13 Reviews

This was really tasty. It makes a great light side dish, although I might increase the amount of ginger next time as it seemed to get lost among the pepper and apple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer October 21, 2012

I made this on a busy night after preparing for a holiday meal all day. After a long day of cooking this was wonderful and the light flavors were welcome. It is very light and fresh tasty. The lemon, ginger, & cracked black pepper were stars in this summery sald. It is very colorful too. Thank you for sharing the recipe! Made for Asian Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D December 26, 2008

This tasted so fresh & nice! I love how healthy this is and it was the first time I'd eaten bok choi uncooked. Even DD's said they liked it because of the apples and made no complaint! Thanks! Made for Asian tag - Eat your veggies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam December 15, 2008

This is more like 4.5 stars. I think it tasted light, fresh and summery. The dressing was very subtle. I might like a bit more zest next time, adding lemon zest or more ginger or both. Definitely a keeper. This is the best way I've ever had bok choy. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charolette33 August 05, 2008

Light and fresh! I prepared and modified this recipe for the Asian Steamy Challenge of ZWT4. I steamed and shocked the bok choy rather than following the cold preparations steps indicated in the original recipe. I was quite pleased with the results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Cee Jay May 29, 2008

I loved this salad! It was very easy and refreshing. I served with baby back ribs and it was gobbled up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haskinsfam July 31, 2007

what a great idea for a "different"salad.will certainly keep it in mind often

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noreenruth June 18, 2006

It was my first experience with uncooked Bok Choy. I used powdered ginger, I was just out of fresh one. Otherwise I followed the recipe. The salad tasted wonderful (even though I usually don’t like ginger), it was very easy to prepare and it looked great. I’m planning to make it for my DH birthday party. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny #2 March 31, 2005

This was an exceptionally good slaw/salad!! We loved it and will be making it again. Funny I have never thought to eat bok choy uncooked, it was delicious and the dressing was perfect for it, very refreshing with the apple and carrot!! The lemon and ginger went sooo well together and just the right amount of ginger. Thanks for sharing a real keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf January 25, 2005

I bought the ingredients and I was ready to start I realized that this had not to be cooked. The preaparation of the bok choy (with salt over a colander) was perfect I let them marinate for about one hour. I used a big apple form the garden and a huge carrot! Really a wonderful and light salad to add to a Chinese meal. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde September 12, 2014
Bok Choy, Carrot and Apple Slaw