10 Reviews

Sensational spice mixture. I made half a batch to use in your Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Kerrie (Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Kerrie - South African Cape Malay Curry). Having enjoyed such curries in South Africa, I can vouch for the authenticity of this recipe. Absolutely perfect -- and what a wonderful smell in the kitchen. Thanks so much for sharing your creative efforts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy September 21, 2010

What a wonderful mixture of spices. I followed the recipe exactly and used my new spice grinder which made the job even easier. Nothing beats the aroma and flavour of newly ground spices. Thanks so much for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook January 19, 2010

Excellent curry powder! I use quite a lot of curry powder and this recipe stands shoulder to shoulder with every one. Makes a nice batch as well, which should last some time. I made this to use in Alskann's (Curried Okra) for ZWT4 team Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles with some piri piri peppers I got at an African market to use for the dried hot red chiles. The only suggestion I can offer is after reading the reviews of others who subbed bay leaf for curry leaf. In my opinion, it is not a good swap as they taste nothing alike. I would suggest if you are out to just add a little more curry powder. If you do come across some curry leaves (perhaps in an ethnic market) be sure to freeze them being careful not to crush them in the freezer as they do keep very well. Thanks for posting! ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau July 01, 2008

Made this ALMOST according to the ingredient list & directions, but I did cut back the 'dried red chilies' to 2! Think I enjoyed this as much because the curry leaves were so hard to find, as anything else! Thanks for the great recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring Africa in Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 28, 2008

Extremely easy to make, and perfect with ft's cape malay curry. Delicious, fun and goes great with chicken curries as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 26, 2008

I just loved the aroma that filled my kitchen while preparing this curry mixture. I prepared this to use in South African Curried Eggs which I plan to make tomorrow. I'll add an update when the eggs have been made. Made for ZWT4. Edited to add: On my way home from work tonight I stopped at a Sikh grocery and was thrilled to find curry leaves which I added to the mixture (previously omitted since I hadn't been able to find any). I then used the curry to make South African Curried Eggs with delicious results. This mixture is so much better than store bought. Thanks for posting, FT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 24, 2008

I loved the smells coming out of my kitchen today! I too used bay leaves in place of curry leaves. I am looking forward to many uses for this delightful mix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 23, 2008

I also made this to go with the Cape Malay Kerrie. It's really lovely, and most of the spices are very easy to find. I couldn't get curry leaves, so I used a couple of bay leaves. Turned out great, and made a lot of curry powder. But I love all things curry, so I'm sure I can use it all up. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie June 20, 2008

Made this to be used with Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Kerrie - South African Cape Malay Curry and this went perfectly. I had almost everything right in the cupboard and was happy to put this together. The aroma after adding this to the lamb was absolutely outstanding. When I ground mine, mine didn't grind as finely, but no matter, as it was interesting to look at, in presentation, and taste! Thank you FT! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 20, 2008

This filled the kitchen with great aroma during the roasting and grinding process. Nice flavor, with a little bite from the peppercorns and chilies. I cut recipe in half-IT MAKES A LOT! Looking forward to using it in cooking. Going to try it as a rub on a pork tenderloin. Will report back later! UPDATE: Used this as a rub on a pork tenderloin grilled on the rotisserie. What a great flavor it gave the meat! Needed nothing else!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here June 01, 2008
Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder - South African Spice Mixture