28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is comfort food at it's best! I am always looking for new ways to fix kale because not only is it super healthy, but it is one of my favorite veggies. I served this with PanNans Frijoles Borrachitos-Beans with Beer #38046. This recipe really complimented the spiciness of the beans. Quick and easy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 April 13, 2003

I couldnt believe the flavour in this simple meal. I made it ahead and heated in a frying pan prior to serving. The tastes all run together and make and excellent meal. Just like Hubby said his grandmother used to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara July 08, 2002

Excellent. I too cooked my sausage in with the potatoes, and removed them to be sliced just before draining and mashing. It made this an extremely simple meal to make, loaded with kale, a veggie I am trying to use more, since it seems to be at the top of every list when it comes to the vitamin content of vegetables. Karl is not crazy about kale, but this went down with positive enthusiasm. Oh, one other minor change - I added the kale halfway through the cooking to keep it nice and green. This is just a great recipe for a quick and satifying family supper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders November 14, 2002

Even better when you cook the meat in with the potatoes. It mixes the flavour altogether, and saves a pot! :o) Thanks for posting. Delicious!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cleo199 August 25, 2002

If I could give this 6 stars I would! It reminded me of being a kid at my Opa and Oma's. Thanks...

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcy1 August 12, 2002

I hadn't had this for at least 30 years, but this recipe was even better than i remembered it. Made it with Keilbasa and home-grown kale.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaStudySmart March 06, 2015

Spicy Hillshire Farm Smoked Sausage was boiled in the pot with the veggies (as other reviewers had suggested). Next time I will brown the smoked sausage and add it after everything is mashed. The texture of the browned sausage would add to the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens March 04, 2015

I have not made "this" version of the recipe, but I grew up on this since a kid - my dad is 100% Dutch. Apparently, my dad told my mom what he liked when they got married, and my mom made it (my mom is mostly Irish and a great wife to my dad , so she made it - and still married to him for close to 50 years, BTW!) Growing up I had a lot of amazing foods that my mom cooked, that, apparently, my dad requested - turns out most of my favorite foods are Dutch foods my dad likes that my mom learned! Thanks to my mother for learning those dishes - (and I hope my dad appreciates that!). Sadly - the best meat for this recipe was the Oscar Meyer Little Smokey's (they looked like little hot dogs), but were sadly discontinued quite a few years ago. I looked at some of the reviews of the recipe (and shocked it has not been reviewed in over 10 years!) and I agree that adding some bacon/bacon fat/salted pork makes this recipe even more awesome - but the original little smokey's was what my family loved when I grew up. I would have given full stars, but no little smokey's - bummer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann S. February 13, 2015

This was simple and very good even my picky eater enjoyed it. I did browned the onions and potatoes a bit in some olive oil and butter before I add the water and allowed them to cook with the bay leaf then I just added the milk at the end. It is very simple and comforting. I also browned the sausage a bit. Next time I will try with ham chunks. Thanks for Posting PanNan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3RiversCook January 17, 2014

I love being reminded of home. Boerenkool does that for me. This is a great, simple recipe. Just a few tips. You do not need to cover all your veggies in water - rather, put in about 1/3 water - potatoes on the bottom, onions, kale. This ensures that you don't boil the nutritional value out of the kale. Also, another simple idea is to put the smoked sausage right on top of the kale. It steams nicely, one less pot! However, if you choose to omit the sausage or steam it separately you will need to add more salt. A pinch of salt with 3lbs of potatoes is going to leave your spuds flavourless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1Cookin4Life September 24, 2013
Boerenkool Stamppot (Kale Hash)