Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boston Baked Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boston Baked Beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2011

      Loved these beans. I used 1 cup navy beans and 1 cup lima beans, this gave a nice change of pace for baked beans. I also used diced ham instead of the bacon. And, I doubled up on the sauce ingredients. I have made these 3 times now and I find that I needed more cooking time than the 8 hours. It really depends on what you think "add water to cover" means. I wound up cooking the beans with the lid off the crockpot to get the beans to the right consistancy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      This is truly an amazing recipe. The consistency depends on how long you leave it. If you like the French Canadian consistency, turn it off right at 8 hours. What something more stick to your ribs, like Boston Baked Beans, then let it sit. Popular every time I make it.

      I tried doubling the sauce ingredients, like one reviewer suggested, and ended up with soup.

      I have, however substituted maple syrup for the molasses and BBQ sauce for the ketchup with great results.

      Freezes beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

    • on August 09, 2009

      I found this recipe absolutely delicious. The only variation, I found, was that I had to double the molasses, ketchup, brown sugar and dry mustard. I used a one pound bag of dried navy beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      This was my first attempt at making baked beans from scratch. They were a big hit at our cookout. Thanks for posting the recipe! I followed a hit from someone else about how to just cook the beans on the stove instead of waiting overnight, and that turned out great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Don't even ask who made this on one of the hottest days of the year! But, I adore beans, and this is a lovely recipe. Perhaps 8 hours on high is a bit much. I started high and then reduced to low after an hour or so. End result delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      This is an original and is real good. I have also added crushed pinapple into it the last 1 or 2 hours Makes it Hawaiian

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I didn't have a problem with this recipe whatsoever. I made sure I used fresh dried beans, because ones that sit on the shelf too long are really hard to cook, and I made sure my crock was set on high, because if I just selected 8 hours, it would have cooked on the low setting, so I had to do 2 times 4 hours (4 hours is on the high setting). The beans are nice, tender, thick, and full of flavor. Everything was perfect, and tasted as good as, if not better than any rib joint could put out. Thanks for an easy delicious recipe that is going to make me the "bean lady" at all cookouts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This recipe is missing a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder to my taste, and 1 TBL. Worstershire sauce. Other than that, if you cover the beans with water and then bring the beans to a boil, turn off the heat,and then let stand for a couple of hours covered prior to proceeding with the recipe, it will turn out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      I think this is my first time making beans from scratch and I had a bit of trouble...although that may because I have a new crockpot too and am still getting used to it too. I soaked the beans overnight and followed the directions exactly, but the beans were still hard and crunchy after 8 hours. I let the beans continue to cook and it took almost 12 hours before the beans were soft. I'm sure if it was that I did not socak them long enough, or if my new crockpot is not as not as my old one, but either way this recipe took much longer to make for me. The taste was good though and I want to try this recipe again to see if I can figure out where I went wrong. I made this recipe for PAC spring 2007!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boston Baked Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.6
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    32%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 205.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    48%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes