11 Reviews

The recipe sounds very good, but the directions are missing the notes....1 and 18. If I hadn't read the other reviews, I would not have known to stud the onion with garlic.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Country Cook July 15, 2008

This is the ONLY Boston Baked Bean recipe I have ever had any success with. I love smoking in the summertime, and nothing goes better with smoked meats than baked beans. I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfectly! Thanks for a great recipe, I wouldn't change a thing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Soup Nazi July 31, 2010

These beans are terrific! I made a triple batch because I have a large family and also I wanted to make it worth the long cook time and they still turned out to be fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaClark37 June 01, 2013

These beans are fabulous! It's my first try at making baked beans from scratch, so I followed this recipe to the letter. It turned out so good I don't think there's anything I'd change. I do like Chef Stevo's idea of studding the onion with cloves though and I might try that next time. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, very easy to follow with great results!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XanderBby June 01, 2008

Nana Lee these beans are so awesome. This is my first time making home made Boston Baked Beans. I will never buy Bush's Baked Beans again. I did stud the onion with cloves and used Splenda Brown Sugar. I also added cayenne pepper, a smoked pork hock, bacon (I didn't have salt pork) and seasoning salt. I didn't have to add any water through the six hours of cooking. The three cups of water at the beginning were enough.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stevo May 29, 2007

Lower the oven temp to 225* after one hour. Put a dry rubbed pork shoulder in beside the bean pot and feed an army 7 hrs. later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sushied July 20, 2012

I'm a bit torn with rating this. The first time I made this recipe it was just wonderful! Everyone enjoyed it and it didn't last long at all! Even my mocha-love child thought it was great, and he is a picky eater! If six stars were an option, I'd be asking still for another star because these beans at least go to "11"! The second time I made it, I found myself out of some of the ingredients and being on WIC and EBT, It was either wait or make due, and try to not burn down my HUD house! I did not have any of the beans that the recipe called for, and I know, the very first disclaimer says to not substitute anything, but come on, it cannot be that serious! I'll literally go down the ingredient list. Again, since I didn't have the beans and I wanted these beans badly, I pulled out a frozen bag of Lima beans that was buried in the back of the freezer. We were out of pork fatback, and the local 7-11 didn't carry any, and since I do not have a car, that was as far as I looked for fatback. I remembered that I had Bacon Bits in the pantry, so I used Bacon Bits instead of pork fatback (my first ex-wife had enough shoulder meat on her "fatback" that I should have found her and cut me a slice!) Since I didn't have any baking soda, but we had plenty of pop, I used a can on pop which was only a little anyway. We didn't have any onions, but I had freeze-dried onion flakes in my pantry, so I used that instead of an onion. I was out of sugar so I used some Sweet & Low packets that I had stolen from Denny's over the years. No molasses in the house either, wouldn't you know; so I used Aunt Jemima's Original Pancake Syrup instead. I cooked up for as long as the power stayed on on top of the stove (apparently my babies mama forgot to pay the utility bill, so about four hours into cooking, we lost power). Not to worry, I finished it on the charcoal grill. No one really liked this revised version at all. It had a lighter-fluid taste and the texture was just all wrong. I dunno, maybe there is something to sticking with the recipe. No even my junkyard dog wanted any of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.A.Ron B. July 07, 2015

They publish the recipe (and others) at their web site.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deirdre March 21, 2015

I've just returned from Boston, where I stopped by Durgin Park, for the baked beans. I've made the recipe provided here for several years now, although with salt pork only recently (less of a bacon flavor, which is a good thing). What surprised me about the beans on their home turf was that the flavor was distinctly mollasses-forward, with a hint of vinegar. This recipe, as I've made it, is intensely sweet, with the molasses having a more minor role. I wanted to email the restaurant and ask for tips but the website only provides a phone number. While I liked this recipe, I found the Durgin Park Restaurant version to be more appealing for its more molasses oriented flavor.<br/><br/>As far as the baking soda and changing the soaking water goes, I paraphrase Dianne Kennedy, the great cook and author, on the subject: "if the recipe tells you to throw out the soaking water, throw out the recipe". You can't get rid of the gas producing elements inherent in beans, either it affects you or it doesn't, but tossing the soaking water or adding baking soda isn't going to do anything, it's the way beans are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lurline@anchor December 16, 2013

These beans were good! I am looking forward to having a bean sandwich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me In My Pantry September 28, 2008
Boston Baked Beans in Bean Pot - Durgin-Park