28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the best blueberry cake I have ever had! It was moist and delicious! I made a few changes as others had suggested. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white. I also used only 1 1/2 cups of frozen blueberries and added some cinnamon to the crumb mixture for the topping. Definitely a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CurlieGirlie February 23, 2010

This is a great cake. The batter looked small in volume for a 9x13 cake and rose to just barely over an inch (perfect for snacking). I would bake in a brownie pan next time for a higher cake. The flavour was sweet but not overly so. I made the following modifications based on my experience, as well as the other reviewer comments: used 1 cup white sugar + 1/2 cup loose brown sugar, 1% milk, unsalted butter, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup frozen blueberries. I used my mini chopper to cut in the butter (in 2 equal batches) which sped up the preparation time. This is a dangerous recipe for midnight snacking---there might not be any left to eat with your breakfast coffee!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ling135 October 31, 2008

Excellent recipe. Like others I did 1/2 cup brown sugar, added vanilla to the batter & cinnamon to the crumble topping. Family loved it will defintey make again, again, again.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya #3 June 09, 2013

YUMMY! YUMMY! YUMMY! This cake is great. I used a bag of frozen berries which is 1-1/2 cups. That was plenty. When I make again, I might use a little cinnamon or a little lemon zest. I made this for a potluck and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talldoc February 28, 2012

What's not to love about this wonderful snack cake. I made the cake with fresh Vermont blueberries and boy did they stand out in this cake. I love this recipe because it's not too sweet and there isn't anything competing with the blueberries. We were supposed to eat the cake for dessert but my hubby couldn't wait. He plowed into it right out of the oven. This cake is delicious hot!! Hopefully we'll get the chance to taste it at room temp, but I'm not holding my breath.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope August 27, 2011

I made this exactly according to your directions, but next time will follow some of the reviews and add vanilla and use some brown sugar and less blueberries. The 2 cups were really heavy on the batter and I had to cook it for about 15 minutes more the recommended. My husband said "This is awesome". Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrikingEyes00 February 03, 2009

This was great. I used brown sugar instead of white, added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. My son and husband ate half of it the first night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jake's Mommy July 06, 2008

So good!! Almost muffin like. I will put it in muffin tins next time. Great taste and texture. I used fresh blueberries and about 1/2 cup of topping instead of 3/4. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabby Bartley July 06, 2008

Delicious and easy! I used fresh blueberries and it was the perfect summer dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EastCoastVeg June 30, 2008
Blueberry Snack Cake