Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boiled Maine Lobster Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boiled Maine Lobster

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2002

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it's simple and makes perfectly cooked lobsters. The natural taste of fresh lobster is divine all by itself and doesn't need Martha Stewart meddling with it! I normally buy lobsters freshly cooked, but they had a big sale on the live ones and weren't expecting any to remain to be cooked by the store. I can remember my parents steaming lobsters in a pot with water and seaweed but I couldn't see myself running to the shore to get some this time of year! Plus I wasn't quite sure how long to cook them for, other than that they had to turn red before they're done. It was great to be able to come here and find a nice simple way to make them. Just delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      My husband and I have never tried to boil our own lobsters. Thank you for posting a recipe that is simple and something two novices could do without any trouble at all. Your how to eat instructions were helpful as well. The lobster meat was succulent and a true guilty pleasure. Thanks Barbara Mooers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      This recipe is all mapped out...no mistakes. We cooked them outside on a big turkey cooker. Easy. I will look for this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      THE one and only way to cook lobster!! Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Why people want to pay $15+ per lb for lobster and cover the flavor of lobster with $.25 worth of bay leaves and thyme is beyond me. Having grown up in Maine and practically weaned on lobster, Aroostook’s recipe is the only way to cook lobster. Save the Old Bay for crab...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I must say this indeed the best way to enjoy a taste of the sea. If you love garlic taste and/or lemon taste with seafood. Then go ahead add a clove of garlic to the melted butter or drizzel a few drops of "fresh" lemon juice to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Excellent. PLEASE PEOPLE, don't just melt the butter, but make it DRAWN butter. Google it, or look it up here. But basically you want to heat the butter until it seperates. Skim off the foamy layer, let the milk and water settle to the bottom. Carefully pour the golden liquid into a serving bowl without pouring in the settled water or milk. It will make all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Exactly the way we love it. Clean and sweet. The only other thing the I do is put a little lemon in the melted butter. Adds a little twist but does not overpower the lobster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      First time I have had lobster since moving to Costa Rica. This was excellent. I used to broil the tails with butter. This was my first time with a whole lobster and they (had company) came out perfect. Had to use pliers to crack them but what the heck use what works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      I gave this 4 stars. We had fresh lobsters right from the ocean when we visited Mass. My fiancee loved these. I'm not a big lobster but they were good. Thanks for posting a good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Thank you so much for this simple yet delicious recipe! I was a little intimidated about cooking the lobsters my husband caught yesterday but since you included the instructions how to eat them it worked out great. I've only ever had lobster that had been cracked open for me in a restaurant and even though this was a little more work this tasted better than the restaurants!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Hubby made this for a romantic Anniversary dinner. Thanks for a great recipe to make our evening perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

    • on March 21, 2005

      As any New Englander can tell you, this is the ONLY way to truly enjoy lobster. At 2 years old my finicky DD would eat an entire boiled lobster all by herself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Fabulous!!! The true, natural flavor of the lobster is allowed to shine through in this simple to follow recipe. Chris and I enjoyed this thoroughly, and really were very pleased that our first attempt at cooking live lobsters was such a smashing success, thanks to your recipe!!!! Thanks again!! Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      My husband treated me and a few of our friends to fresh boiled lobster using your recipe. I tried to supervise things but didn't need to. Your directions were clear and this was so easy, even a couple of country bumpkins like us could handle it. Bless my soul, the natural flavor of the fresh lobster meat was quite spectacular. Thanks Barb!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boiled Maine Lobster

    Serving Size: 1 (6516 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1324.5
     
    Calories from Fat 874
    66%
    Total Fat 97.1 g
    149%
    Saturated Fat 59.3 g
    296%
    Cholesterol 783.1 mg
    261%
    Sodium 2352.2 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 107.6 g
    215%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites