38 Reviews

This is my go to recipe for gluten free banana bread. I use 3 medium ripe bananas, reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup, leave out the raisins and bake in a tea loaf pan. Thank you for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 12, 2012

Wow...

This was delicious.

My first taste of banana bread since diagnosis (celiac), and WHAT A TREAT!

Thanks so much...

Modifications:
- omitted nuts and raisins, added 3/4 cup chocolate chips. In my opinion, two sweet, would have left the chips at 1/2 cup instead

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanPatch February 26, 2012

Very yummy! I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Flour, added chocolate chips instead of nuts/raisins, and 4 medium sized bananas. It cooked an hour & a half until toasted on top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hro February 17, 2012

I'm new to the GF diet so this recipe was my first attempt at baking from scratch and this one was a hit!! I ended up using the BRM Biscuit and Baking Mix (since it's what I had on hand) in place of the GF flour and I left out the xanthan gum and nuts. I added milk chocolate chips in place of the raisins (not a raisin fan) and I followed the lead of reviewer mamamarce and made cupcakes. The texture of mine is more of a biscuit than a cupcake which I like better. This recipe is definitely going to be made again!! Thanks for sharing, GreenFish!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kristan July 17, 2011

This is a great recipe. I have made the regular version on the back of the GF flour bag and I have improvised with a cranberry/cardamom/walnut version. Substitute chopped cranberries for the bananas and add about half a cup plain yogurt to compensate for the loss of wet by the bananas. Very yummy warm with butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RosieL December 12, 2010

A very good five stars. I used mostly frozen ripe bananas. I had no vanilla on hand but I would add it another time but it taste fine without it. I used a white rice flour, brown rice flour, small amount of bean flour and tapioca starch mix. I used GF baking powder. I used guar gum in an equal amount to xanthan gum to be corn free. I added a bit over half the amount of yellow raisins and almost a half cup walnuts. Next time I would add them again because it was delicious, especially the walnuts so I will add them in the full amount. I did find it was done a bit before the cooking time was up but that may be my oven. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 11, 2009

I made this for our BBQ tomorrow for a few guests w/ wheat allergies. I haven't tried it but it baked great & smells even better-so that's good enough for me!! I used vegetable oil, no xanthan & mini chocolate chips instead of nuts/raisins. It took my oven a little under an hour and note to anyone trying this: the batter isn't very thick so don't worry about it if it seems thinner than regular batter. Can't wait for guests to enjoy it; thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS July 03, 2009

This was an absolutely delicious loaf - could not tell the difference between this loaf and a "normal" loaf. I covered with foil at about 40 minutes into baking to keep from getting to brown. Also did not add raisins, but toasted walnuts and added - delicious!! Thanks Greenfish!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pambobanker July 08, 2008

SO GOOD! Wow. I substituted unrefined coconut oil for the canola and 2/3 cup of xylitol and 1/8 teaspoon of white stevia extract for the sugar (I also added 1/4 teaspoon of maple extract). Left out the raisins since many in our family don't like them. I will make this often. My little 3 year old girl who has some wheat and sugar sensitivities loved this. In fact this is the first time she has ever eaten banana bread-I think the dark brown color of regular banana bread is often unappealing to children. I'm trying hard to have some self control and not devour another piece. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrystabel November 14, 2007

This banana bread is fantastic! I wasn't sure which recipe to chose as there are several on Recipezaar. I'm so glad I picked this one! I used sunflower oil instead of canola, used Kinnikinnick all purpose mix for the gluten free flour, and added some applesauce to supplement the two small bananas that I had on hand. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zepharum October 02, 2007
Bob's Red Mill Easy Gluten Free Banana Bread