15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor on this Boston Cream Pie is to die for! As others mentioned, the frosting makes enough rich chocolate for 2 cakes. Also our opinion is that the filling should be doubled. Absolutely fabulous and well worth the time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joyhetrick April 03, 2008

Sugarpea, this pie is just to die for!!!. I made this today to serve to some guests tonight the cake and filling came out just absolutely perfect, and I doubled the frosting ingredients. Just make sure when you drizzle the frosting over the cake, to make sure you have the cake on a wire rack, so the frosting can just drizzle down. This cake takes a little extra time to prepare, but is well worth the time to make. Thank you Sugarpea for such a wonderul recipe that I can be proud to serve to my guests...Kittencal:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen September 05, 2004

Wonderful recipe, and delicious! Made it today. Tip for those of you who don't have superfine sugar on hand, I ground regular table sugar in my coffee/spice grinder. Worked great! The chocolate topping is so good, I am glad there was extra so I could have some later with some fruit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juggler66 January 15, 2012

I do A LOT of baking and was up for the challenge of this pie. While it took many hours to prepare the final result was, to me, not impressive. The cake was heavy, the cream filling was bland and the chocolate top left room for improvement. I will not be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cookinpa October 11, 2009

I thought when the cake first came out of the oven, "Man it's too crusty a cake and another flop" but I read on another BCP recipe to assemble and then put in the fridge overnight before serving, so I did that here and it made ALLL the difference. The crusty-ness of the cake melding with the pudding and the whole thing was smooth and moist. I used regular sugar, not superfine and it came out good. My 1st time making MCP, Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boya123 June 05, 2009

This turned out fantastic! My husband had been asking for a Boston Cream Pie and I'd never made one before. Took some time but was well worth it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peanut-67 September 03, 2008

Thank you for this recipe...I was looking for a recipe for barvarian cream and your filling fit the bill. I would put a bit more vanilla extract in it next time,but it worked out well for me. A lot of the other recipes made too much filling, but yours was just right. Thanks again for a wonderful filling and I will be using it often..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mama Ceta April 28, 2008

This was so great! It was my first time making a Boston Cream Pie...first time even to make a cake with a filling in the middle! I was scared at first about making it because i don't have a double boiler or an electric mixer (for the eggs) but I managed to make do with what i had and I must say that I am very proud! My cake came out a bit spongy, but it's a great contrast to the filling and the frosting which I feel are really rich. Great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PuddingPoof April 19, 2008

I made this yesterday and we really enjoyed it for dessert last night! I made the filling first and while that was chilling I made the cake. By the time the cake was cool, the filling was ready to go, too. The frosting was easy to put together and there is some left over. This recipe is not hard to make but does take some time so plan ahead. Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook February 23, 2007
Boston Cream Pie