Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Kerrie - South African Cape Malay Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Kerrie - South African Cape Malay Curry

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2008

      The spice mix and the taste is absolutely spot-on!! Anyone who makes this, who is not acquainted with this cuisine, will not be disappointed!! I cut the recipe in half because we are only two people, but I kept religiously to the ratio of ingredients. It's still a lot of main dish, and believe me, whatever is left tonight, will be saved! My only reservations are these: I would double the ground coriander and cumin. Also, this is a typical Malay spicy meat stew, and not a curry as most people understand it: if you want a curry bite, add hot chopped pepper or dried pepper flakes. Curry in a recipe can be deceptive: I used the same Cape Malay Curry Powder as FT did, and mine seems very mild. Here I keep in mind that there are hundreds of individual versions of Malay curries: it all depends on the cook. The one aspect all these Cape Malay/Muslim curries have in common is that they are usually mild -- not to be compared with the Indian curries of Durban and surrounds! This recipe makes a LOT of food and delicious sauce, and can be recommended as an economical recipe in times when red meats are expensive. Make a lot of yellow rice (The real recipe with sugar in it!). The sambals can be sliced bananas, a bowl of chutney and a bowl of dessicated coconut. We found that this dish was so flavourful and spicy that it needed no more than brown rice. (We had a large mixed salad as a starter).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      OMW I made this last night because I had some Woolies Cape Malay curry spice to use up. It was utterly delicious. I have made Cape Malay curry before, but this is hands down the best. I think it's the addition of the banana and apricot jam.<br/>The only changes I made were:<br/>- I used soaked raisins, not apricots because DH doesn't like them, but the plump and juicy taste of the raisins added a delicious element.<br/>- I let the lamb simmer for 3 hours because I could only find pieces with some bone and 1.5 hours is not enough for the lamb to fall off the bone.<br/>- I used 2 tbsp of the curry powder because I wanted to use it up. Will do the same thing next time.<br/>- I only used 2 onions because 4 just seemed like way too much.<br/>- I added potatoes at the beginning with the carrots.<br/>- I added frozen green beans and mangetout right at the end, but I think you could add most vegetables into this if you want to boost your intake a bit. <br/>- I did wind up adding a touch of chili flakes, but probably would have been fine without it. I like a touch of extra kick, though.<br/><br/>All in all, I will make this again, and I hope Woolies never gets rid of their Cape Malay spice powder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Leggy Peggy gave me some of your Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder (Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder - South African Spice Mixture) so that meant I had to make the curry - and was it good! I too wondered if it was going to be too sweet and I DIDN'T forget the jam and yogurt. But it turned out perfectly and even DH didn't complain about 'yet another curry':) Many thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Absolutely love this curry -- made using your Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder (Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder - South African Spice Mixture). As another reviewer suggested, I doubled the amount of cumin and coriander, but followed the rest -- except that I totally forgot to add the jam and yogurt at the end. Served a raita on the side so the absence of yogurt was not obvious. I worried that the end result might be too sweet or too fruity, but it was perfect, truly perfect. The bananas disappeared into the sauce, as did the apricots, which I had cut in half. Will make this often as part of my curry banquets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This curry had wonderful aroma. Although not really to all our tastes,one of my daughter and son loved it, the other daughter couldn't eat it. I found it a sweet I used regular banana. My South African friend says that when they serve a spicy curry (which this is not ) they usually have bananas on the table that they can cut into the curry to take some of the bite out of it, but they don't cook it in with the curry. I don't know if by banana you meant plantan. Anyway it was finish by the other two the next day so all is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      A fabulous curry, fruity and delicious. I made home made cape malay curry powder instead of buying some and also substituted sweet potatoes for carrots. Cooked the whole thing in the crockpot as it ended up 2 am last night. The only think i might do next time is leave out the jam since it was already very fruity and didn't need the extra sweetness, it depends on the quality of your dried apricots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      this was a lovely mild curry that i made for wzt4. i followed the recipe but added some extra yogurt at the end, didn't want to be left with 3 spoonfuls. while one of my dd's loved this and took seconds the other just played with it. no accounting for tastes. i did serve this with couscous instead of rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      What in the world would there ever be not to love this dish? Lamb, stewed within this sauce shows no boundaries here. I made my curry as suggested by you, FT, Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder - South African Spice Mixture and this little dish stewed all afternoon. The aroma wafted right through the windows, down the hill to the orchard and then up by the barn. I felt like I was just in another country, not just living in the "country" this brought tastes and smoothness all at the same time, although we took Zurie's advice as well and added some special chili pepper that were dried. l substituted raisins for the apricots. I quartered the recipe easily, and this was so great, we can hardly wait till tomorrow for our second helpings. Thank you, FT! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      FT, you've done it again. I have yet to try anything of yours that isn't 5 star. This was a vacation on a plate, and lucky me, I have some left for later. Hooray! I made your Cape Malay Curry Powder recipe, and I highly recommend taking the extra few minutes to put together the homemade spice mixture. It really blends beautifully with the fruit and lamb. I made one small substitution. the bananas didn't look so great at the market, but I had a few plantains on hand, so I used those. They stayed very firm in the stew, which I like. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Kerrie - South African Cape Malay Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.5
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    44%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 167.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 36.3 g
    145%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mutton shoulder

    fresh gingerroot

    cloves

    wine vinegar

    meat stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites