Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boeuf Bourguignon a La Julia Child Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boeuf Bourguignon a La Julia Child

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2010

      I watched the film Julie and Julia and was intrigued. I was dying to see what the fuss was all about and although i detest mushrooms i decided to be brave and give it a try. Yes it took all day to cook but for a mushroom hater likemyself it was to die for. The beef melted in your mouth and the sauce. YUM!!!!
      My family loved it and i felt so posh giving them 'Beef Bourguignon' for their Sunday dinner.

      Bon Appetit People!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I've been a Julia fan for many many years but until today, I'd never tried this recipe. Forced retirement can have a fun and interesting side. I have lots of time to cook labor intensive recipes now.
      I thought the recipe was delicious and even more than I expected. I enjoyed every minute/hour of the process. I felt a kindred spirit with Julia as I got into this all day adventure. And that's what it was for me, an adventure in real cooking, not just meal preparation.
      I would make this again, and again. I believe I'd do it even for just myself because I so enjoyed the experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      My sister made this a few days ago and told me I NEEDED to make it. (I think she used a recipe off Oprah's website - same thing, right?) I may make a couple of procedural changes next time I make it, as I found the meat to be a tad underseasoned (easily remedied by salting before hand). And I think I'm going to make my own beef stock next time, as I think that will improve the flavor, as well. I used a Merlot as the wine, left the onion slices and carrots in because I was too lazy to pick them out. I also used already cut stew meat to save time. Don't think I'll do that again, either, as I don't think it has as much flavor as a whole roast you cut yourself. The mushrooms and pearl onions were sublime, and I loved the smoky undertones from the bacon. I will be looking forward to the next time I make this, in order to follow the recipe more closely and taste the differences.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This dish is most definitely Paris on a plate. Just divine...so many complex layers of flavor and the bacon just makes the dish. Do use the best quality beef you can and it will result in juicy beef that is fork tender. It is definitely a labor intensive meal to prepare because all the components have to be prepared separately but the labor of love is more than appreciated by all...I used a good chianti and will repeat that in the future because it flavored it perfectly. This really couldn't be any better...a must try for lovers of beef and/or French food!!! Julia Child lives on!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      OK I added an anchovy for depth of flavour (an old osso bucco trick) and some herbs de Provence. Needless to say this was amazing. Used LaCrueset and had absolutely no issues with evaporation. I also lowered the heat 300f. Served with horseradish mashed potatoes and haricotes vertes a truly wonderful meal. My girlfriend is jealous! (as always lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      This is one of the best meals I have ever made. I was cursing the number of steps and the time it took until everyone tasted it and WOW! We have now tried a few different versions and I learned some tips and tricks. First, use frozen pearl onions that are already de-skinned. If you dont mind peeling all the little onions, then cut one end and boil them for a few minutes and they should theoretically slip off, but when i did this, so did half the onion! Next, use a bouquet garni bag for the herbs. Cook the stew in a cast iron pot...for some weird reason it makes a difference. Dont use bad wine....if you cant afford a bordeaux, use meritage which is usually cheaper. Towards the end, add 1/4 cup of cognac...it really adds more depth and tastes great. Serve with mashed potatoes and more of the wine you cooked it in and definitely double the recipe and freeze the rest....it is wonderful as a leftover and it doesnt take much effort to make twice as much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      I cut most of the first 16 steps out by using regular sliced bacon. I used the specified amount of beef but used 1-1/2 times the amount of other ingredients in that set. (4-1/2 C. of wine, 1-1/2 onions, ect.) That made more of the flavorful sauce. I also left in the carrots and onions. I thought they were too good to throw away! Next time I won't use the pearl onions as they had a VERY strong onion flavor after braising. This recipe has a very condensed, intense flavor! Really good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Love this recipe. I have Mastering the Art of French Cooking and this is one of our many favorites from it. Also good over rice. The best part is that it tastes just as good if not better reheated as leftovers. I like to make a full batch on a Sunday afternoon and divide the leftovers into individual serving containers for lunches for the upcoming week. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I made this famous and delicious dish yesterday. It was a lot of work and I was pretty exhausted once it was dine. But it was absoloutely marvelous. I used beef brisket which I think is a great cut of meat and I chose a beaujolais. I also used pancetta instead of bacon. I was too tired to cook noodles and rice, but we sopped by all the beautiful sauce with fresh French bread. This is definitely not a weeknight meal but a nice dinner party with close, intimate friends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is absolutely amazing, I think that this is the best beef stew I have ever had. I used regular bacon because I couldn't find chunk bacon and it was perfect. We served it over mashed potatoes and had a nice crusty bread to soak up all the extras... Loved it Loved it... Its worth all the time.... just anticipate the food love that this has to offer by smelling it in the kitchen all day!