10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The recipe sounds very good, but the directions are missing the notes....1 and 18. If I hadn't read the other reviews, I would not have known to stud the onion with garlic.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Country Cook July 15, 2008

This is the ONLY Boston Baked Bean recipe I have ever had any success with. I love smoking in the summertime, and nothing goes better with smoked meats than baked beans. I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfectly! Thanks for a great recipe, I wouldn't change a thing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Soup Nazi July 31, 2010

Nana Lee these beans are so awesome. This is my first time making home made Boston Baked Beans. I will never buy Bush's Baked Beans again. I did stud the onion with cloves and used Splenda Brown Sugar. I also added cayenne pepper, a smoked pork hock, bacon (I didn't have salt pork) and seasoning salt. I didn't have to add any water through the six hours of cooking. The three cups of water at the beginning were enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stevo May 29, 2007

They publish the recipe (and others) at their web site.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deirdre March 21, 2015

I've just returned from Boston, where I stopped by Durgin Park, for the baked beans. I've made the recipe provided here for several years now, although with salt pork only recently (less of a bacon flavor, which is a good thing). What surprised me about the beans on their home turf was that the flavor was distinctly mollasses-forward, with a hint of vinegar. This recipe, as I've made it, is intensely sweet, with the molasses having a more minor role. I wanted to email the restaurant and ask for tips but the website only provides a phone number. While I liked this recipe, I found the Durgin Park Restaurant version to be more appealing for its more molasses oriented flavor.<br/><br/>As far as the baking soda and changing the soaking water goes, I paraphrase Dianne Kennedy, the great cook and author, on the subject: "if the recipe tells you to throw out the soaking water, throw out the recipe". You can't get rid of the gas producing elements inherent in beans, either it affects you or it doesn't, but tossing the soaking water or adding baking soda isn't going to do anything, it's the way beans are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lurline@anchor December 16, 2013

These beans are terrific! I made a triple batch because I have a large family and also I wanted to make it worth the long cook time and they still turned out to be fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaClark37 June 01, 2013

Lower the oven temp to 225* after one hour. Put a dry rubbed pork shoulder in beside the bean pot and feed an army 7 hrs. later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sushied July 20, 2012

These beans were good! I am looking forward to having a bean sandwich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me In My Pantry September 28, 2008

These beans are fabulous! It's my first try at making baked beans from scratch, so I followed this recipe to the letter. It turned out so good I don't think there's anything I'd change. I do like Chef Stevo's idea of studding the onion with cloves though and I might try that next time. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, very easy to follow with great results!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XanderBby June 01, 2008

Sorry, this was only OK for us. I've had better beans. I found them to be lacking in flavor which seemed odd to me since I cooked them for 6 hours. They smelled wonderful but the end result just didn't turn us on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse August 29, 2007
Boston Baked Beans in Bean Pot - Durgin-Park