44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

the cream cheese frosting is incredible!! I made a medium-sized 3 layer cake using the same instructions. It was my first cake, and it came out pretty good. The frosting makes a TON so i suggest either halving it or doubling the cupcakes. Also, I hand-mixed the cake batter. It wasn't too difficult, and it made sure that it cake turned out moist and delicious. :)

DEFINITELY up the cocoa to 1/4 cup.

Thanks for the recipe!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saejinkwak June 23, 2012

Yummy! I'm not really a fan of red velvet cake, as it seems like they are just a novelty. I was, however, looking for a good vanilla buttermilk cake recipe. Since I wanted to make green cupcakes for St. Patty's, I made this recipe as Green Velvet cupcakes. Wow. I may have to reconsider my opinion of red velvet. These cupcakes were moist and tasty. Kind of sweet and buttery, with a hint of vanilla. They had a coarse-ish crumb, typical of butter based cakes, even though this recipe called for oil. The cocoa powder is sort of moot, as you don't taste it at all. I may try this recipe in the future with more cocoa powder, but as written I thought it was fabulous. Oh, I also only used 2 tsp. food coloring, and it was plenty green. I didn't make the cream cheese frosting. I put a fluffy 7-minute frosting on top. Yum! 3 days later I'm still eating them. They have dried out a bit, but are still tasty. I recommend drinking some hot tea or coffee with them, though, as the sweetness can leave your mouth with a coating. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cryssi March 17, 2011

I made these for some coworkers' birthdays and everyone loved them! I had people coming up to me all day raving on and on about how amazing they were and that they were the best cupcakes they'd ever had. Thanks a lot!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo August 09, 2010

I made these in the large oversized cupcake pans...They turned out fabulous!
I used kittencals cream cheese frosting recipe instead of this one as it seemed that this one would have made alot more frosting then I needed...I did up the cocoa powder to 1/4 cup like others did.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc October 05, 2010

I am a fairly experienced baker, rarely flopping my bakery items- this one wasn't great. I did use 1/4 cup of cocoa as that is what I have used in the past. These were by far the driest cupcakes I have ever made. It was quite a disappointment. The batter was fluffy and tasted great, however, I cooked as directed, even checked on them at 15 minutes, they definitely needed the 18-20 minutes to bake for regular sized cupcakes. And the icing recipe makes a ton! I like a lot of icing on my cupcakes, I made 2/3 of the recipe and I still have about 2 cups of icing left over (the recipe made 28 regular sized cupcakes for me). The taste is pretty good, but I am definitely disappointed with the dryness of them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ArTanase January 08, 2012

Maybe I did something wrong but this lacked flavor and turned out hard especially the day after.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha January 14, 2011

This recipe is awesome! I needed to make a red velvet cake and thought this recipe looked the best, and I was right! I followed the cake recipe, except I used only 1 cup of vegetable oil, 1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder, and omitted the 1/8 cup water. I also used cake flour as opposed to all-purpose. For the frosting I only used 2 bars cream cheese, 1 1/2 bars butter, and 1/2 pound powdered sugar. With this I was able to fill 2 8" cake pans, 3 cupcakes, and had ample frosting. This cake is so moist and very delicious. Everyone raved about the cake at the party I brought it to and even non-cake eaters were going back for seconds! I cannot wait to make this recipe again to wow my crowd, thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny July 04, 2009

I haven't made these yet but I live at a very high altitude. If you don't adjust your recipe for high altitude your cupcakes will be dry which in turn will make them lose flavor. That's what I'm guessing halogens with since of your bad reviews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki H. January 17, 2014

I baked these 2 days ago, exactly how the recipe called for except with everyone reviews 1/4 cup of cocoa (that's the only change), wow they were so delicious! I baked for 20min, my oven is fairly strong, they came out moist and stayed that way for a few days! After making the frosting, I actually cooled it in the fridge for 30-45min before placing on cupcakes. This is because the frosting was too runny/soft to make a nice shape right after mixing it. That's my only tip!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zanalane September 13, 2013

AMAZING! This is the first time I have ever made cupcakes from scratch! (I'm a cookie monster). I made these last night and they were a huge hit at the college (of course they are starving students so that may not be saying much). However, they were SO moist; as I didn't have any vegetable oil, I substituted with healthy, cold-pressed COCONUT OIL (at Whole Foods or local health food store); gently warmed it to liquid form on stove, then poured into blender (following instructions). I also used a TBS of red food coloring (red enough for me but if you want them bright red, use a bit more).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetnote February 15, 2013
Bobby Flay Throwdown Red Velvet Cupcakes and Cream Cheese Icing