7 Reviews

Before baking insert 4-5 rolled up fresh lemon leaves. If no lemon leaves are available you may substitue Bay leaves but remember to remove them before serving. A better recipe for traditional Bobotie is listed under Curried Lamb Casserole with Raisins & Almonds#61315. I have made Bobotie for years and usually add the so-called "custard" only during the last 20 mins. of baking. This gives a much moister result - especially if you keep the dish covered during the first half hour or so. Traditionally this dish is accompanied by yellow rice and raisins(flavoured and coloured with turmeric) and served with chutney.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeve Everest June 25, 2003

this was just wonderful. the spices are very subtle, and i just loved the custard, it reminded me of pastitsio. the slivered almonds added a nice crubch-- everyone was wary about tasting it but once they did they like it too the 330 cooking temp is odd. after 50 mninutes the inside was still very liquid, so i turned the heat up to 350 and cooked it for 15 mins more-- i served this with hot sauce, so good

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia May 21, 2003

Having had some bad experiences with lamb (countless years ago!) I've usually kept away from lamb recipes, but this one intrigued me, so . . . Followed the ingredients right down the ling & the directions, too (In the custard I DID use an apricot brandy, 'cause that's what I have on hand!), & this gave me a surprisingly WONDERFUL TASTE EXPERIENCE ~ MOST ENJOYABLE! Thanks for inticing me with your recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring Africa on the Zaar World Tour 4]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 23, 2008

Quite tasty. The ommission of bread makes for a good lower-carb option. I beat the egg whites stiff and added yokes, beat more. Ommitted almonds and preserves, 1st because I didn't have them, 2nd because I was not sure how preserves would taste--yes, pure fear... Otherwise everything the same. The result was a fluffy, delicious concoction. My husband especially LOVED it. I believe you could add different veggies to this recipe, without detracting its original flavor. Evelyn, l ike in SA, in Brazil we also have many variations of the same recipe (regional) and nobody claims to own the "correct" one! I really appreciate you sharing your cousin's recipe and am looking forward to try others you may post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK October 07, 2010

We enjoyed this recipe, but I had a few problems with it. It was a little too spicy for us, and I think we would have liked it better without the brandy in the topping. Also, I cooked it for 1 1/4 hours and the topping still wasn't quite done. We served it over rice. Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup June 20, 2008

Dear Evelyn -- I made bobotie again the other night, (my own recipe) and OF COURSE it contains tomatoes, which are fried with the spices: I deeply apologise for my thoughtless comments of before. Your spices are also just right. The only missing ingredient in the lamb are 2 slices of bread, soaked in milk, then crumbled into the meat mixture. The trad. topping is just eggs, milk, nutmeg and turmeric. But your variation-on-a- theme sounds great and will taste splendid, if a little rich! Like the little brandy in the topping -- must try that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie February 01, 2007

Oh my, what a pleasure this was to fix & eat. Hungry for lamb, I made the full recipe. We had an otherwise lite dinner, so were easily able to rationalize overeating! Tomorrow I'll serve again in the traditional way another reviewer described. Ea element of this dish worked in its favor & no single 1 overwhelmed the others. The spices are compatible & subtle, the custard is creamy & holds up well & the chopped almonds give the texture a crunch. I used apricot brandy & will use more next time (nutmeg too) as I tasted just a bare hint of it. This is 1 of my favorite ZWT dishes! Thx for sharing w/us! — Jun 24, 2006 Edited to add the stars so well-deserved!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 25, 2006