Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boeuf En Daube - French Beef Burgundy in the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boeuf En Daube - French Beef Burgundy in the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2008

      This was really good. I used the optional sun-dried tomatoes and fresh orange rind (I did not plan far enough ahead to make dried orange peel) and the flavour was wonderful. I also didn't plan far enough ahead to make it 24 hours before serving so I'm sure the left overs will be even better :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      French Tart you are my cooking hero. Your recipes are always becoming my favorite. I've never had better Beef Burgundy. The house was full of intoxicating scent the whole day. My girl friend came to take me to lunch as I was putting everything into the crock pot and she raved about the smells. That's before the crock pot was even turned on. I called her after dinner to tell her how wonderful the dish was and she said "I've been thinking about the beef all day." The dried orange peel imparts so much flavor. Since my orange tree is currently at peek production, I will be making a lot of dried orange peel for future recipes. I love the flavor. Thank you. Thank you. Your recipes inspired me to do so much more cooking. I used to be a very bad cook until I found this web site and your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      I have looked at the recipe for year. I was intimidated by all the prep work. Finally, made for New Year's, and it was worth every bit of palaver involved. was lacking cognac, so used a tablespoon of good bourbon. Because, well the name is French anyway, right? Stupendous dish. Boss impressing. Soul soothing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Excellent dinner party dish, most of the work is done in advance leaving time to enjoy with guests. I'll certainly make this again and I'll be trying more recipes from French Tart. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I've made this twice now, each time taking one or more short-cuts, and it is still excellent! I've had to skip the marinade and drying the orange rind, and I've had to shorten the cooking times and use less bacon, yet it has been an absolute hit each time!

      I can't imagine how good it might be if I actually followed all the directions!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Tart, you've done it again. I've made many a daube and have never made one close to this good. I've never even had one in a restaurant this good here or in France.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This is delicious, I will say I was nervous that it was not going to get done in time for dinner, but when it came time to eat the meat was soft and moist, and the flavor is out of this world. I will be making this again. I would like to know what type of burgundy others used. All I could find was a cheaper wine and would like to try something with even a deeper burgundy flavor. Thank you for the recipe, next on the list is your cheese straws.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      An excellent good hearty casserole for those cold winter evenings. We loved this, I made with a mix of wild mushrooms as it is that time of the year here and they are really reasonably priced. Apart from that I made as is and it is just a wonderful recipe. Thanks FT for another winner. I know this is one my family is looking forward to me making again and soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This is delicious! I am making it for the third time today. I am using oyster mushrooms, fresh thyme from the garden & the addition of a few pearl onions. I will be serving this on top of mashed potatoes & steamed local green beans on the side. Today I am using a large piece of Angus grilling steak that is on special. I have prepared that dish on the stove top then transfered it to the crockpot, for the next 8hrs at 200 degrees. Then it will rest overnight to meld the flavours. Thank you French Tart, I plan on trying & reviewing more of your great recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Great dish! I made as directed except I left out the dried cepes, as I didn't know what they were! FT, maybe you could tell us what it is in the description so we will know next time? Purdy Please??? Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      OMG FT, you've done it again. I followed the directions exactly except didn't know what "Dried Cepes are so left them out" As to "Lardons" decided bacon would do, as this is something else I was guessing at. Other than that -followed the directions exactly, including making the dried organd peel. DH loved it and so did I, we were looking for something special that we'll be able to serve guests coming to dinner and this will be perfect. Elegant and soooo differant from anything we are used to here in the Northwest. Served this with Buttered Wine Rice and hot, fresh French Bread and a glass of Washington State Cabernet. Perfect dinner for guest or just me and DH. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Oh my, is this delish!!!!! Excellent blend of flavors...the beef tender to fork and tasty to the tongue...loved it, FT. Great recipe!!!!! Update: Made again with left-over rump roast on stovetop with French Tart's candied orange peel. Just as delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      FT had this in the crockpot while we perused the countryside....what a day & what a meal to come home to!!! Absolutely delicious & dh has given me permission to use the crockpot - for THIS recipe! Thanks, Karen!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Nice hearty beef stew. It has a real depth of flavour. I didn't use the tomatoes, but next time I think I will. I think that would add a bit of a kick that this otherwise wonderful dish was lacking. Loved the dried orange peel though! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      I have made this recipe twice, and really love serving it for dinner parties, and then freezing any leftovers! The orange in the sauce makes this recipe different from most and sooooo good. I learned that it's best to cut the beef in very large cubes, rather than small cubes. Since it's even better when prepared in advance, it makes entertaining easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      This is absolutely delicious. I used a bouquet garni in place of the thyme. This is going to feature at my next dinner party. Definitley going into "my favorite recipe" file

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      I find it bizarre that one would refer to a Provencal dish by the name of a dish from Burgundy, particularly when they have such disparate flavor profiles. Excellent daube recipe, and thank you for it. I've incorporated novel elements of it into the boeuf en daube recipe I inherited from my mother, with great success. But I remain perplexed by its title. As is it either assumes or perpetuates culinary illiteracy on the part of those who read it, and that concerns me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      My husband absolutely loved it, even the leftover is delicious, thanks French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This was my first Boeuf Bourguignon and it turned out delicious. My Quebecois husband said it was better than his mom's - that's special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boeuf En Daube - French Beef Burgundy in the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2059.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1826
    88%
    Total Fat 202.9 g
    312%
    Saturated Fat 83.8 g
    419%
    Cholesterol 280.9 mg
    93%
    Sodium 81.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 24.9 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    lardons

    dried cepes

    dried orange peel

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites