85 Reviews

I watched the film Julie and Julia and was intrigued. I was dying to see what the fuss was all about and although i detest mushrooms i decided to be brave and give it a try. Yes it took all day to cook but for a mushroom hater likemyself it was to die for. The beef melted in your mouth and the sauce. YUM!!!!
My family loved it and i felt so posh giving them 'Beef Bourguignon' for their Sunday dinner.

Bon Appetit People!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickiplum November 21, 2010

I've been a Julia fan for many many years but until today, I'd never tried this recipe. Forced retirement can have a fun and interesting side. I have lots of time to cook labor intensive recipes now.
I thought the recipe was delicious and even more than I expected. I enjoyed every minute/hour of the process. I felt a kindred spirit with Julia as I got into this all day adventure. And that's what it was for me, an adventure in real cooking, not just meal preparation.
I would make this again, and again. I believe I'd do it even for just myself because I so enjoyed the experience.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imjane December 24, 2010

My sister made this a few days ago and told me I NEEDED to make it. (I think she used a recipe off Oprah's website - same thing, right?) I may make a couple of procedural changes next time I make it, as I found the meat to be a tad underseasoned (easily remedied by salting before hand). And I think I'm going to make my own beef stock next time, as I think that will improve the flavor, as well. I used a Merlot as the wine, left the onion slices and carrots in because I was too lazy to pick them out. I also used already cut stew meat to save time. Don't think I'll do that again, either, as I don't think it has as much flavor as a whole roast you cut yourself. The mushrooms and pearl onions were sublime, and I loved the smoky undertones from the bacon. I will be looking forward to the next time I make this, in order to follow the recipe more closely and taste the differences.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 January 10, 2011

I first had made "Tyler's Ultimate Beef Stew." Following that success, I read reviews and noticed that others had suggested Julia's Boeuf Bourguignon as a "head and shoulders" above recipe. I said to myself, "self, we need to pick a Sunday and try this." Today, I did. After 6-hours in the kitchen, I presented this dish to my family (a 10 y/o boy, a 9 y/o girl, my wife, and my mother in-law). It was very quiet at my dinner table, except for the "num, num, num," noises. It is rare that my kids eat what I cook...their pallets favoring less complicated food. This recipe was absolutely delicious. Like others, I did not take the time to remove the onions and carrots from the beef mixture prior to serving. However, I did strain the sauce and reduced it until it coated the back of a spoon. Also, it is important to season and re-season throughout this process with salt and pepper. I've read other reviews that said their result was bland...I'm assuming that they did not taste what they were cooking to adjust the seasoning...this step is crucial in any recipe. I did add some leftover carrots with butter and parsley at the end, but everything else was according to recipe. I used about 3 lbs of chuck roast, cut into 2 inch cubes and took time to ensure all pieces were well browned before continuing. I wasn't able to find a 6 oz piece of slab bacon that wasn't sliced, so I substituted with Oscar Myer butcher's cut hickory smoked bacon. I also used fresh pearl onions, and blanched them to remove the skins. It did not take 40-50 minutes to cook...more like 20 minutes. Also, for the mushrooms...make sure your pan is hot, and on high-heat. Due to the water content in mushrooms...if the heat is too low, the water will release, and they will not brown...but rather stew in their own juice. The beef braise took about 3 hours to cook at about 300 degrees (325 resulted in a rapid boil rather than a simmer). I served mine over egg noodles. Final note...I used Barefoot Merlot and about 3 cups of beef stock for the braise. If you decide to try this recipe...it will take half a day, but is worth the time. I read another review below that said that this was not "traditional" in the sense that the author of the comment just returned from Paris and had theirs made with white wine...and Europeans don't eat rich food like this...etc. Sounds a bit pretentious to me...and having grown up in a German house...we ate a lot of rich food: is there anything more rich than liverwurst? It's 100% cholesterol! Anyway, I digress, but I found the ladies comment to be amusing and had to retort. Anyway...have fun with this and enjoy. Bon Appetite.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maitagm November 09, 2014

This is one of the best meals I have ever made. I was cursing the number of steps and the time it took until everyone tasted it and WOW! We have now tried a few different versions and I learned some tips and tricks. First, use frozen pearl onions that are already de-skinned. If you dont mind peeling all the little onions, then cut one end and boil them for a few minutes and they should theoretically slip off, but when i did this, so did half the onion! Next, use a bouquet garni bag for the herbs. Cook the stew in a cast iron pot...for some weird reason it makes a difference. Dont use bad wine....if you cant afford a bordeaux, use meritage which is usually cheaper. Towards the end, add 1/4 cup of cognac...it really adds more depth and tastes great. Serve with mashed potatoes and more of the wine you cooked it in and definitely double the recipe and freeze the rest....it is wonderful as a leftover and it doesnt take much effort to make twice as much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steff0566 October 13, 2012

This dish is most definitely Paris on a plate. Just divine...so many complex layers of flavor and the bacon just makes the dish. Do use the best quality beef you can and it will result in juicy beef that is fork tender. It is definitely a labor intensive meal to prepare because all the components have to be prepared separately but the labor of love is more than appreciated by all...I used a good chianti and will repeat that in the future because it flavored it perfectly. This really couldn't be any better...a must try for lovers of beef and/or French food!!! Julia Child lives on!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious December 29, 2009

OK I added an anchovy for depth of flavour (an old osso bucco trick) and some herbs de Provence. Needless to say this was amazing. Used LaCrueset and had absolutely no issues with evaporation. I also lowered the heat 300f. Served with horseradish mashed potatoes and haricotes vertes a truly wonderful meal. My girlfriend is jealous! (as always lol)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JEBLOOD December 09, 2009

I cut most of the first 16 steps out by using regular sliced bacon. I used the specified amount of beef but used 1-1/2 times the amount of other ingredients in that set. (4-1/2 C. of wine, 1-1/2 onions, ect.) That made more of the flavorful sauce. I also left in the carrots and onions. I thought they were too good to throw away! Next time I won't use the pearl onions as they had a VERY strong onion flavor after braising. This recipe has a very condensed, intense flavor! Really good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Bean February 19, 2011

Love this recipe. I have Mastering the Art of French Cooking and this is one of our many favorites from it. Also good over rice. The best part is that it tastes just as good if not better reheated as leftovers. I like to make a full batch on a Sunday afternoon and divide the leftovers into individual serving containers for lunches for the upcoming week. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenpalombi January 21, 2011

I made this famous and delicious dish yesterday. It was a lot of work and I was pretty exhausted once it was dine. But it was absoloutely marvelous. I used beef brisket which I think is a great cut of meat and I chose a beaujolais. I also used pancetta instead of bacon. I was too tired to cook noodles and rice, but we sopped by all the beautiful sauce with fresh French bread. This is definitely not a weeknight meal but a nice dinner party with close, intimate friends.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMendi December 22, 2010
Boeuf Bourguignon a La Julia Child