12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I decided to use half semi-sweet and half dark chocolate chips.and the topping was really delicious. I didn't have a problem with the filling. It came out just thick enough and perfectly flavored. The cake was nice and moist and not overly sweet. My family fought over the last piece, so next time I will make two of them!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maine E Ack! August 11, 2011

Wow wow wow!! This cake is sooo delicious! My husband got creative in the kitchen and made this for our family, and boy did it turn out to be a beautiful cake, so impressive! We loved it! Thanks for posting :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ April 23, 2010

This is a fantastic cake! and I only got to try half the glory. I was walking the cake over to neighbours and the top slit right off and onto our lawn. What a bummer! Anyway - we all ate the bottom half with great joy! The layer cake part is very versatile and could be used in other layer cakes. I know that it will be my go to recipe from now on. The layer rise beautifully and taste wonderful. I will for sure be making this again!! Made for PRMR

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 21, 2010

This was my first Boston Cream Pie, and I'd always wanted to make one. Am I ever glad I did!! I also froze the cakes, knowing I'd have more time later. This is just the best!I totally agree with the previous member about the 10 stars! Thanks Gail, it's fantastic! Made for a forum event at KK's neew site!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER February 26, 2010

Why don't they give us more stars to give, this recipe deserves at least 10! I premade the cakes and froze them then yesterday allowed them to slightly defrost as I filled with custard and frosted. I did make the Cherry topping to put over the top as my Dear Late Mother did for all of my Birthday Cakes (this to commerate our two dear Presidents Washington and Lincoln also born in February) Ohhh my goodness easy and delicious cake...it is now the recipe I will use every Birthday Thank You so very Much for this recipe I will never have to purchase my cake from the Bakery again. Love Ya Gail!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 February 24, 2010

Who needs a bakery when you can make this at home??? My family just loved this cake/pie!!! Just in case there is some one new to using cornstarch, when making the filling, start with the cornstarch then add a tiny bit of the milk at a time until it is all dissolved and thin, then add in all the rest of the ingredients prior to adding to the boiling milk. Thanks Gailanng, we will be making and having this again!!! Made for Holiday Tag and Afternoon Tea/Light Supper in Photo Forum.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 01, 2010

This is unbelieveably delicious! It's worth the extra time it takes to make this cake. Next time I will use 1/2 semi-sweet chocolate and 1/2 dark, just a personal preference. If you are thinking of making this cake, go for it, give it a try. You'll love it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheCharcoalGourmet January 29, 2010

Good! Made this for my son's birthday. Easy to prepare, simple, not overly sweet. Used Cake Flour Substitute with good results. I used fat free milk and think it would be better with whole milk. Also, probably best to use clear vanilla for the prettiest color. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama May 11, 2012

I must have done something wrong. Sorry for the low rating, but I had to throw the pie out. I was so disappointed.. from all the great reviews, I was really looking forward to this. Hopefully, I'll try again and change my stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holley Mc May 10, 2010

The cake and chocolate glaze was fabulous, but I wasn't too impressed with the custard filling.. This was my first time making a cake from scratch, and it was really fun. Next time, I'll do the cake and chocolate the same, just try a different filling. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauren4004 January 19, 2011
Boston Cream Pie