Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Scones

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2002

      These were light and fluffy, but not very tasty .. I also thought they needed more sugar .. I don't think I will make them again ..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      Light and tasty, but I felt they lacked flavor the first time I made them. Second time I upped the lemon zest, and a bit more sugar, not much though. For appearance I added some striped glaze to mine. That can be done simply by mixing milk or orange juice with confectioner's sugar to get a good consistency. This adds alot to the initial presentation of the scones. Finally I made 12 scones with this recipe, instead of 8; they feel more correctly sized that way, previously they were too big. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      WONDERFUL!!! We all LOVED these. Mine looked nice and golden brown and so pretty...better than that photo...next time I'll take pics...I left out the zest because I didn't feel like dealing with it. Next time I'll do 2 things different. 1. I'll do the dry stuff with the butter in a food processor as I find it easier to cut in the butter this way. 2. I'll transfer the 6 inch square to the pan b4 I cut it and then cut. I found it very hard to transfer them to the baking pan. I'll cut and leave it in the square and then cut again when they come out of the oven. All in all these were so good. The whole family loved them and I'll make them again and again. Maybe I'll try different berries too and I love the idea someone had to add white chocolate chips. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Best scones ever! These are so moist and delicious. Will try other add-ins too - cheddar and bacon is on for tomorrow. I never liked scones till I tried this recipe - Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Great recipe! Easy to make and delicious. Forgot to put the sugar and still tasted great. Also used regular milk because I did not have any cream. DEFINITELY TO BE REPEATED. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Great recipe! I used half-and-half and splashed on a little lemon glaze.
      Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Made your recipe using all your suggested ingredients, plus a teaspoon of chia seeds (my attempt to make white flour healthy). Placed the dough in a pie plate and patted it down with floured hands, brushed with cream and sprinkled with sugar and cut them into 8 servings and baked for about 25 minutes. Scones are a biscuit with fruit or other ingredients added. They are not supposed to be sweet as they are bread. I know we see them at all the coffee shops with tons of sugar and frosting on top but those are more like dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Overall, good recipe. Straightforward and easy to fix. I liked the taste, but my family, inexplicably, was only lukewarm. The average rating from the family was 3.33 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Spot on reproduction. Pretty much perfect. Might try buttermilk next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      The scones were good but I'm not sure they were worth the mess. Even though I followed the recipe exactly I had to knead in between 1/4 - 1/2 cup more flour before it quit sticking the the board and my hands. However, this recipe would probably work best with drier fruit and I do intend to try it again with apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Birthday scones for husband/dada this morning. The whole family loved them! The combination of zest, salt, and sweetness was perfect. They were super moist. I am eager to see how they are tomorrow. Excellent recipe. I will definitely make these again! They are very tasty. The reviews that say otherwise are most likely unfamiliar with scones in general. If one is looking for the sweetness of a muffin, there are fabulous recipes for those. If you know not to expect too much sugar in a scone, I believe you will enjoy this recipe! Thanks, Mimi for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I've never made scones before, so I didn't really know what to expect. I actually didn't include any lemon, but added white chocolate chips for some sweetness. They turned out REALLY good. I will definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      We love blueberry scones and these were awesome! Moist and just sweet enough without being too sweet. I made these with fresh berries and drizzled a little sugar glaze over the top before serving. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      I really liked this recipe and it was so easy. I added a bit more lemon and even a tiny bit of lemon juice. I also put extra raw sugar and top because I have a horrible sweet tooth. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Awesome and so easy!!! I must confess I didn't make blueberry but I will next time, I didn't have a lemon. So I made cranberry orange. I used up the dried cranberries in the pantry I didn't have exactly 1.5 cups so I did 1/4 cup raisins and 1/4 cup tropical fruit and 1 cup cranberries, I did the zest of an orange and I put in half of the orange cut into small pieces with all the skin off. They just came out and taste awesome! I did use 1 Tbs extra sugar in them to make sure sweet enough for my taste! More sugar wouldn't hurt but tasted perfect. Thank you for a recipe that looked simple so I wasn't scared to try them! It was my first time w/ scones. I do not own one of those special mats I used my Airbake cookie sheet, half I sprayed w/ Pam and left the other half dry they came off just fine on both sides. We will be making again and I know my husband will be excited he has always hoped I would get into making scones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This was my first attempt at making scones and thanks to the wonderful recipe, it was a complete success! I used dried blueberries and used the juice from the lemon and powdered sugar to make a glaze for the scones. They were wonderful! Can't wait to try this recipe again when blueberries on in season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      OMG! These are DELICIOUS! 5 stars for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Very good! Of course I didn't have a lemon to zest or heavy cream, but I subbed some lemon juice and coffee creamer. They are easy and tasty. I also cheated by just dropping them onto the silpat in spoonfuls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      These were very good, especially for my first stab at scones. My one complaint was that the dough was incredibly sticky. I added some more flour and it worked out okay, although it was still very difficult to shape.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      These were good but there were almost too many blueberries in a rather flavorless pastry. Sorry, they were OK but we didn't love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.2
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    45%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 82.9 mg
    27%
    Sodium 377.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites