18 Reviews

excellent rub!!!.I made this for ribs for a Memorial Day picnic, everyone wanted the recipe. I was out of chile powder so I used cajun seasoning mix. Fantastic on ribs. My husband tried it on his venison steak, and and beef steak. Now I'm told to always keep it on hand. Thanks for posting

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneckgetaway51 May 30, 2009

Delicious!! I love Bobby Flay's recipes!! The only thing I did differently was to add an extra tbl of brown sugar!! Thanks for posting! Also...wanted to add that I covered 3 racks of ribs with this rub and there was still enough leftover for another 2 racks, so it makes a lot.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue March 18, 2009

This was so wonderful!!!!! We used this on beef ribs and put on the smoker. We added some BBQ sauce at the end to seal it in. Will use this recipe all the time!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 06, 2010

This recipe is really excellent! You don't need to use BBQ sauce! My small modifications were that I didn't have brown sugar so I used white sugar and I also used half the salt and it was plenty. It was delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lghaimowitz August 17, 2015

I followed this recipe to the letter, with the exception that I don't have white pepper. I applied the rub very liberally to a single rack of St. Louis Ribs. Smoked them on the grill at low temperature. The ribs came out WAY TO SALTY. There could be two problems here....either the recipe has two much salt in it....or I applied way to much rub to my single rack of ribs. I am going to try it again. The recipe could be more specific.....how much is 4 servings???/ Do you mean 4 racks of ribs? I'll find out. I like a lot of things about the recipe....and will definitely try again. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasRay May 06, 2015

It's got it all. Sweet, salty, spicy, and a little heat. Like another reviewer, the only modifications I made was doubling the brown sugar. I like my ribs a little sweeter, especially if not using a sauce, which you will not need with this rub. I recommend reserving some to have on hand after ribs are cut, adding a dash to the uncovered parts of the ribs, which makes every bite super delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaron W. December 29, 2014

This is a wonderful rub. I only use 1T salt, and that was plenty for us. I slow cooked baby back ribs in the oven and finished them off on the bbq. Would love to try it on chicken!! Thanks for the posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 19, 2011

Too salty. Cut the salt in half or a quarter. Good flavor and lots of heat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drew G. April 14, 2016

I used this on the fourth of July on my ribs and even mixed some of it into my hamburger patties. My husband said those were the best hamburgers he had ever eaten. The ribs got five star reviews from everyone! Great recipe! A staple in my spice cabinet now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiesdaycare49 August 11, 2015

This rub was really tasty! I made ribs with it. It has a nice little kick to it. I think the amount of salt can be dependent upon the cook's preference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DawnLJ July 12, 2015
Bobby Flay's Rib Rub