10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The most unflavorful rice dish that I have ever tried.....First of all, the 4 cups of water need about an hour to absord instead of 15 minutes; after 20 minutes, I had to drain the liquid off because it was taking way too long.....Definitely not something that I would recommend or try again...Sorry, Bob, but this dish definitely bellied up

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toodlebug24 July 06, 2003

This was not very flavorful or tasty. I followed another suggestion and poured my tomatoes into a big measuring bowl and added enough water to make four cups of liquid. The last step doesn't say if we are to put the lid on the pot or not while cooking, but I put the lid on and the texture was fine. I also added one cup of frozen corn for flavor. This had too much cumin and not enough other flavors for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel December 03, 2009

This is a very easy recipe and tasty too. I corrected the water as others did (the canned tomatoes AND water should equal 4 cups together, NOT four cups of water).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nourishing My Life July 13, 2009

This is the best Mexican rice I have ever had. Its in my recipe book now for future use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galgoneracin October 27, 2008

This was pretty good! I halved the recipe and adjusted the water as other reviewers had. I used about half a white onion which was plenty. Really yummy and I will make it again with our Mexican dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal April 06, 2008

This was very easy to make but it really didn't have much flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 January 28, 2008

This was great! I did, however, listen to the other reviews and I didnt use as much water, making it with the tomatoes in the measuring container a total of 4 cups. It turned out perfect! I also added in a tsp of chili powder and served it with my chicken enchiladas and some refried beans. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ April 02, 2007

Correct the water used, I think you mean the tomatoes with liquid and additional water to make the liquid 4 cups, certainly not an additional 4 cups of water

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song May 14, 2006

This is overall a very good mexican rice dish. You just need to correct the liquid content. Pour the can of stewed tomatoes into a four cup liquid measuring cup, and add water to make four cups of liquid total. The taste of the rice is excellent, it's a great sidedish to any mexican meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tri_Mama November 03, 2005

I'm surprised that folks haven't found this one. It seems just the right thing to serve with Mexican entrees! When I halve the recipe, I still use one 14 oz. can of the diced tomatoes (either the ones with jalapenos or those with green chilies), and just reduce the amount water a bit. It's a very user-friendly dish, adapting well to spicy and not-so-spicy dishes. Heck, one dinner guest last night had three helpings...and took home the leftovers! I'd say that speaks pretty well for Bob's Rice...Grammy Bunny

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammy Bunny October 15, 2004
Bob's Mexican Rice