8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So yummy and so fun. This hit the spot for my family. We represent a few ethnicities in my family: Jewish, Hispanic, and Azerbaijani, and the flavors were quite familiar and appealing to us. I added some cilantro and parsley tothe filling, and I live this because this recipe provided a foundation for some interesting experimentation in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaqdaRican December 11, 2013

Willl prepare again for sure.<br/>I did not realize that I should have added only the necessary amont to get a soft dough and I added two full cups! I reapared it adding 2 tablespoon of greek yogurt. The dough came out perfect.<br/>The filling was delicious. I bought kashkaval cheese in a Turkish shop and next time I will use this again.<br/>I rolled my disks of dough really thin and I made 16 bourekitas of about 10 each.<br/>Thanks a lot for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde November 30, 2013

Great Dough! It is a bit time consuming but the flavor is wonderful too!! They would be great dipped in a maranara or a white sauce of some sort. Or a sweet oil sauce? I dont think they are a meal in themselves, but a wonderful main dish. They could be served as horsdevors too! YAY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beautifulrthefeet July 26, 2010

I am not giving this any stars since I tried to lighten this by decreasing the oil and cheese, and it didn't work out that well. I used almost twice as much eggplant, which did work well (if you love eggplant like we do). The dough makes this a little time consuming. I figured out after reading the directions a few times that step 6 means you fold the dough in half, and step 10 means making one very large pie with the pie having a top and a bottom. I think I had more than half a cup of filling in each of the five small pies I made (about 5 inches). If this is being served as a meal, it will feed about 3 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito August 13, 2008

Delicious! I do have to admit that I used goat cheese instead of feta...but I'm sure both taste just as good! I was actually surprised how little time it took me to make, so not only is it tasty but you can also put it together fast. Thanks for this lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose July 03, 2008

These were great! I made them for a Sephardic themed dinner and they were scarfed up in no time! However, I was in a major hurry (as usual ;))and I short-cutted by using prepared puff pastry instead of making the dough from scratch. The puff pastry worked well and the results were outstanding! Thank you for posting, Susiecat too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B February 07, 2008

Between the eggplant, the dough, the feta cheese and gruyere cheese I truly found this treat absolutely delish! Instead of mashing the eggplant I just put the eggplant flesh into the food processor and pulsed it with a bit of garlic and added the feta with one more pulse. This was absolutely lovely. The dough was very nice, and it didn't stick. The aroma was intensely mouth watering coming from the oven, and there was nothing to each for lunch the next day :D Thanks so much, Susiecat! What a unique and great treat for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm October 24, 2007

WOW! This was really yummy, I think I made a mistake with the dough and it was a little crumbly for me but it didn't take away from the taste. Thank you Susiecat too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer October 09, 2007
Borekitas De Berengena