9 Reviews

Delicious recipe, and so easy! I used 1 can of pinto beans and one can of black beans, and I did rinse the beans. Love that spicy and tender chicken and I used lime juice for half of the tequila and that added a nice flavor overall. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 25, 2012

Very good.. I had a can of Cuban flavored black beans... and found some thin pork escallopes in the freezer so used them.. I had one can of Rotel type tomatoes.. and food processed about 3 fresh tomatoes without the innards...I thought I had beat the "too much juice" syndrome.. but I didn't... I had frozen rice so I threw some in to mop up the juice.. I thought it was great! There are only two of us and he wouldn't eat it cuz there was rice in it.. but I'm enjoying the heck out of making it into burritos.. More burritos than I need to be eating. :) nora

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora January 24, 2013

I was not expecting to like this at all. I have tried lots of recipes with lots of 5 star ratings and hated them. This one I actually liked! My husband told me three times that it was really good. I halved this. Using two big bone in chicken breasts, one can of rotel tomatoes, 1/8 tequila (not Jose Cuervo, a smoother one), 1/8 lime juice, cumin, and two teaspoons of fajita mix. I was gonna make burritos out of these but instead ate it like a soup. Topped with cheese, sour cream, salsa, and guacamole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel January 21, 2013

Another very easy recipe to make in the crock pot. I used 2 teaspoons of the seasoning. I have a crock pot theme going this month for meals that I'm making. Mix it, pour in, turn on and forget it, so thank you for posting. I could not taste the tequila and no one else commented, so it must have evaporated during cooking. Made for Group 4 - Tasmanian Apple Cake from the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #72

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J January 14, 2013

This recipe is delicious and so very easy. I modified it slightly to suit my family's taste. I used one can of pinto beans and one can of black beans, used Rotel diced tomatoes with lime & cilantro, substituted 1/4 cup water with 2 tbs. lime juice for the tequila and added 2 tbs. fajita seasoning mix instead of 1 tsp. for a little extra spice. There was a lot of liquid even after 4 hours of cooking, so I was unsure how to serve. The liquid was too thin to serve as a sauce over rice, so I decided to add 2 cups of white minute rice during the last five minutes of cooking. Then I removed the chicken breasts, shred them and stirred the meat into the mixture. DH thought this recipe would be a great borrito filling with a little Mexican cheese added, and I agree. Maybe that's what we'll do with the left-overs! Thanks for sharing this quick and yummy recipe! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #40)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe May 17, 2010

I felt this had a great flavor and I enjoyed the ingredients and the ease of the recipe. The only thing I did not like was that it was runny, next time I will cut back on the liquid from the tomatoes, plus I am not sure I like the tequila flavor all that much, I just might try it without the next time (I believe that this is a personal preference)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser February 23, 2009

NOTE: This review is for those who do not use alcohol. I made this recipe today and it is really tasty! I cut the tomatoes back to one can as I didn't want the flavor to overpower since I did omit the Jose Cuervo. In place of the tequila I added 1/4 cup water and 2 Tbs. fresh squeezed lime juice. Everything else I left the same. The chicken came out very tender and all of the flavors melded together without one overpowering the other. We served it with warm tortillas. This is a definite keeper and one I will server often. Thanks Sarah for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 15, 2009

This was a great recipe! Very flavorful. I used pinto beans with jalepenos and bacon which gave it a little spice. Also, I added a bit more tequila ( all together about 3.5 oz.). I will definately make this again. Went great with rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef corella September 25, 2008

I made this for PAC Fall 2008. This was so easy to throw together and it tastes great. I served it over rice with Wholly Guacamole and sour cream. I also used a squeeze of fresh lime on mine. This would be great for pot lucks and football get togethers. Thanks Sarah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster September 22, 2008
Borracho Chicken (Crock Pot)