Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bon Appetit's Mulligatawny Soup ( Chicken ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bon Appetit's Mulligatawny Soup ( Chicken )

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      Love this soup. I have been making this same recipe for 30 years. I got it from Bon Appetit Feb. 1980.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      we had a mulligatawny soup "cookoff" at work and this one won! It was excellent! I'd argue with the 10 minutes of prep time, but it was worth every minute.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      I decided to make this despite an easier family recipe and it was worth it! The extra steps give this soup a complex and delightful taste. I made it for my family and for my book club (both tough critics) and everyone loved it. I skipped the giblets but did use homemade stock which was made with giblets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      to die for delicious! I used an already cooked chicken and added chicken chuncks to it instead and it turned out amazing! A soup well worth the making!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      Yum! Thank you! It took me closer to 1.5 hours, but the flavour was worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      This is fhe first time I have made or eaten Mulligatawny Soup and we thoroughly enjoyed the subtle curry and spice flavours with the creaminess and sweetness from the apples and the acidy from the yoghurt. Three of us hade a big serve each with some naan bread and I was left with 6 cups to freeze for later use. Thank you Betty E. ohler, made for Help A Naked Recipe, special event Photo Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Great recipe for a cool fall or winter meal served with crusty bread. I also left out the giblets and used bnls chicken breasts which I grilled first. I skipped the cream. I used firm apples so they don't get mushy and add a handful of golden raisins just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      This is a fabulous recipe fo this soup. I tried to cut down on the fat content so used evaporated milk instead of cream - tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Love this soup. Roast chicken is a weekly meal in our home- so I also make a weekly chicken soup. After finding a great Italian, Mexican, American Indian, Russian - I have now found my "Indian" chicken soup. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Excellent! I used about double curry than it called for - but it is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Yum! Yum! Yum! This was a beautiful soup for a cool Fall evening. Very hearty, very delicious. I had made chicken broth the day before, using a whole stewing chicken. So I used my homemade broth and the meat from the stewing chicken. I loved the way the yogurt thickened up the soup and made it nice and creamy (along with the cream, of course!) The only change I would make is to use a different kind of apple. Mine were Royal Gala, and they floated! I'm sure other varieties don't float, do they? So it made it seem like there was too much apple. I really liked the apple in the soup, but I also might cut down a bit on it next time. I will certainly make this soup again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Simply amazing. I used chicken breast and tripled the amount of curry. Took a lot longer than 40 minutes to make though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

    • on January 16, 2007

      A wonderful soup! I wanted it more stew life so decreased the amount of chicken broth. In the spice mixture, I decreased the number of whole cloves to 3. Also, used chopped chicken breasts for the roasting chicken-used Greek yogurt and garnished with toasted unsweetened coconut and parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      This recipe is amazing! I have made it five times in the last two weeks. The only change I make is to use bonelss, skinless chicken breasts. I cut them up before I cook them, then leave them in the pot throughout the cooking time. In a pinch, sour cream works fine in place of the yogurt. Whatever you do though, don't forget the apples and lemon juice! They are teh ingredients that make the taste out of this world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      This soup is absolutely delicious! I substituted four chicken breasts and four legs (skin on) for the whole roasting chicken simply for convenience sake, and omitted the giblets. In addition to the spices listed in the recipe, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon and 2 teaspoons of ground coriander seeds. I also added one large potato, peeled and diced, along with the rice at step 9, and used 12 cups of chicken stock (Oxo or another brand) instead of 11 in step 7. Finally, I served the soup garnished with both toasted almonds and 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro instead of chopped fresh parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      Very good recipe! I would suggest less cream and more curry. I didn't have enough yogurt so I added a bit of sour cream and that seemed to be fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2002

      I did not add the cream to this recipe only because we are trying to reduce our fat intake but it turned out delicious anyway.When I make it again I will only use 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Overall it is very good and authentic recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bon Appetit's Mulligatawny Soup ( Chicken )

    Serving Size: 1 (5536 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.0
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    54%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 108.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 417.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites