30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were light and fluffy, but not very tasty .. I also thought they needed more sugar .. I don't think I will make them again ..

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa April 10, 2002

Light and tasty, but I felt they lacked flavor the first time I made them. Second time I upped the lemon zest, and a bit more sugar, not much though. For appearance I added some striped glaze to mine. That can be done simply by mixing milk or orange juice with confectioner's sugar to get a good consistency. This adds alot to the initial presentation of the scones. Finally I made 12 scones with this recipe, instead of 8; they feel more correctly sized that way, previously they were too big. Cheers!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Swifticus December 04, 2010

WONDERFUL!!! We all LOVED these. Mine looked nice and golden brown and so pretty...better than that photo...next time I'll take pics...I left out the zest because I didn't feel like dealing with it. Next time I'll do 2 things different. 1. I'll do the dry stuff with the butter in a food processor as I find it easier to cut in the butter this way. 2. I'll transfer the 6 inch square to the pan b4 I cut it and then cut. I found it very hard to transfer them to the baking pan. I'll cut and leave it in the square and then cut again when they come out of the oven. All in all these were so good. The whole family loved them and I'll make them again and again. Maybe I'll try different berries too and I love the idea someone had to add white chocolate chips. Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse July 11, 2010

Best scones ever! These are so moist and delicious. Will try other add-ins too - cheddar and bacon is on for tomorrow. I never liked scones till I tried this recipe - Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Milano March 13, 2009

Great recipe! Easy to make and delicious. Forgot to put the sugar and still tasted great. Also used regular milk because I did not have any cream. DEFINITELY TO BE REPEATED. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycuteboys February 21, 2009

Great recipe! I used half-and-half and splashed on a little lemon glaze.
Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon Ann 100 August 27, 2012

Made your recipe using all your suggested ingredients, plus a teaspoon of chia seeds (my attempt to make white flour healthy). Placed the dough in a pie plate and patted it down with floured hands, brushed with cream and sprinkled with sugar and cut them into 8 servings and baked for about 25 minutes. Scones are a biscuit with fruit or other ingredients added. They are not supposed to be sweet as they are bread. I know we see them at all the coffee shops with tons of sugar and frosting on top but those are more like dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulu8 July 28, 2012

Overall, good recipe. Straightforward and easy to fix. I liked the taste, but my family, inexplicably, was only lukewarm. The average rating from the family was 3.33 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JGB18 June 04, 2012

Spot on reproduction. Pretty much perfect. Might try buttermilk next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tRANICAL House Husband February 15, 2011

The scones were good but I'm not sure they were worth the mess. Even though I followed the recipe exactly I had to knead in between 1/4 - 1/2 cup more flour before it quit sticking the the board and my hands. However, this recipe would probably work best with drier fruit and I do intend to try it again with apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid August 30, 2010
Blueberry Scones