36 Reviews

I love these muffins. I made a batch Sunday morning and have frozen the rest. I reheated one this morning and they tasted just like they were fresh out of the oven. I agree with dahlia in filling the muffin cups quite full. My muffins came out very big and "bakery" style. I am going to throw out my other blueberry muffin recipe because I like this one a lot better.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AudreyBG March 24, 2003

We loved these muffins! I used the white flour, and they were very light and tender. The relatively low amount of sugar was just right for us with the streusel on top. The blueberries I used were big and tasted very tart - YUM. Some might prefer to add a little more sugar in the batter if a sweeter muffin is desired.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan September 23, 2002

I just took a batch of these out of the oven and they are fabulous! I used soy milk and frozen blueberries because I was out of cow's milk & didn't have any fresh berries on hand. I would recommend filling the muffin cups quite full (even if you only get 9-10 muffins out of the batter) because they look nice, big and puffy with the streusel topping (like bakery muffins). Thanks for the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dahlia November 01, 2002

This muffin was very easy to make. My daughter said it was yummy and she doesn't like most blueberry muffins.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MandyJ September 23, 2002

These are great blueberry muffins and very quick to mix up. I like that it uses only one bowl to mix everything! I took other reviewers advice and used more than 1/3 cup sugar, maybe about 1/2 cup and it still could be a little sweeter, so next time I'll try 2/3 cup sugar. I also used about 1/3 cup vegetable oil. I found that foil muffin liners worked best because the muffins outer edge stuck to the paper liners but not the foil ones. These baked up quickly, it took about 17 minutes. Thank you for posting, I will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia July 14, 2009

These muffins were delicious, my family loved them. I did add a little more sugar (about 1/4 cup extra) and used canola oil instead because that is what I had on hand. I am also throwing out my other muffin recipe because these are great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanette62 June 27, 2003

Very good ! Got rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammilammi November 26, 2013

I sure wish I had read the reviews ahead of time so I could have doubled the sugar. The muffins rose beautifully, however, and had just the right amount of blueberries. The streusel topping was a bit strange, though, so I would probably omit the flour from it next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC September 22, 2013

I thought the texture of this muffin was a little off. We were able to eat them, and they tasted sort of okay, but it was a unanimous vote to not make them again. We didn't even love the topping, it was too flour-y. We will continue to look for other recipes to try to find just the right one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy May 05, 2011

My hubby and I enjoyed these muffins but I can't give it 5 stars because I think bakery muffins are just a little better. I chose this recipe because it didn't have that much fat in it, but more fat (like butter) would have made them really shine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cthebird June 07, 2010
Blueberry Streusel Muffins