaf pan, and the ml pan drains the fat and excess juice better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I don't eat bugs January 14, 2015

Tasteless and terrible texture

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea.klous December 10, 2014

Love this! It's my "go to" meatloaf recipe now. Like that it is not too oniony. Most difficult part is pouring off the grease half way through.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haniski August 02, 2014

This is my GO TO meatloaf recipe. I can't tell you how many times I have made it. It is DELICIOUS! I do always make a little more sauce for the top, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meowmitz July 15, 2013

I just have to say I have always hated Meat loaf, until now, OMG this is to die for, YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy's Kitchen October 14, 2012
Boston Market Meatloaf by Todd Wilbur