18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not much I can add to 17 other 5-star reviews. Very moist and tasty and now too sweet. I subbed dried cranberries for the raisins. Made for Spring 2013 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 30, 2013

I made as directed and they are so good. Decided after making to make another batch for neighbors. Made for Aussie Swap #38

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SB6 April 22, 2010

i used RZ's conversion for cake flour, 1 cup of cake flour = 1 cup less 2 tbsp all purpose flour. I just love these muffins and made them with chocolate chips instead of raisins. i used slightly less oil as I ran out; didn't hurt the muffins either. The natural bran gives the muffin a nice texture. I got 19 regular sized muffins. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 12, 2010

Cake flour isn't in my pantry, so I used foodtvfan's formula for a substitute, & that worked very well for me! We thoroughly enjoyed these, & my other half is a happy camper taking a couple to work each day, so I'll definitely be making another batch soon, maybe doubling it so I can have some onhand in the freezer as well! Thanks for a very nice keeper recipe! [Made & reviewed for this month's VIP player in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 19]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 08, 2010

Delicious healthy muffins. Bought cake flour and natural bran at the bulk food store. Added 1/2 cup chopped toasted walnuts. Another keeper for my ever growing Favorite Recipezaar recipes binder! If you do not have cake flour, and do not want to make a trip to the store, you can substitute using the following formula: For 1 cup sifted cake flour mix together 2 Tablespoons cornstarch plus 3/4 cup sifted, bleached, all-purpose flour. Will make these again real soon and try adding some chopped apricots for a variation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan November 28, 2009

Simply outstanding. I love, love,love that they use natural bran and not bran cereal with all of it additives. I used 1/4 cup of Splenda brown and a slightly rounded 1/4 cup of Splenda regular and 1/2 the amount of raisins ask for to trim the sugars as much as possible. This is a generous recipe, I scaled it back to 6 and still got 11 lovely muffins. Repeats of this wonderful recipe wall absolutely be happening :D (think I'll try adding a bit of ginger next time).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 04, 2009

Awesome muffins!! I took JB's advise and added a cup of walnuts, and also added two chopped apples, tossed with cinnamon. I got 20 muffins, which I'll be tossing into baggies in the freezer for snacks. These are great muffins that you can feel good about eating! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Veg*n Swap 10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen May 23, 2009

GREAT bran muffins. I made them as written, except I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup splenda with great results (totally could not detect the splenda) and I added a handful of walnuts which I highly recommend. I really enjoyed the light texture. Next time I will try subbing applesauce for the oil and see what happens; I also might throw in some grated carrots. I topped mine with my Apple Butter - Butter. Thanks for a great keeper of a recipe. Made for VEG*N Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 13, 2009

Love these muffins. Made them exactly as stated and will definately make them again. I was able to get 12 muffins and 20 minis.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla February 25, 2009

A wonderful stick to your ribs muffin. Healthy and great flavor rolled into one. Made them in loaf muffin tins. Repeats will soon be made Made for AUS/NZ swap#25

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 February 04, 2009
Body and Soul Health Muffins