11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved your "Boogie Woogie Beef Tips", Audrey M.!! Very easy to toss together. I used beef bouillon and water instead of wine, and added broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots to the mix. Served over noodles and it gave us a jolly-good dinner. Sure appreciate you posting a keeper. Laudee C.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee October 29, 2002

Excellent flavor and easy to make. I did have to use beef broth instead of red wine. Great over mashed potatoes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B J October 12, 2002

This was a huge disappointment. I was so excited after reading all of the positive reviews, but this was not something I would ever make again. The flavor was definitely lacking in something, even with added garlic and salt. I made it with the red wine as described, and added some sour cream at the end as others suggested, but it was still barely edible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl January 05, 2013

This was a really good recipe to start with but it needs some things added to be 5 star. I added garlic, shallots, Worcestershire sauce, Emeril's Essence, black pepper, a pinch of sugar, 1/4 teaspoon majoram, and a bay leaf. What it needed most was something to thicken it up so I used 3 tablespoons tapioca and that worked great. I served it over hot cooked country egg noodles and sprinkled with fresh minced parsley and some sourdough rolls on the side. I will make this again-thank you for the recipe, Audrey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 August 10, 2009

Super easy & the whole family loved it. I will be making this again & again. Added a little sour cream, but the sauce is so tasty you really don't need it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 boys mom May 03, 2007

Such a cute name! ;) This was good; the meat was nice and tender. I thought it needed just a little something extra. I added some garlic, marjoram and black pepper. I also added a little cornstarch near the end of cooking to thicken the gravy a bit. Lovely over smashed potatoes! I most certainly will make this again, with my minor additions. Thanx for sharing this easy crockpot recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* March 20, 2007

I made this without the Red Wine as we don't drink alcohol. I also added about 4oz of cream cheese a couple of minutes before I pulled it off the heat. We enjoyed it, a real good comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treenickel May 16, 2006

I made this tonight and we really enjoyed it. I cooked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 2 hrs. I added in about two teaspoons of minced garlic and used a mixture of red wine vinegar and beef broth for the red wine. Served with mashed potatoes and biscuits, this made a very nice meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess April 27, 2005

This was excellent and so easy! Next time I'll double the amount of baby carrots and add a cup of sour cream at the end to thicken the gravy and make it creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XAnnette December 12, 2004

This looked so good but we were a bit dissapointed. I made this as written, using the wine, and we found it a bit bland. Thanks Audrey, I'll play around with this and re-review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude December 14, 2003
Boogie Woogie Beef Tips