22 Reviews

I added more than 1 cup of blueberries which was yummy but DH and I think they needed more sugar. Beating the egg whites was too much work for me - for some reason I did it by hand - so I might try another recipe next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riario September 21, 2007

Best waffle recipe I've tried. I have a nonstick iron and these cooked nice and fluffy and didn't stick at all. I don't like to use cooking spray. I did add more than a cup of blueberries and about 2 tsp lemon juice and a tsp of lemon rind. Perfect recipe we will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meghan.mickle June 12, 2016

yes laurie as others have said lite and fluffy added a little vanilla and sprayed as i too have nonremovable grids

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainecripe_12920427 December 04, 2015

This is a great recipe. I see a lot of people say it needs more sugar...I think eaten by itself that is a true statement but I added some local honey on top and it was perfect!! My kids gobbled this up and they are picky Breakfast eaters..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jannice Lockley July 08, 2015

Best Waffle recipe! Super fluffy and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cassiewan July 04, 2015

I made these according recipe only doubling the sugar. This was the first recipe I've tried that required separating and beating the whites of eggs. I bemoaned that at first. I had tongue cancer and have problems chewing and swallowing food due to the radiation treatments. These waffles were so light and fluffy, the outside so crisp (but absorbs syrup like a pro) that I had no problems eating them. Best texture. Thanks for this recipe, it will go far in helping me to maintain, and maybe gain weight. I used HUGE fresh berries, and they did pop. And it was great, like little pockets of blueberry jam. 5 Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daymon June 28, 2015

These were super yummy! I doubled the sugar. I never got my egg whites 'stiff' only frothy, (next time I'll bust out the mixer) but still added them at end. I used bread flour because that's what I had. I made a strawberry waffle recipe off here at the same time and these were the winner between the two. Biggest issue was how the blueberries stuck to my non-stick belgian waffle maker whose plates don't come off. Still working on getting it clean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mercy M. March 10, 2014

I added vanilla

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonyasallis January 25, 2014

As other posters have mentioned I added a little vanilla extract also. These were delicious and I will be making these many more times! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*luci* July 28, 2013

Seriously, the best waffle recipe I have ever made. I used jumbo blueberries and I think smaller ones would have been better because the large ones tended to burst.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silverplatejen April 21, 2013
Blueberry Waffles