Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bone Dust BBQ Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bone Dust BBQ Rub

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2011

      Sorry, I forgot to rate this as a five star!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Very good.not to hot.I added 2 tbsp of cocoa powder and used on a brisket.it makes a nice bark.
      Could use this on everything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Very, very good but not what I was looking for--I'll keep looking for a sweet rub that won't burn. This is more of a mexican flavor. I made a half recipe and still have lots left over. I've used it on chicken and salmon so far, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Just came to get the recipe - again... This is my favorite "goes on anything" meat rub. I'm just about out of the first batch I'd made, so time for more! Hadn't thought of the gift idea... thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      I have to tell you that I too have had rave reviews for this mix! As everyone's taste buds are different, it isn't too hard to tweak it to your personal tastes. I left it as is and use it in gift baskets for the holidays or auctions. It hasn't gotten a poor comment yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I made this up for Christmas gifts. Every body so far loves them. I still have more to give out. I put it together with some other spice rubs and put them in a decorative basket with some cookies, cocoa and other stuff. My son-in-law was disappointed that he didn't get any. He'll get his in a few days. The flavor is awesome. I tried it first on pork chops. I like mine spicy, so I put more on for me. You can put on as much or as little as you want. It was very easy to prepare, also inexpensive. Adjustments in 'hotness' would be easy to change. 10/28/06 I have had several requests for more spices for Christmas!!! They are running low and want more! Guess what I am working on this week! 05/04/08 Just got a request for more Bone Dust!! My son-in-law, Karl, loves it, his favorite to use. He is running low!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Wonderful! A little spicy, though, for me, however Ijust cut down on the chilli & it was great!! I used some on some steak and let it sit for a few hours & the flavour was delicious. It also tenderised it a little too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I am wondering if the negative reviewer was using the wrong spices because this was definitely fabulous and had just the right amount of salt. If you are mixing this up for the first time you may want to cut the amounts in half because it made a large jar, but there is no doubt in my mind that we will use this up this summer. I used this on beef ribs after I had parboiled them I drained them and sprinkled with the spices, let them sit overnight inthe fridge and grilled the next day. In the future I will add the full amount of cayenne, I was afraid it would be too spicy but I think it would be fine. I would also consider adding chipotle powder too, it would add a nice smoky flavor to it. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Sorry, but after reading the reviews I was really expecting to LOVE this, and it is just ok. We will use it because it took so many spices to make, but no real kick or wow to it for us. Even seems like it lacks salt, although it was added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Excellent! I used this rub on pork spareribs tonight. Rubbed Bone Dust on the ribs and baked them at 350 degrees for 1 hour. I dumped on a bottle of Jack Daniel's BBQ sauce and warmed them up for another 30 minutes at 350 degrees. This rub has just become a staple in my kitchen. You must excuse me while I go find a ladder to get my estactic hubby peeled off the ceiling... ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      The first time I tried this was when a 2 tsp's were used in a potato salad (mayo/vinagrette dressing). It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      I have been making this blend up for years and would recommend it. Use in large amounts or just sprinkle it on, it will jazz up any cut of meat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      Excellent rub!!! We tried this on a pork shoulder yesterday and it was to die for!! I think this has just become our 'go to' rub. The only thing we didn't put in was the salt. We put the rub on the night before and wrap the meat in plastic and refrigerate over night. Salt will draw out the juices and make the meat drier so we left that out. Other than that this is definatly and keeper and will be used many times this summer. Thank you Martha!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      This is wonderful on beer can chicken as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bone Dust BBQ Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.8
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    29%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10769.2 mg
    448%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 23.8 g
    95%
    Sugars 17.4 g
    69%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dry hot mustard

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes