Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bob's Red Mill Easy Gluten Free Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bob's Red Mill Easy Gluten Free Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2010

      Excellent recipe! On the advice of another commenter, I used 1 1/4 cups rice flour and 1/4 cup potato flour (NOT potato starch) instead of the 1 3/4 cups GF flour. Also, I did not measure my bananas, just used four - what I would consider - medium-sized bananas and mashed them. In place of the raisins, I used Enjoy Life chocolate chips. This recipe was awesome straight out of the oven but even better the next morning when it had cooled to room temperature and then zapped a bit in the microwave. Sounds strange, I know, but the overnight amount of time made it so the outer crust was moist too and not just moist on the inside. Very good....this is definitely a keeper in my Recipezaar cookbook and will probably become a frequent "go-to" treat for our all GFCF family. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      I LOVE this recipe and I will use it again and again. I buy the BRM GF All Purpose Flour all the time, and I'm so thrilled to have another GF baked item to add to my list of treats. I used the recipe to make muffins, with the following modifications: I lowered the oven temp to 330F instead of 350 and baked them for 10 minutes on the lower rack in the oven. After 10 minutes, I moved the pan to the top rack and lowered the temp again to 300F, then baked them ano......ther 15 minutes, but keep checking them; when they are brown all over and the top springs back to the touch (or a knife inserted comes out clean) they're ready. Remember to spray your non-stick pan because the batter is VERY sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Yum! This was my first attempt at GF baking. I used the GF Biscuit and Pancake mix, and left out the xanthan gum. I wanted to cut down on oil so I used half oil, half yogurt. But then I found I only had 1 cup of banana, so I added mostly yogurt and a splash of oil to the the mashed banana (to make up for the other 1/2 cup of missing banana) and followed directions for mixing. It seemed like over-mixing would have collapsed the leavening so I was really careful to gently mix it up. It came out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This banana bread is the best I've ever made, and it just happens to be gluten free! The first time I made it with 3 bananas and it was a little dry, but the second time I made it with 4 and it was PERFECT. Also, I use Jubes' GF All-Purpose Flour Mix #256259. I highly recommend this flour mix for every GF baking recipe. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      We are new to the gluten free diet and this was my first time making banana bread for my toddler. It was wonderful! I made it with pecans and a little applesauce because I didn't have enough bananas to equal 1 1/2 cups. The texture was so close to 'real' banana bread that I could hardly tell the difference. Thank you! I now have one more thing to add to my little kidlets diet, which is hard enough for a two year old. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      Deeeeelicious! Its very good right out of the oven but its even better the next day if you cover it with plastic and leave it at room temp. I used Bob's GF all purpose flour, exactly 1.5 cups of mashed bananas, and tossed in pecans and milk chocolate chips. Next time I will add another 1/2 cup of banana or apple sauce because I think it could use just a wee bit more moisture. <br/><br/>I will also try substituting the banana mash for cooked apple, peaches, pumpkin, and maybe even carrot to see if I can replicate the other traditional sweet "bread" loafs. <br/><br/>Great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      Just tried this recipe and loved the outcome. Our family enjoys banana bread but haven't had any since discovering a gluten intolerance. I had 4 overripe bananas on hand and decided to give this a try. Used Bob's all purpose flour, and made muffins. I added Heath's toffee bits which are gluten free (Hershey's website has a helpful list of all their GF products) and chopped walnuts. I doubled the vanilla as well. Baked in a 350 oven for 23 minutes. Delicious. One of the great things about this recipe, is that it requires only a GF all purpose flour. We're new to GF and haven't stocked up on a lot of flours but did have Bob's & the xanthan gum which I've been told is crucial in getting good results. I don't think anyone could be disappointed with this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      it turned out really well. i did add lemon juice to it because the batter was a bit bland as others had commented. i only used 1/2c sugar too. i saw that it was getting too brown so i lowered my temp down to 315 for the last 15 minutes or so. next time i will cook it on a lower temp for the entire time. very good recipe and i will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      This is amazing! It tastes better than the recipe my mother used for over 20 years before I went gluten free. The only issue we had when we made the banana bread loaf is that it needed to cook longer than the allotted time it called for. It was still quite doughy in the middle and actually sank. Partially my mother's fault, though, for not sticking with a toothpick to see if it was dry, but the parts that did cook, tasted amazing! First bread I've had in almost 5 months of being gluten free that actually had the consistency of regular bread. Could not taste the difference at all. Will definitely do again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      I made this for Christmas for a co-worker who has celiac. It came together easily, rose beautifully, and smelled great. Four medium-size bananas was just slightly over 1 1/2 cups mashed. Followed the recipe exact, using pecans. The recipient offered me have a small slice so I could taste it and it was very good. Thanks for sharing! ~Dec 21, 2011.
      Update: Made this again and replaced the raisins with dried cranberries and I think it's even better than last years! Also, last year I used Bob's Red Mill GF AP flour; this year I used King Arthur GF flour - both work great but I think the King Arthur might taste slightly better. The recipient said it was the perfect ratio of banana to nuts to cranberries (and after he offered me a slice, I have to agree!) Thanks again for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      This is my go to recipe for gluten free banana bread. I use 3 medium ripe bananas, reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup, leave out the raisins and bake in a tea loaf pan. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Wow...

