Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bob Evans Chicken & Noodles (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bob Evans Chicken & Noodles (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2010

      We love the Bob Evans recipe called Chicken & Noodles Dinner, so I wanted to make it at home. Found this recipe and have modified it over time to fit my large table requirements (5 people eats like 10!). To make it slightly thicker than just broth, I do the roux - cook the onions & celery in butter, then add the flour. I will also use chicken stock instead of all water. In addition, I will add a can of chicken & herb condensed soup to the recipe so it will sit a little thicker on the mashed potatoes and buttermilk bisquit. I have also added fresh parsley, sage and marjoram near the end of cooking. For Thanksgiving leftovers, I cooked the veggies and broth with the biggest turkey bones for an hour before taking them out and adding the dark meat leftover turkey. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This one was a hit. The Reames noodles definitely make the difference. I used one cup less water and first made a roux with 4T of Wondra flour to thicken it up a bit. Next time I will cut back to 7 cups of water 'cause it was still not as thick as I liked. Also cut back to 1/2C butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This was definitely better the next day. I boiled a whole chicken and used the meat from it, instead of using chicken breasts. More work, but definitely added great flavor. Will definitely make again! :) Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      Sorry,but this is not what I call chicken and noodles. All the carrot,celery,onions just didn't seem to add any flavor (and I used chicken broth instead of water).<br/>I think just following the instructions on the Rheames noodle package makes a better dish. I think this is far too watery and has very little flavor. Maybe Bob Evans doesn't give out the correct ingredients, but I am sticking to my own "home recipe" from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      This is absolutely delicious! I love the Bob Evan's chicken and noodles, and this is just as good as any I have ever had there. It's especially nice for me since there are no Bob Evan's restaurants in my area, and now I can get my chicken and noodles fix right here at home! Real comfort food; just perfect for chilly weather. It was easy to prepare, too. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn"t change a thing. My husband loved it too, and he is not a big soup fan. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      We really loved this. I did make a few modifications, just based on how my Mom makes chicken and noodles. I added 2 cans of cream of chicken soup thinned with a little milk, some parsley, poultry seasoning, black pepper and garlic powder. I used a bag and a half of noodles. It was awesome!!! My 10 year old niece ate 3 whole bowls. (I don't know where she puts it...she's skinny as twig!) Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      This was as close as it gets. I added a little tumeric to get the characteristic yellow of the broth. If you have more time roll out your own noodles for a real down home meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      We love the chicken and noodles, it is so good in the deep dish meal which is over a biscuit and mashed potatoes. I will later when I have made it, I am sure it will be a 5 star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

    • on November 18, 2010

      This was the best chicken noodle soup and it tastes just like the real thing. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Thought this was pretty good. I cooked it in the crock pot and cut the recipe in half. Since there weren't any herbs I decided to throw in a bay leaf or two and some other herbs that are common in chicken noodle soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

    • on August 29, 2009

      I made this for my kids and it was a big hit. My 4 year old likes broth, and of course this doesn't make much, but she didn't rally complain all that much. Our 1 year old enjoyed it, too. I ended up using Amish Farmer noodles, which were great. I think I may try adding up to a cup of half and half next time to make it even yummier. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I liked this recipe so much, I had to become a member just to rate it. I cut the raw chicken in cubes and browned it in the pan first with some of the butter and the onions, then added the other ingredients and cooked as directed. After cooking, I removed from heat and added about 3/4 cup of cream. I was tempted to use less water because I like a thick broth, but found the noodles needed the extra water to soften properlyl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Really good flavor; I used the water I cooked the chicken in, added 1 can chicken broth and chicken bouillon as per recipe. Loved the crock pot idea as posted by Sarah and Little Ones, but failed to note she added noodles 45 min before serving...I added mine in AM before I headed out to work...DON'T DO THIS!!! Noodles get toooo soggy! Next time I will do the crock pot, but add noodles when I get home. 45min to 1hr is just about how much time I need to unwind and get organized to eat anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      This has become a fave in our house! My little ones ask for it often. The only difference is that I cook mine in my crock pot. I use chicken that I have poatched and tken off the bone and add it to everything else then bout 45 mins to an hour before dinner I drop in the noodles ( I use a bg and half) and we are ready for a hot and yummy dinner served with a tossed salad and dinner rolls. Can't wait to have this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I can't believe i forgot to rate this months ago! I was pregnant and having major cravings and here was my favorite chicken & noodles! Thanks so much for posting i enjoyed it then (so did my little girl) and i'm sure will enjoy it again tonight since i HAVE to!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      A great way to use up leftover chicken or turkey! I made this last night with the remains of our Thanksgiving bird. Used about 6 1/2 cups of water total, and per some other reviews made a roux of butter (only 1/4 cup) and Wondra flour before adding the poultry, veggies and seasonings. I did add about 1 1/2 tsp of onion powder since I had no onions on hand and about 1/2 tsp of ground sage. My soup base was a refrigerated variety. After a half hour of simmering I put in the noodles and probably cooked another 20 minutes, rather than 10, to get a noodle consistency we liked. With this amount of water, and the roux, plus another shake of Wondra flour part way through, this thickened nicely. Note that I didn't add any salt since the soup base was salty and I used salted butter. We've got some yummy leftovers to enjoy now. Made this for Stacky's memorial cook-a-thon. Rest in peace angel kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Very good and easy to make, my wife ask me when I'm going to make your Chicken Noodle soup. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      This had a great comfort food flavor. I found the recipe to be a bit too watery, so the 2nd time I made it I reduced the recipe to 8 cups of water. I also melted the butter in the bottom of the pan and added 4T of flour to create a rue. I added the other ingredients after the thin paste formed. I also found I needed to cook the noodles 20-30 minutes instead of 10 minutes as the recipe calls. Family favorite, I make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bob Evans Chicken & Noodles (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (446 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 640.0
     
    Calories from Fat 262
    41%
    Total Fat 29.1 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 189.1 mg
    63%
    Sodium 516.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 35.0 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes