Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Boerenkool Stamppot (Kale Hash) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Boerenkool Stamppot (Kale Hash)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2003

      This is comfort food at it's best! I am always looking for new ways to fix kale because not only is it super healthy, but it is one of my favorite veggies. I served this with PanNans Frijoles Borrachitos-Beans with Beer #38046. This recipe really complimented the spiciness of the beans. Quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      I couldnt believe the flavour in this simple meal. I made it ahead and heated in a frying pan prior to serving. The tastes all run together and make and excellent meal. Just like Hubby said his grandmother used to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      Excellent. I too cooked my sausage in with the potatoes, and removed them to be sliced just before draining and mashing. It made this an extremely simple meal to make, loaded with kale, a veggie I am trying to use more, since it seems to be at the top of every list when it comes to the vitamin content of vegetables. Karl is not crazy about kale, but this went down with positive enthusiasm. Oh, one other minor change - I added the kale halfway through the cooking to keep it nice and green. This is just a great recipe for a quick and satifying family supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      Even better when you cook the meat in with the potatoes. It mixes the flavour altogether, and saves a pot! :o) Thanks for posting. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      If I could give this 6 stars I would! It reminded me of being a kid at my Opa and Oma's. Thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      Spicy Hillshire Farm Smoked Sausage was boiled in the pot with the veggies (as other reviewers had suggested). Next time I will brown the smoked sausage and add it after everything is mashed. The texture of the browned sausage would contrast well with the rest of the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      This was simple and very good even my picky eater enjoyed it. I did browned the onions and potatoes a bit in some olive oil and butter before I add the water and allowed them to cook with the bay leaf then I just added the milk at the end. It is very simple and comforting. I also browned the sausage a bit. Next time I will try with ham chunks. Thanks for Posting PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      I love being reminded of home. Boerenkool does that for me. This is a great, simple recipe. Just a few tips. You do not need to cover all your veggies in water - rather, put in about 1/3 water - potatoes on the bottom, onions, kale. This ensures that you don't boil the nutritional value out of the kale. Also, another simple idea is to put the smoked sausage right on top of the kale. It steams nicely, one less pot! However, if you choose to omit the sausage or steam it separately you will need to add more salt. A pinch of salt with 3lbs of potatoes is going to leave your spuds flavourless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      Quick, simple and tasty. We have a freezer full of kale to use up and this recipe rocks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Wow i really liked this dish, very very tasty. I cut it down a bit i was eating alone and it turned out great. We have something like this in Scotland minus the kale, but I think the kale is great, ours is called stovies, and we use corn beef. But I have got to say this a contender for my first place in the comfort food list. Thank you for posting. Made for ZWT#6 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      This is really great! I made this last night with some added bacon. My kids ate so much of this, it was wonderful. This is a good use of kale and I will make this again. Thank you for sharing this, it was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      LOVED IT! Cooked the potatoes a little less and left them only slightly mashed and came out awesome! Will make this a regular part of our menu! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      As good as Kale can get! It was pretty good. I cooked spicy sausage with everything else and put some chicken stock in too instead of the Bay Leaf. I'd cook it again, after all I went back for seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Easy to make and vitamin rich. I cooked the sausage with the potatoes as other reviewers recommended. This was good, but I would use a spicier sausage next time for a little more flavor. It also needs more than a pinch of salt and pepper. I added extra to the pan and everyone still added more to their plates. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Wonderful comfort food! I made it as written, minus the sausage because I needed a vegetarian dish for the occasion. I can just imagine how savory it would be with the spices from the sausage in the bouquet. Thanks PanNan for a great dish. You might make kale eaters out of us yet!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I was introduced to Boerenkool Stamppot years ago by Dutch friends. It is easy, tastey, and there are very few pans to clean afterwards! This recipe is very good. I have tabasco available for my guests who wish to add a little extra umph to the dish. Have fun prepaing this dish and don't be afraid to experiment with it after your first preparation. How well does this recipe work? Well, the ultimate compliment I received was from a Dutch guest who said, "Ik kan niet geloven een Ierse Amerikaan dit maakte!" (Forgive my fractured Dutch all of you Nederlanders speakers -- translated, it is, "I cannot believe an Irish American made this!) Oh, and this dish is very inexpensive to make -- you can't get more Dutch than that! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      My husband is Dutch and his mom made this for me on a visit to the Netherlands. She served it with a meat gravy. Since both of his parents have passed, and he did not learn the recipe, I have been looking for a recipe like it, but to no avail. The vegetable part of the recipe is perfect, but I do miss the gravy! Also, part of the difference is the meat in the US does not taste the same as in the Netherlands. I will definately do some experimenting with the sausage I use and pan fry the sausage to make a gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I love this! My husband is Dutch and I first had this several years ago while visiting Holland. I am a very picky eater, so my 5 stars mean a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      bit bland I found, next time I'll include some kind of bacon, maybe fry up the onion in bacon and the fat. Nutmeg too perhaps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      this recipe is really the best I've tried. My parents came from Holland so I grew up on Boerenkool. The only changes I would make is to add some fried up salted pork belly (cut into bacon bit size pieces).This can be found in the meat section of your food store. I also add some of the bacon fat for taste, about 6 tablespoons or more depending on how heart healthy you want to be.The pork fat really adds to the over all taste. Try it both ways and let me know what you think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Boerenkool Stamppot (Kale Hash)

    Serving Size: 1 (660 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 760.8
     
    Calories from Fat 361
    47%
    Total Fat 40.1 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 88.9 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1116.7 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.6 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 10.7 g
    42%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes