Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bobby Flay Throwdown Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bobby Flay Throwdown Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Icing

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2012

      the cream cheese frosting is incredible!! I made a medium-sized 3 layer cake using the same instructions. It was my first cake, and it came out pretty good. The frosting makes a TON so i suggest either halving it or doubling the cupcakes. Also, I hand-mixed the cake batter. It wasn't too difficult, and it made sure that it cake turned out moist and delicious. :)

      DEFINITELY up the cocoa to 1/4 cup.

      Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Yummy! I'm not really a fan of red velvet cake, as it seems like they are just a novelty. I was, however, looking for a good vanilla buttermilk cake recipe. Since I wanted to make green cupcakes for St. Patty's, I made this recipe as Green Velvet cupcakes. Wow. I may have to reconsider my opinion of red velvet. These cupcakes were moist and tasty. Kind of sweet and buttery, with a hint of vanilla. They had a coarse-ish crumb, typical of butter based cakes, even though this recipe called for oil. The cocoa powder is sort of moot, as you don't taste it at all. I may try this recipe in the future with more cocoa powder, but as written I thought it was fabulous. Oh, I also only used 2 tsp. food coloring, and it was plenty green. I didn't make the cream cheese frosting. I put a fluffy 7-minute frosting on top. Yum! 3 days later I'm still eating them. They have dried out a bit, but are still tasty. I recommend drinking some hot tea or coffee with them, though, as the sweetness can leave your mouth with a coating. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I made these for some coworkers' birthdays and everyone loved them! I had people coming up to me all day raving on and on about how amazing they were and that they were the best cupcakes they'd ever had. Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Maybe I did something wrong but this lacked flavor and turned out hard especially the day after.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      I made these in the large oversized cupcake pans...They turned out fabulous!
      I used kittencals cream cheese frosting recipe instead of this one as it seemed that this one would have made alot more frosting then I needed...I did up the cocoa powder to 1/4 cup like others did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! I needed to make a red velvet cake and thought this recipe looked the best, and I was right! I followed the cake recipe, except I used only 1 cup of vegetable oil, 1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder, and omitted the 1/8 cup water. I also used cake flour as opposed to all-purpose. For the frosting I only used 2 bars cream cheese, 1 1/2 bars butter, and 1/2 pound powdered sugar. With this I was able to fill 2 8" cake pans, 3 cupcakes, and had ample frosting. This cake is so moist and very delicious. Everyone raved about the cake at the party I brought it to and even non-cake eaters were going back for seconds! I cannot wait to make this recipe again to wow my crowd, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      I haven't made these yet but I live at a very high altitude. If you don't adjust your recipe for high altitude your cupcakes will be dry which in turn will make them lose flavor. That's what I'm guessing halogens with since of your bad reviews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      I baked these 2 days ago, exactly how the recipe called for except with everyone reviews 1/4 cup of cocoa (that's the only change), wow they were so delicious! I baked for 20min, my oven is fairly strong, they came out moist and stayed that way for a few days! After making the frosting, I actually cooled it in the fridge for 30-45min before placing on cupcakes. This is because the frosting was too runny/soft to make a nice shape right after mixing it. That's my only tip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      AMAZING! This is the first time I have ever made cupcakes from scratch! (I'm a cookie monster). I made these last night and they were a huge hit at the college (of course they are starving students so that may not be saying much). However, they were SO moist; as I didn't have any vegetable oil, I substituted with healthy, cold-pressed COCONUT OIL (at Whole Foods or local health food store); gently warmed it to liquid form on stove, then poured into blender (following instructions). I also used a TBS of red food coloring (red enough for me but if you want them bright red, use a bit more).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      I am a fairly experienced baker, rarely flopping my bakery items- this one wasn't great. I did use 1/4 cup of cocoa as that is what I have used in the past. These were by far the driest cupcakes I have ever made. It was quite a disappointment. The batter was fluffy and tasted great, however, I cooked as directed, even checked on them at 15 minutes, they definitely needed the 18-20 minutes to bake for regular sized cupcakes. And the icing recipe makes a ton! I like a lot of icing on my cupcakes, I made 2/3 of the recipe and I still have about 2 cups of icing left over (the recipe made 28 regular sized cupcakes for me). The taste is pretty good, but I am definitely disappointed with the dryness of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      The texture was nice and moist, but the flavor was lacking something. I made it as written. The frosting was good, but very soft. The next day they seemed kind of oily. I went to the Food Network site to see if maybe I made a mistake, and the recipe in the video of the Throwdown seems different. It used butter in the cake recipe, and more cocoa. This makes a good sized batch. I doubled the recipe for a group I was serving, and still had leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      I made these tonight and I think I must have beaten the dough too much because they are very dense. But with that icing on them, who even notices. 972 calories each of total bliss!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Made these for hubby's birthday and he said "these are the best cupcakes I've ever had". I went with the 1/4 C cocoa and used cake flour (and threw in the 1-2 extra T per cup for the conversion vs all purpose flour). Wonderfully moist with just a hint of chocolate under that delish icing. Made 24 regular sized cupcakes & 6 mini-cupcakes for our 2 yr old. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      oh my god this recipe is better than Georgetown Cupcake red velvet cupcake recipe!!! My new favorite recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      The top of the cupcake was hard,crunchy and the inside was moist. The taste was very bland, perhaps more cocoa. Frosting was the only thing good with this cupcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      i mad these for my friends Birthday and they tasted amazing! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This cupackes turned out great! I made them for my daughters birthday party and everyone loved them!! Definitely a great recipe to try for a christmas party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      DELISH! Thank you for posting. I'm definitely gonna make one again. I always love red velvet sweets & this is the first one I made. I was overwhelmed with the taste & moist even though I flapped with the Cream Cheese Icing (I used yogurt in leu of cream cheese coz I couldn't find the Turkish translation), a simple royal icing was substituted for this. I'm gonna try again for the CC icing next time. I want 10 stars for this =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Don't know if I did something wrong, but these just didn't turn out well for me. They didn't rise very much and while the inside was nice and fluffy, the outside was very crunchy. The flavor of the batter was delicious though - hence the 3 stars, but the finished product was lacking for me. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bobby Flay Throwdown Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (3725 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 969.2
     
    Calories from Fat 534
    55%
    Total Fat 59.3 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 25.8 g
    129%
    Cholesterol 143.5 mg
    47%
    Sodium 654.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.5 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 86.0 g
    344%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites