Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bobby Flay Throwdown Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bobby Flay Throwdown Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Icing

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-38 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      Don't know if I did something wrong, but these just didn't turn out well for me. They didn't rise very much and while the inside was nice and fluffy, the outside was very crunchy. The flavor of the batter was delicious though - hence the 3 stars, but the finished product was lacking for me. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      I can't even count how many cupcakes I have made from this recipe in the last 1 1/2 years since finding it here at Food.com. It is definitely my go to recipe for cupcakes. Everyone I make them for raves about them and says they are the best cupcakes they have ever eaten. I make the recipe exactly as written and it always comes out moist and delicious. The cream cheese frosting is to die for!!! It is my most requested cupcake and I will be making 250 of them this next week for a group celebrating Election Night. They are perfect for a Red, White and Blue Patriotic Celebration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      i made a 3-layer cake for the 4th Today and i must say the frosting makes a ton, no doubt about it. it was really good, but so sweet. I will definately make again but only with the cupcakes so that people don't get a major sugar high. great recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Delicious and best red velvet I have ever eaten. The frosting is out of this world amazing. I made a slight change to this recipe and added 1/4 cup cocoa instead of the 1 1/4 tsp because I needed more of a cocoa kick. Otherwise the recipe is a keeper and will be making these again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This recipe is so good, I am lucky if they last at my home, once my kids friends (teenagers) know they they have been made, they flock to our home in hopes of getting one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This was excellent! My friends and family loved it and I have requests to make it for Thanksgiving dinner! The only thing I did differently was use 1/4 cup cocoa powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I made these twice to make sure I wasn't doing anything wrong, and I have to say these were not great in our opinion. The best thing about the cupcake is that it is very most, otherwise it is lacking in flavor even after adding a bit more cocoa to my second batch. The frosting is okay, it just never had the correct consistency for me, too loose, even when adding less powdered sugar. It may be that the butter to cream cheese ratio is too high for my tastes. I must make a note that I used regular and not jumbo sized cupcake pans, and the batter baked up and over the cup, resulting in a strange crispy edge, even when I filled the cups with a little less batter for the second batch. I'll have to continue my search for the perfect red velvet cupcake unfortunately!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      these ROCK!!!!! moist, fresh-tasting cupcakes that save well!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I doubled the recipe and made jumbo cupcakes for a bake sale and they sold out in a hurry. I used cake flour instead of all- purpose, increased to amount of cocoa to 1/4 cup and topped them with gobs of cream cheese frosting. There were lots of happy customers with a sugar high that day. Will use this recipe again and again. Update: I've also made a few 3-layer red velvet cakes using this recipe. My friends now say I make the best red velvet cake in town.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Check out my blog for the full story of this recipe: http://legallyeating.blogspot.com/2009/07/operation-non-tacky-4th-of-july-dessert.html Very decent red velvet cake. I too added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder, and I might add even more next time. I made these for 4th of July with blue sprinkles on top.. totally cute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Wow! Yummy, best red velvet cake I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I thought I would never find a cupcake recipe better than Kittencal's One Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes but I have! And this is it! Dont change anything in this receipe. It is perfect the way it is! Everybody loved the cupcakes, particularly all the Senior boys in Business Studies class

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This is the best cupcake recipe! I made them for my husband to take to work, and everyone couldn't get enough of them. The frosting is wonderful. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      These are heavenly! I made them in a regular sized muffin tin for about 2 dozen cupcakes. They were a hit - I had people eating 3 and 4 cupcakes each! It was an easy to follow recipe, too. I am making these again, soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      These cupcakes are fabulous! I watched this Cupcake Throwdown on FoodNewtork and just had to try these. They are huge and definitely one is enough for two people. I love them. However, I followed the recipe from the FoodNetwork website and it calls for only 15 1/2 oz. flour (a little over 2 cups), so I'm not sure why this recipe says 3 cups. The frosting is to die for. I will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      These are 10 star cupcakes! I am not kidding! I have made this several times since they were shown on "Throwdown with Bobby Flay" and they are YUMMMY! I made them last year for my sons 2nd birthday. Everyone, including my mother who does NOT like cream cheese, enjoyed them. I did not however make them this year for his birthday - resulting in some very disappointed guests. The frosting is super rich - my friends and family refer to it to "Shay's (cause they dont know better!) 1,000 pound frosting"!! Make them, you wont be sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Made these for the July 4th holiday and sprinked with blueberries for patriotic treats. The tray was gone before I could even sit down! Just wonderful. Thanks for posting domesticgirly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bobby Flay Throwdown Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (3725 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 969.2
     
    Calories from Fat 534
    55%
    Total Fat 59.3 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 25.8 g
    129%
    Cholesterol 143.5 mg
    47%
    Sodium 654.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.5 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 86.0 g
    344%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites