31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love the Bob Evans recipe called Chicken & Noodles Dinner, so I wanted to make it at home. Found this recipe and have modified it over time to fit my large table requirements (5 people eats like 10!). To make it slightly thicker than just broth, I do the roux - cook the onions & celery in butter, then add the flour. I will also use chicken stock instead of all water. In addition, I will add a can of chicken & herb condensed soup to the recipe so it will sit a little thicker on the mashed potatoes and buttermilk bisquit. I have also added fresh parsley, sage and marjoram near the end of cooking. For Thanksgiving leftovers, I cooked the veggies and broth with the biggest turkey bones for an hour before taking them out and adding the dark meat leftover turkey. YUM!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Speshelkay November 26, 2010

This one was a hit. The Reames noodles definitely make the difference. I used one cup less water and first made a roux with 4T of Wondra flour to thicken it up a bit. Next time I will cut back to 7 cups of water 'cause it was still not as thick as I liked. Also cut back to 1/2C butter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Vino September 25, 2008

This was definitely better the next day. I boiled a whole chicken and used the meat from it, instead of using chicken breasts. More work, but definitely added great flavor. Will definitely make again! :) Thanks for posting

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama January 09, 2007

Sorry,but this is not what I call chicken and noodles. All the carrot,celery,onions just didn't seem to add any flavor (and I used chicken broth instead of water).<br/>I think just following the instructions on the Rheames noodle package makes a better dish. I think this is far too watery and has very little flavor. Maybe Bob Evans doesn't give out the correct ingredients, but I am sticking to my own "home recipe" from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 May 23, 2013

This is absolutely delicious! I love the Bob Evan's chicken and noodles, and this is just as good as any I have ever had there. It's especially nice for me since there are no Bob Evan's restaurants in my area, and now I can get my chicken and noodles fix right here at home! Real comfort food; just perfect for chilly weather. It was easy to prepare, too. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn"t change a thing. My husband loved it too, and he is not a big soup fan. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pennydb1 March 11, 2012

We really loved this. I did make a few modifications, just based on how my Mom makes chicken and noodles. I added 2 cans of cream of chicken soup thinned with a little milk, some parsley, poultry seasoning, black pepper and garlic powder. I used a bag and a half of noodles. It was awesome!!! My 10 year old niece ate 3 whole bowls. (I don't know where she puts it...she's skinny as twig!) Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs January 16, 2012

This was as close as it gets. I added a little tumeric to get the characteristic yellow of the broth. If you have more time roll out your own noodles for a real down home meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sll9377 October 29, 2011

We love the chicken and noodles, it is so good in the deep dish meal which is over a biscuit and mashed potatoes. I will later when I have made it, I am sure it will be a 5 star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollymuffin October 02, 2011

This was the best chicken noodle soup and it tastes just like the real thing. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy Ann November 18, 2010
Bob Evans Chicken & Noodles (Copycat)