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      OMG, what a delicious meal. I didn't strain it, and we enjoyed the veggies and more rustic texture. We used canned beef broth, and served with garlic mashed potatoes. Truly a memorable meal we will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Perfection. This is a real cook's recipe - best to take your time with it and enjoy the ride!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      We've used this recipe straight from Julia's book. I always use the boxed beef stock and have made it with a cheap chuck roast. The results are outstanding no matter what! I use a Pinot Noir from Burgundy. Perfection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Just saw the movie and HAD to try this! Great way to start a New Year! Got the meat from the meat market, used a nice Chianti and 6 oz regular bacon. Also 1/2 lb mushrooms because someone reviewed and said that was in the original. Cooked for exactly 3 hours and the meat was perfect. Served over buttered noodles. I think this will become a New Year's Day tradition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Very good. I did not own a Le Creuset so I used a combination of my large all purpose calphalon and my crock pot. Just a note...read thru the recipe at least twice and maybe a third time to get a game plan. Also, plan to get your kitchen very messy at least a couple of times in the process which is why this would be a great day before dish. The finishing will need the drippings to be very cool and the onions need at least an hour to boil down. I used a table box merlot with a splash of marsala in the mushrooms. Served it over wide egg noodles and roasted carrots, red potatoes and turnips. Lovely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Just made this tonight and it is delicious. It is definitely a bit more time consuming then most things I cook. A note is that I followed the directions for the onions and the mushrooms according to original recipe. There are two choices for the onions and I baked mine in the oven at 350 for 40-50 minutes. The Boeuf Bourguignon calls for 1 lb of mushrooms, but the recipe Julia Child refers to for the preparation is 1/2 lb so the oil and the butter need to be doubled in this recipe which they are not. I would also cook only 1/2 lb at a time so they get a nice light brown and do not steam. In her cookbook she lists the following meats to use: First Choice: Rump Pot Roast Other Choices: Chuck Pot Roast, Sirloin tip, Top Round, and Bottom Round Julia notes that the better the meat, the better the stew. Serving this the traditional way with boiled potatoes that I'm tossing with butter and fresh parsley.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      We've wanted to try this dish for a long time and finally got around to making it today. It was pretty easy to make but the wait was the hardest thing (smelled so good). We felt let down as the meat, which was just fork tender, turned out slightly dry, and the broth wasn't nearly as flavorful and decadent as we were hoping for. All in all, a good dish, but nothing special and not worth the wait. Thanks but I'm going to try Tyler's Ultimate Beef Stew next :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Made this for my husbands birthday. It definitely takes 6 hours but it well worth the work. It is absolutely fabulous and the step by step instructions were great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Well, thought I'd give the recipe a go, even after reading the "competing" shorter recipe with Cognac and wine by Ina Garten. I wanted the "real" recipe the first time I did this. IT CAME OUT GREAT. Full of flavor. For those who said "blah", it's probably because they didn't use their full "cooksense" to properly season to taste at the appropriate moments. I used salt pork because I couldn't find solid chunk bacon easily. The lean beef I used was round, prepackaged from an upscale grocery store in LA; next time I'll cut my own meat to make it more uniform (better for browning and cooking). Used Wolfgang Puck Beef Stock; EXCELLENT rich flavor to me; about as good as homemade stocks I've made! For mushrooms, used Baby Bellas for a more robust flavor and texture. NEVER plain old parsley, but Italian Parsley. Used a wonderful young Bordeaux (only $7.99). All in my Le Creuset French Oval Oven. Only issues: my meat was so lean that not enough fat leeched from it to continue effective oil-based browning. Things did brown though. Other issue: the liquid really started evaporating after that 3rd hour in the oven, even with a heavy lid. I had to stop cooking, cool quickly and refrigerator, and get to bed. The next day, after placing in the oven again (only for reheating), very little liquid was left, so I need to use more than a few tablespoons of stock. I rushed the pearl onions a bit as my fire was a bit high, but that's an easy fix next time. No straining was necessary. Flavors were about as pronounced as they could be. Meat was either perfectly tender or "decently" tender (more liquid could have helped there, and longer slower cooking a bit). The dish smelled exceptional and tasted like a dream. Served over buttered parsley'd egg noodles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      this recipe states that it is over 900 calories per serving. Is this correct? I also watched the movie and was drawn to this recipe... can't get past the fat or calories and where do they come from?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boeuf Bourguignon a La Julia Child

    Serving Size: 1 (769 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 911.0
     
    Calories from Fat 488
    53%
    Total Fat 54.3 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 20.1 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 202.9 mg
    67%
    Sodium 1168.5 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 56.5 g
    113%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    thyme

    thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites