Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bombay Naan (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bombay Naan (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2009

      Very YUMMY naan bread! It was so easy to make and quick as well. It was indeed more dense and heavier than the ones you normally get in restaurants, but I didnt mind at all. It tasted just oh so good! I added 1/2ts curry powder, some mixed dried herbs and some caraway seeds to it in order to spice it up a bit. But Im sure it would also taste wonderful as is. Also I used half whole spelt flour instead of the normal flour and brushed the baked naans with some home-made garlic butter, which was delicious! But other than that I followed the recipe exactly and got exactly 8 breads out of it. This is a definite keeper! Thanks so much for sharing, Oolala!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Thanks, Oolala. Definitely a keeper. I made half a recipe and we enjoyed it. I divided the dough into 8 pieces and rolled each individually. I had an issue with the oil; next time I will use very little, perhaps just brush oil on pan as suggested elsewhere. And I will use a cast iron skillet. But these were great-tasting and were finished up quickly. Good with soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was fantastically easy! I can't believe how easy! my 2 year old loved them and ate more than I could! I had issues with the amount of oil needed in the bottom of the pan... a battle between wanting less fat but wanting more tasty "fried-bread-taste". I think next time I'll try brushing on oil into the skillet between rounds with a pastry brush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      OH - MY - WORD. This was so delicious. And so easy. I made about 10. The only thing I did different, was to add a bit more oil as I added more rounds. Also, when I first put them in the pan, I used the back of the spatula to give them one last squish to get them nice and flat. These are a keeper for sure! They make so many! I can keep them in the freezer. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      i think the person with the deep fried lumps over did it on the oil. i greased the pan just enough to keep the bread from sticking and i only turn them once. by looking at the bread you would never know oil was involved. they come out perfectly, soft and delicious, and i have made this recipe now many, many times. they remind me of the pocketless pita that gyros are made on. i highly recommend this recipe. it will become a staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      I don't know if I did something wrong or maybe I just need to try again. But these didn't turn out like I thought they would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Sorry Mom, but this was really not good. Please don't EVER make this again.It was like a deep-fried lump. I really did not like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Substitution: half all purpose flour, half whole wheat. For the fluffy effect, the dough needs to stand a bit to allow the acid yogurt and leavening agents to start to react and puff. Use flour as needed on the board to prevent the dough from sticking. I rolled out the dough about 1/2 inch thick, sprinkled one half with thinly sliced scallions, and folded it over in half, and then half again, like you would "book" puff pastry over butter layers. Roll down once more to 1/2 inch. Cut into quarters and hold aside in floured layers on a plate, covered with foil or a damp towel. Roll each quarter portion out very thin, 1/8 inch, cut into serving slices, the onions will show through. Fry in a bit of oil until they puff a bit and begin to brown. Hold the finished ones in the oven until ready to eat or to package to store. Yummy with Chilled Lobster Salad with Basil-Lime Salsa (#37773)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Great results. I forgot to make my normal naan bread, and as I didn't have time to wait I decided to try these. I will make them always as from today. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Good naan. I found it easier to divide into 8 pieces and roll out each piece and cook. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      Ok this is dangerous... very dangerous... An easy to make recipe for great tasting naan. Me, as a newbie cook, was able to turn our a delicious batch of these - the only problem I had (due to my inexperience) was rolling out the dough, as I wasn't able to roll it out to the desired thickness (1/8 of an inch) - so they're not quite flat (more like naancakes) but wow are they tasty. Will definitely keep this one in rotation for sure. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      Oolala, this recipe makes perfect naan bread. The last few I made turned out the best, soft, fluffy and layered. I think this was due to the re-rolling of scrap pieces. Next time I make these (which will be very soon) I will fold the dough over and roll it out a few times at the very start so I get this layered effect on all of them. Thanks for a great easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bombay Naan (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.5
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    82%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 11.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 906.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes