11 Reviews

I would give this 20 stars if I could! What a beautiful and totally delicious jam. I followed the recipe quantities but used peaches I froze last summer, also frozen strawberries, and fresh ripe bananas (ripe but not brown). I partially thawed the frozen fruit, then pureed in a food processor, added the banana and then transferred the cold puree to the cooking pot and added the pectin. Brought the mixture to boiling, stirred in the sugar, then boiled (full rolling boil) for 2 minutes before filling jars. The flavor and color are amazing. It tastes very peachy and the banana provides a creaminess but not so much flavor. I love this recipe and will make another batch or two for Christmas gifts! Thanks so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soygal November 18, 2013

The texture is great, tastes wonderful with peanut butter! It kind of reminds me of the way banana baby food tastes. I replace the cherries with strawberries! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! September 27, 2009

what a wonderful jam. It goes fast and I am on my third batch, once people taste it they want a jar to take home. Peanut butter sandwiches is making a come back at my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia #3 September 25, 2009

Made two batches of this and I can see it becoming a fast favorite! Wonderful unique flavor. Using bananas in jam is new to me but wish I had done it sooner! It set wonderfully firm. Thanks for a uniqe dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic August 17, 2009

Very nice jam. You can taste the Peach AND the banana with neither overpowering the other. Sets up well and is a lovely color. Thanks for posting :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetB-KY August 08, 2009

Very good!! Set up beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* July 20, 2009

WOW!! Will be making some more of this soon. It is sooooo good. I'm thinking it would be great Christmas gifts. A taste of the tropics in the middle of winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlhuston August 06, 2008

LOVE this recipe with a minor change. I don't particularly care for cherries, so I decided to use strawberries to give the jam its "blush" and I absolutely loved it! I have also found that it makes a difference what peaches you use as well. Ones from the store aren't nearly as flavorful as ones from a roadside stand, namely Georgia peaches. Yum-O! As another reviewer said, it does have the most beautiful color that I've ever seen in a jam! Thank you so much for this recipe. It will be one I look forward to making every year during peach season! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise =) July 04, 2008

MMMMMM tasty. I would call this Banana Jam as that is the predominant flavor. You would never guess there were peaches in it, although they do make it an absolutely lovely color and give it some texture. My Husband thinks this is just the thing for a PBJ sandwich. If I was going to give this as a gift I would remove the little black banana seeds during preparation as they were kind of suspicious looking little black specks in the finished product.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don't Call Me Martha September 30, 2005

My oh my oh my... this is so yummy! I see using it warmed over ice cream and pound cake! My peaches were very juicy so I had to drain the juice off of them. Very easy and quick to put together. Thanks for bringing this recipe to our attention and for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy in Fla July 18, 2005
Blushing Peach Banana Jam