10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to admit that this recipe had some scary moments for me, the challenged baker! Do not doubt -- This recipe proves itself in the result. Fantastic! Thanks, PaulaG! Make for ZWT9, tea, Gourmet Goddesses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees September 07, 2013

Berrylicious! Thought this sounded good and then I saw Maryland Jim's photo and was sold on having to try. The blueberries are complemented nicely by the ginger and molasses. I thought I had more molasses than I did so ended up using only about 1/3 of a cup or a smidgen more but not the full half cup. Issue two was I grew up making upside down cakes in cast iron pans and I had a 6" and 10" fearing boil over ended up using the 10" which reduced my baking time to 35 minutes. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 04, 2013

We really liked this cake. Easy to make. Even my oldest son, who normally doesn't like cake, enjoyed it. Made for ZWT9 and "The Apron String Travelers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim August 02, 2013

This is not a bland white cake! The flavor is incredibly complex and very good. One roommate thought there was a wee bit too much ginger, the other thought it tasted like pumpkin pie (but admitted that was the spices used - they will make anything taste like pumpkin pie!). I thought it tasted like a very moist gingerbread with a yummy blueberry topping (with the occasional lemon zing). I love the part where you let it fall out of the pan. I was skeptical, but it worked like a charm! :) Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout June 27, 2008

Very, berry nice!!! I did my cake in a bundt ring and was a bit scared that I may have really messed up but it came out lovely. I had to scoop the berry topping out in to the baking pan (in no way would it pour) and it turned very "jam" like after baking. The cake flavor itself was a nice delicate spice...the berries were most definitely the star and the finished product was a delight. Made for ZWT3 - Thanks again PaulaG for another great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free June 19, 2007

It was very good. I love the blueberrys but thought the molasses flavor was a little overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christina-davis November 14, 2006

Excellent. Wonderful. My kids ate fruit, lalalalaaaa....Nice & easy. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo September 22, 2005

Yum. This was great. The hint of lemon was perfect. I smothered this in whipped cream. Made this for Zaar World Tour 05

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis September 13, 2005

I shared this cake with several people and everyone rated it.Was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie September 13, 2005

i did serve this with whipped cream and a spinkle of fresh berries, garnished with fresh mint. the bluberries almost turn to a jam like texture, and the cake has some spices that compliment the topping well. this turned out beautifully onto the plate following your explicit directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia July 24, 2004
Blueberry Upside Down Cake