Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boston Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boston Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2003

      My husband and I loved this pie! The filling was nice and creamy and rich. I followed the instructions exactly. I had no problem with the cake falling apart,for which I am thankful. My husband says to thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This Boston Cream Pie didn't turn out well for me. I had a difficult time getting the custard to thicken up, and then, it tasted bland. Also, it made way too much. Then when I went to spread it over the cake, it dribbled down. So I had to throw half of it away. The chocolate glaze didn't taste right either... it came out looking HORRIBLE, and I'm so disappointed because I'm serving it tonight for my husband's birthday. I wish I had tried another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      We really liked this. It looks more complicated than it is, and that's always a good thing ;-). I did have problems with the glaze, so I played with it til it came out right but that wasn't too big a problem. And I did have to sub custard powder for the cornstarch as I didn't have any cornstarch. But I think that made the custard creamier so I will use that next time as well. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      Well, perhaps my problems were my own fault, but... my cake turned out pretty dry; I baked it for 21 minutes, but perhaps should have taken it out earlier. The custard and frosting both turned out too thick. Again, maybe it was just me. (The custard never appeared to thicken; thus, I wound up cooking it too long.) Flavor was good; my issues were just with texture. Better luck next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      This dessert is very tasty. The cake is moist. The chocolate glaze is smooth and velvety. The filling is soooo creamy. I made this cake and very carefully assembled it. It was beautiful! Unfortunately, when I cut it the next day, the filling collapsed. But that certainly did not affect the flavour. It tasted sooooo good! Just wasn't real pretty. Also, I only used 1/8 tsp. salt in the filling. 1/4 tsp. was too much when I made it the first time. I am sorry I can't rate this higher.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I used this recipe for the filling and glaze only. Both were really easy to make and good. The filling wasn't quite what I wanted so will likely keep looking for another formula. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Wow. This was my first time making Boston cream pie, and I was impressed at just how good and easy it was. With the original cake recipe being the texture that it is, it wasn't half as hard as I thought it would be to cut it in half. I used a long bread knife; so it cut almost all the way through easily. The custard was easy to make, just took a little commitment to stir it frequently and make sure it didn't boil too soon. And the glaze? Well, I am not good at frosting cakes. I was able to just spoon the glaze onto the cake with a serving spoon, and gravity pretty much did the rest without much help from me (just a little prompting with a butter knife). I followed all the steps as accurately as I could and let the cake set overnight in the refrigerator. The only major change I made was to use Nestle semisweet chocolate chips in the glaze, and that turned out good anyway. For the surprisingly small amount of effort I put into this cake, I am very impressed with the outcome. Thank you so much for making this "special occasion" treat available to me for an "everyday occasion"! (I'll check in with you 15 pounds later on this, lol.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      This was so good! I was a little nervous b/c the cake batter didn't look very yellow to me but it baked up very nicely. I used 2 -8 inch pans so I wouldn't have to fuss w/cutting it in half. I was also leery about the custard b/c it didn't taste like much when I lickd the spoon, but inside the cake it was perfect! Also I was worried a/b the glaze being just that, and not covering the sides, but it was super sweet so the amount was PERFECT. All my worries were gone when I bit into the final product - delicious. The right amount of sweetness... enough that I could eat more than one piece! LOL Thanks for a great recipe, my DH is in BCP heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      I made this for a borthday at work. I made the cake and it turned out really bad. I followed the directions so I have no clue what I might have done wrong. I went ahead and used yellow cake mix and use the custard and chocolate topping given and both were wonderful. I will try the cake again to see where I went wrong. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Loved it! Saved time by making the cake the night before. The custard thickened well in about 25 minutes and I did the chocolate glaze in the microwave. Everyone asked for seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      Yummy for your Tummy! This is a great recipe! I would suggest using a double broiler for the filling...and I doubled the chocolate glaze and added more powered sugar to make it thicker since I love chocolate! It was a hit with all my family! It's easy to make! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      This cake was just delicious & earned many compliments ;) The prepartion was simple, however timeconsuming:( The result was a very yummy cake which was worth making everytime:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      A great recipe. My girlfriend made it as directed but used some leftover rum ganache as the frosting. What an added boost!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      Very easy to follow recipe with delicious results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Nice and easy. I also cheated using a box cake mix. The custard was awesome. It was more than I needed, so made an extra little bowl of custard that was so good I just wanted to make another batch! DD was taking this cake to school, so I was a little worried about the 'traveling'. She carried it carefully, and said it was kind of like a bobble-head bobbing around on the way to school...but it made the trip with no real problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      I cheated with this recipe...instead of baking the cake from scratch I used a boxed yellow cake mix (which worked great). The custard and chocolate glaze was incredible! (I didn't change a thing). Everyone LOVED this cake! One small tip: I inserted a wooden kabob stick and that really helped to keep the layers together...this isn't a cake to be transported, although mine held up fairly well. VERY YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2004

      Wife loves this pie. Anything with filling she likes but this is one she says is going to be on the table a lot more. Very fine recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boston Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (1303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3203.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1359
    42%
    Total Fat 151.0 g
    232%
    Saturated Fat 88.9 g
    444%
    Cholesterol 1096.1 mg
    365%
    Sodium 3055.4 mg
    127%
    Total Carbohydrate 426.0 g
    142%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 261.7 g
    1047%
    Protein 57.7 g
    115%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites