15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I use this on everything from pork tenderloin to roasted veg, especially on the grill. Just made a new batch, and have been making the recipe for years! Adjust it the way you like,.make a half recipe first to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allen.eileen April 12, 2015

Sorry, I forgot to rate this as a five star!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candybar67 July 17, 2011

Very good.not to hot.I added 2 tbsp of cocoa powder and used on a brisket.it makes a nice bark.
Could use this on everything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
philip collins July 12, 2011

Very, very good but not what I was looking for--I'll keep looking for a sweet rub that won't burn. This is more of a mexican flavor. I made a half recipe and still have lots left over. I've used it on chicken and salmon so far, very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon in Podunk April 06, 2010

Just came to get the recipe - again... This is my favorite "goes on anything" meat rub. I'm just about out of the first batch I'd made, so time for more! Hadn't thought of the gift idea... thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kstrating November 10, 2008

I have to tell you that I too have had rave reviews for this mix! As everyone's taste buds are different, it isn't too hard to tweak it to your personal tastes. I left it as is and use it in gift baskets for the holidays or auctions. It hasn't gotten a poor comment yet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxer Mommy October 12, 2008

I made this up for Christmas gifts. Every body so far loves them. I still have more to give out. I put it together with some other spice rubs and put them in a decorative basket with some cookies, cocoa and other stuff. My son-in-law was disappointed that he didn't get any. He'll get his in a few days. The flavor is awesome. I tried it first on pork chops. I like mine spicy, so I put more on for me. You can put on as much or as little as you want. It was very easy to prepare, also inexpensive. Adjustments in 'hotness' would be easy to change. 10/28/06 I have had several requests for more spices for Christmas!!! They are running low and want more! Guess what I am working on this week! 05/04/08 Just got a request for more Bone Dust!! My son-in-law, Karl, loves it, his favorite to use. He is running low!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannath May 04, 2008

Wonderful! A little spicy, though, for me, however Ijust cut down on the chilli & it was great!! I used some on some steak and let it sit for a few hours & the flavour was delicious. It also tenderised it a little too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker*girl December 19, 2007

I am wondering if the negative reviewer was using the wrong spices because this was definitely fabulous and had just the right amount of salt. If you are mixing this up for the first time you may want to cut the amounts in half because it made a large jar, but there is no doubt in my mind that we will use this up this summer. I used this on beef ribs after I had parboiled them I drained them and sprinkled with the spices, let them sit overnight inthe fridge and grilled the next day. In the future I will add the full amount of cayenne, I was afraid it would be too spicy but I think it would be fine. I would also consider adding chipotle powder too, it would add a nice smoky flavor to it. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia July 18, 2007

Sorry, but after reading the reviews I was really expecting to LOVE this, and it is just ok. We will use it because it took so many spices to make, but no real kick or wow to it for us. Even seems like it lacks salt, although it was added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flightnurse January 09, 2007
Bone Dust BBQ Rub