15 Reviews

Great recipe. I come from a Polish family who loves sweet and sour cabbage and have been making it for years. I attempted to make it myself using this recipe and everyone wants my recipe now. My husband and mother (92 years old) ask me to make it a few times a month. I use green cabbage instead of the red. It's so easy and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lackqueen July 18, 2012

Loved it thanks so much. The neighbor had given me a beautiful red cabbage from her garden. I haven't made sweet & sour cabbage in ages and I love it. I did add a little extra sugar as mine seemed a little tart and I thickened it with cornstarch instead of flour. Otherwise followed the recipe. Super yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young July 28, 2011

I have been searching for a recipe like my Mother made that gave me amounts instead of a little of this and some of that. This tastes just like I remember and now I can finally make it! The only little difference is that I remember she added some chopped apple to hers and used bacon grease instead of solid shortening, (which I did buy the way, and it tastes great). I also used cider vinegar. Don't care much for plain white. Thank you for a great recipe! Woud give you more than 5 stars if I could!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina S. October 13, 2010

5 stars - I've been searching for a Bohemian Sweet and Sour Cabbage recipes for many years. This is our favorite side dish at Omaha's Bohemian Cafe and now we can enjoy it at home too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kileyrae May 22, 2010

After making stuffed cabbage I was at a loss for what to do with the half-cooked leftover cabbage and this was the answer! Looks like I have a wonderful excuse to make stuffed cabbage more often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbpuppyii March 11, 2010

Great recipe. My German grandmother used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. So I changed that and also added a whole chopped apple for a little varied flavor. Yumm

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynette in Chandler, AZ December 27, 2009

WOW! This was by far the best Sweet and Sour Cabbage recipe I have had! Very easy to make. Followed recipe exactly, changing nothing. Served with real polish sausage and fried potatoes with onions. A definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keeping it Simple January 03, 2016

Straight from my Polish babcia! Love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petronilla October 09, 2013

Excellent recipe. The mixture of sweep and sour is perfect. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbellkbell May 29, 2011

What i've looking for years. Great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
norm hauck January 30, 2010
Bohemian Sweet and Sour Cabbage