      This was delicious.

      My first taste of banana bread since diagnosis (celiac), and WHAT A TREAT!

      Thanks so much...

      Modifications:
      - omitted nuts and raisins, added 3/4 cup chocolate chips. In my opinion, two sweet, would have left the chips at 1/2 cup instead

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      Very yummy! I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Flour, added chocolate chips instead of nuts/raisins, and 4 medium sized bananas. It cooked an hour & a half until toasted on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      I'm new to the GF diet so this recipe was my first attempt at baking from scratch and this one was a hit!! I ended up using the BRM Biscuit and Baking Mix (since it's what I had on hand) in place of the GF flour and I left out the xanthan gum and nuts. I added milk chocolate chips in place of the raisins (not a raisin fan) and I followed the lead of reviewer mamamarce and made cupcakes. The texture of mine is more of a biscuit than a cupcake which I like better. This recipe is definitely going to be made again!! Thanks for sharing, GreenFish!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I have made the regular version on the back of the GF flour bag and I have improvised with a cranberry/cardamom/walnut version. Substitute chopped cranberries for the bananas and add about half a cup plain yogurt to compensate for the loss of wet by the bananas. Very yummy warm with butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      A very good five stars. I used mostly frozen ripe bananas. I had no vanilla on hand but I would add it another time but it taste fine without it. I used a white rice flour, brown rice flour, small amount of bean flour and tapioca starch mix. I used GF baking powder. I used guar gum in an equal amount to xanthan gum to be corn free. I added a bit over half the amount of yellow raisins and almost a half cup walnuts. Next time I would add them again because it was delicious, especially the walnuts so I will add them in the full amount. I did find it was done a bit before the cooking time was up but that may be my oven. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      I made this for our BBQ tomorrow for a few guests w/ wheat allergies. I haven't tried it but it baked great & smells even better-so that's good enough for me!! I used vegetable oil, no xanthan & mini chocolate chips instead of nuts/raisins. It took my oven a little under an hour and note to anyone trying this: the batter isn't very thick so don't worry about it if it seems thinner than regular batter. Can't wait for guests to enjoy it; thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This was an absolutely delicious loaf - could not tell the difference between this loaf and a "normal" loaf. I covered with foil at about 40 minutes into baking to keep from getting to brown. Also did not add raisins, but toasted walnuts and added - delicious!! Thanks Greenfish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      SO GOOD! Wow. I substituted unrefined coconut oil for the canola and 2/3 cup of xylitol and 1/8 teaspoon of white stevia extract for the sugar (I also added 1/4 teaspoon of maple extract). Left out the raisins since many in our family don't like them. I will make this often. My little 3 year old girl who has some wheat and sugar sensitivities loved this. In fact this is the first time she has ever eaten banana bread-I think the dark brown color of regular banana bread is often unappealing to children. I'm trying hard to have some self control and not devour another piece. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This banana bread is fantastic! I wasn't sure which recipe to chose as there are several on Recipezaar. I'm so glad I picked this one! I used sunflower oil instead of canola, used Kinnikinnick all purpose mix for the gluten free flour, and added some applesauce to supplement the two small bananas that I had on hand. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bob's Red Mill Easy Gluten Free Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    50%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 208.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 21.5 g
    86%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes