Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bohemian Sweet and Sour Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bohemian Sweet and Sour Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2013

      Straight from my Polish babcia! Love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Great recipe. I come from a Polish family who loves sweet and sour cabbage and have been making it for years. I attempted to make it myself using this recipe and everyone wants my recipe now. My husband and mother (92 years old) ask me to make it a few times a month. I use green cabbage instead of the red. It's so easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      Loved it thanks so much. The neighbor had given me a beautiful red cabbage from her garden. I haven't made sweet & sour cabbage in ages and I love it. I did add a little extra sugar as mine seemed a little tart and I thickened it with cornstarch instead of flour. Otherwise followed the recipe. Super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Excellent recipe. The mixture of sweep and sour is perfect. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      I have been searching for a recipe like my Mother made that gave me amounts instead of a little of this and some of that. This tastes just like I remember and now I can finally make it! The only little difference is that I remember she added some chopped apple to hers and used bacon grease instead of solid shortening, (which I did buy the way, and it tastes great). I also used cider vinegar. Don't care much for plain white. Thank you for a great recipe! Woud give you more than 5 stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      5 stars - I've been searching for a Bohemian Sweet and Sour Cabbage recipes for many years. This is our favorite side dish at Omaha's Bohemian Cafe and now we can enjoy it at home too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      After making stuffed cabbage I was at a loss for what to do with the half-cooked leftover cabbage and this was the answer! Looks like I have a wonderful excuse to make stuffed cabbage more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      What i've looking for years. Great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Great recipe. My German grandmother used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. So I changed that and also added a whole chopped apple for a little varied flavor. Yumm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Delicious and so easy! I used butter since I didn't have shortening and cut down on the cooking time since I like the cabbage a little firmer, plus added some carrots. I served it over rice and will be making it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      A quick and easy sweet and sour cabbage recipe. Very flavorful. I did omit the caraway seeds. A nice change from our usual savory cabbage dishes. Thanks Lorraine, we will be having this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Lorraine from AZ: Great dish! Easy prep. I found it just in time for St. Patrick's Day 2008. I left out the caraway seeds and added 6 pieces of bacon (cooked and cut into pieces).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      The best cabbage recipe I've made. My guests all loved it and I live in a country where everyone eats lots of cabbage (so it's usually just a "normal" dish and is difficult to wow people with a cabbage dish). It was easy to make, so I'll definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I was looking for a "different" way to do cabbage - one of our favourite vegetables. This is really very nice. The only change I made was to use brown sugar instead of white. Thank you, Lorraine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bohemian Sweet and Sour Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.1
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    16%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 616.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 31.5 g
    126%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites