Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bobotie, from the Cape Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bobotie, from the Cape

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2013

      Easy to make and delicious. i made it with all ground lamb and opted for the raisins. i didn't use breyani spice and instead of a standard curry spice, i used a cape malay curry powder i found. the only caveat is keep a careful eye for how much oil that is used so your mixture doesnt turn into an oil bath after it is baked. this was devoured in its entirety with some eating third helpings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      This recipe is really extraordinary. I just devoured all of the leftovers. I'm happy that I made this one for myself, as it would have been difficult to part with at a dinner gathering. There were quite a few steps, but none of them were really difficult. The only change I made was using ground turkey instead of ground beef. The Bobotie was soft, flavorful and so easy to cut! The presentation on the plate was also quite impressive. I'll definitely keep this recipe for future use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      Awesome recipe. Totally authentic but so easy to produce too. Well done Zurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      This was incredible. Absolutely incredible. I was expecting it to be pretty damn good, but it was utterly delicious. I felt compelled to register just to tell everyone that. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      This was really nice. I agree that it could be a little more spicy because my family loves spicy foods. I will add some cayene next time. This will become a regular dish for us as my South African husband is well chuffed that his American wife can now make it for him. Thank you:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This was delicious. Unfortunately, I didn't have any apricot jam so I used peach instead. Next time I make this I will try adding some chutney or maybe a bit of cayenne for a little heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I made this exactly as posted with the extra chutney and spices as added in the postscript, it was delicious! I only wished I had a jar of Mrs Ball's Chutney to hand, but I used my own home-made chutney - I also used a home-made Cape Malay curry powder for that more mellow and fruity curry flavour, I served this with your funeral rice Zurie, and I had compliments all round. Made for the Beyond Burgers Photo Forum event and also for the Gypsy Chicks! Merci encore, FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      tried this for some French friends who loved every bit of it. I added raisins and almonds and put muscovado sugar instead of normal sugar. My byriani mix was made up of what spices I had but got quite close to your original recipe so it worked out well. I might reduce the amount of milk next time though. Thank you Zurie for a taste of South Africa. I'm also looking for a recipe for venison bobotie I had one in SA which was scrumptious, very light and tasty, so if anyone has something, please post it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Oh Zurie - this was just wonderful! I added flaked almonds because I like the texture that they bring to the dish. My husband thanks you for reminding him of home. He's been away from Africa for almost ten years now and this reminded him of his childhood. Thank you so much for our wonderful dinner :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Made this for a family supper and it was very well received. I have made Bobotie using other recipes, and the children are not Wild about it, this one was, however, polished off!! I liked the fact that it was moist and full of gentle flavour, as Zurie says, it is not a curry dish. I served it with Garlic Green Beans, Roasted Pumpkin and rice, I will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Delicious! I am always looking for something different to do with ground beef! I doubled this recipe very successfully with a little more spices as advised in postscript. It turned out really well. I will definately try this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bobotie, from the Cape

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.7
     
    Calories from Fat 314
    49%
    Total Fat 34.9 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 223.6 mg
    74%
    Sodium 1450.9 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 18.3 g
    73%
    Protein 41.5 g
    83%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spices

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites