85 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the first blueberry pie I have ever made and it turned out perfect! I followed the recipe pretty much as written, with the exception of using almonds in the topping because I didn't have any pecans. Got rave reviews to the dinner party I brought it to. The one thing I would say is the recipe doesn't tell you is what the pie will look like when it is done. So I used frozen blueberries and cooked for an extra 10 minutes as suggested by others. When I took the pie out, the topping was lightly golden and the center moved ever so slightly when you moved the pie plate. The pie firms up once it cools.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LastFrontier February 08, 2015

I've made this pie many times and everyone who's tried it really enjoyed it. I do change it up a bit by adding cinnamon to the filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 August 21, 2014

Easy, delicious and disappears in a wink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigfoodie August 08, 2014

I like this better than the traditional blueberry pie. I used partially thawed blueberries . I wasn't sure what it was like when the pie is "done". The pie's center was watery so I baked them 20 minutes longer. I used Macadamia nut instead as that's all I have. The crumbles taste yummy and crunchy. Will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayarich January 04, 2014

Delicious pie..my family really enjoyed it!! I did use frozen blueberries and baked it for 35 mins. Will definitely be making this one again & again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolannanstey November 18, 2013

This pie is fabulous!! Nice change of all fruit pies. It is a perfect mix of fruit and custard type filling. A hint flavor of blueberry cheesecake. Great crunchy topping adds another layer of complexity.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yacookindog August 15, 2013

This pie was so delicious! The contrast in texture with the creamy inside and the crunchy topping definitely separate this blueberry creation from most others. It tastes great, both with fresh and frozen blueberries and was the perfect pie for a summer afternoon. For future bakers, don't panic if the blueberry filling seems a bit watery and thin when pouring it in. It sets up beautifully in the refrigerator.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nature_Inspired July 10, 2013

Truly an EXCELLENT recipe! Whole fan-damily loved it. No doubt I'll be making this again and again and again. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleJo June 27, 2013

Superb!!! Due to nut allergy, we did not use any. I used a shortbread crust. My blueberries were frozen so we let it cook 10 extra minutes after I put the topping on, so the topping was just perfectly crispy. The texture was great, and if you let it sit for 6 hours the flavor is even better!<br/>UPDATE: this is a family favorite! Try using 1/2 tsp or more of vanilla extract with the vanilla! Makes it even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz May 21, 2013

This is the best pie I ever tasted! I cut back on the sugar by 1/3, because I had nice ripe blueberries. I've made this twice, the filling is rich, not heavy and really brings out the blueberry flavor. The topping is slightly crunchy and a great foil to the filling. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryevale March 25, 2013
Blueberry Sour Cream Pie