10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been wanting to make these for some time now and have finally gotten around to it. I wish I hadn't waited so long! I find that brownies usually only need frosting when they aren't that great alone - and since that was not the case here, I did not make the frosting. I used half regular cocoa and half Hershey's special dark cocoa. I also left out the nuts as I'm not a big fan. The next time I come across cranberries at the store (I wish they were available all year round!) I will be making these again - and will buy more cranberries to freeze so I can make these all year round. Thanks for the recipe Mike!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 January 01, 2010

Wow! Amazing is all I can say. Even if you don't like cranberries, you'll like these because they almost taste like chocolate covered tart cherries! I had leftover cranberries to use from Thanksgiving and these got rave reviews. I think the almond extract really changed the flavor, and the frosting just melted in your mouth. I do think they are better cold so they stay together better. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ricearoni161 December 15, 2009

What could be finer than cranberries & chocolate [unless, of course, it were raisins & chocolate, but that's another recipe]! This was such a great way to combine the two, & including cranberry juice in the icing was the 'icing on the cake' so to speak! Will definitely be making this again & again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 04, 2007

I was looking for a way to use up some cranberries and came across this unique brownie recipe and I am so glad I made these -- they are so good and perfect for a snowy day when only chocolate and cranberries will do! I didn't make the frosting but just had the brownies with vanilla ice cream--scrumptious! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ December 29, 2006

Chocolatey with small bites of yummy tart little cranberries! Great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerre c December 19, 2007

These turned out very nice and fudgy. I think the frosting is optional and I would prefer it without the cranberry additions. This tastes better cold out of the refrigerator. The only problem I had in making this was that I used frozen cranberries which made the dough like fudge and very hard to spread into the pan. I would like to try this with dried cranberries and also try a raspberry version! Thanks for the recipe mikekey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed April 14, 2007

Baked these a while ago and forgot to post a review (sorry mikekey!). I made these to give away but I did sneak a taste and they are very very good!! Thanks mikekey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie December 30, 2006

Wow, Mike - these are amazing! I already reviewed your recipe on "the other site", but had to add it to this one too! The frosting is killer... it tastes like black forest cake, except there are no cherries in it! I ate all the leftovers with a spoon! LOL... Because we can't find fresh or frozen cranberries here in Costa Rica, I used dried ones (Oceanspray Craisins). Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori April 16, 2014

Delicious and a little different. Folowed the recipe exactly, except used Pom juice in the frosting instead of cranberry since that's what was in the fridge. Everyone loved them, and the burst of tart cranberry paired nicely with the chocolate. Wouldn't chage a thing! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 18, 2011

These were fabulous. So moist. I dislike dry brownies, and these were perfect. I did not have any cranberry sauce, so my only change was to substitute more cranberry juice for the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Canuck December 19, 2010
Boreal Forest Cranberry Brownies