Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boston Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boston Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2008

      The flavor on this Boston Cream Pie is to die for! As others mentioned, the frosting makes enough rich chocolate for 2 cakes. Also our opinion is that the filling should be doubled. Absolutely fabulous and well worth the time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      Sugarpea, this pie is just to die for!!!. I made this today to serve to some guests tonight the cake and filling came out just absolutely perfect, and I doubled the frosting ingredients. Just make sure when you drizzle the frosting over the cake, to make sure you have the cake on a wire rack, so the frosting can just drizzle down. This cake takes a little extra time to prepare, but is well worth the time to make. Thank you Sugarpea for such a wonderul recipe that I can be proud to serve to my guests...Kittencal:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Wonderful recipe, and delicious! Made it today. Tip for those of you who don't have superfine sugar on hand, I ground regular table sugar in my coffee/spice grinder. Worked great! The chocolate topping is so good, I am glad there was extra so I could have some later with some fruit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I do A LOT of baking and was up for the challenge of this pie. While it took many hours to prepare the final result was, to me, not impressive. The cake was heavy, the cream filling was bland and the chocolate top left room for improvement. I will not be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I thought when the cake first came out of the oven, "Man it's too crusty a cake and another flop" but I read on another BCP recipe to assemble and then put in the fridge overnight before serving, so I did that here and it made ALLL the difference. The crusty-ness of the cake melding with the pudding and the whole thing was smooth and moist. I used regular sugar, not superfine and it came out good. My 1st time making MCP, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

    • on September 03, 2008

      This turned out fantastic! My husband had been asking for a Boston Cream Pie and I'd never made one before. Took some time but was well worth it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Thank you for this recipe...I was looking for a recipe for barvarian cream and your filling fit the bill. I would put a bit more vanilla extract in it next time,but it worked out well for me. A lot of the other recipes made too much filling, but yours was just right. Thanks again for a wonderful filling and I will be using it often..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      This was so great! It was my first time making a Boston Cream Pie...first time even to make a cake with a filling in the middle! I was scared at first about making it because i don't have a double boiler or an electric mixer (for the eggs) but I managed to make do with what i had and I must say that I am very proud! My cake came out a bit spongy, but it's a great contrast to the filling and the frosting which I feel are really rich. Great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I made this yesterday and we really enjoyed it for dessert last night! I made the filling first and while that was chilling I made the cake. By the time the cake was cool, the filling was ready to go, too. The frosting was easy to put together and there is some left over. This recipe is not hard to make but does take some time so plan ahead. Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      I made this last night, I cheated, I bought Yellow cake mix, since I can't make a cake to save my life. I did however make the filling and frosting according to instructions. MY DH said it was just like baker's Square. Now, begin that the box version makes two pans of cake, I took one cake and wrapped it in Press-n-Seal for Freezer. And the other one is the one I used and followed instructions for. It was perfect. Thank you Sugar Peas for sharing. Denise

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      tasted lovely and recipe was very exact, i would make one change and use more filling as it was so nice there should have been more of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      I made this pie for my mother-in-law's birthday on St. Patrick's Day and it WAS A HIT! The recipe I felt was easy to follow and not as difficult as I thought. I made the cake and filling the night before the party and the frosting the day of after I had the cake filled. I even doubled the recipe and made Boston Cream Pie cupcakes for the children at the party ausing my pastry bag to fill the cupcakes. Back to the cake, it was light the filling was just thick enough to hold the 2 layers together. The frosting was just sweet enough and it set up nicely after being poured over the cake. 2 THUMBS UP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      I found the recipe to be pretty easy to make & it tasted great! The extra steps are worth the end result. Thanks sugarpea :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      A very good Boston creme pie. Although it takes some time to make this recipe, it isn't too difficult. I followed the recipe exactly, and had plenty of chocolate frosting, in fact I tossed some of the extra. I used Kittencal's advice, and spread the frosting on the cake on a wire rack, which made it very easy. The filling turned out just a little too thick and dense for me, and barely covered the bottom cake layer. I'll work on that next time. I'd like it to be lighter and creamier. Thanks for posting sugarpea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boston Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 587.7
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    20%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 111.7 mg
    37%
    Sodium 313.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 111.9 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 83.5 g
    334%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes