13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very simple and tasty recipe! I, too, used about half of the flour/sugar mixture, and it made a great topping for the blueberry waffles I made for my dad on father's day. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chococandi X3 June 23, 2010

Easy to whip up while the rest of breakfast items are cooking.<br/>I halved the sugar.<br/>added more water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe July 13, 2014

I prefer food items which are not extremely sweet. Following the suggestions from the other reviews, I also, cut the sugar and flour in 1/2. It is excellent and easy. I am going to try to add a dollop to my smoothie in the morning...I am sure it will be excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Bread Lady of Wisconsin January 30, 2011

A wonderful sauce that really MADE our waffles. I did add about 1/3 cup of hot water to the finished sauce, which made it velvety smooth. Thanks Bert for posting! UPDATE: I add the sugar/flour to the cold water first so I don't get white lumps. Also, I decrease the sugar/flour by about half. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado June 08, 2008

I needed some berries to go with a pound cake, and I adapted this recipe. I ended up using frozen mixed berries, because that's all I had on hand, but the substitution worked perfectly. This makes a nice, thick sauce. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonpoodle January 25, 2008

This was really good on V's Favorite Cheesecake Bar. I did add alittle more water as others said in their reviews. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. November 23, 2007

Very good sauce. I used it with crepes and it turned out wonderful! Will use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened July 13, 2007

My hubby wanted some blueberry sauce on his ice cream and I knew Zaar wouldn't disappoint! I really liked how quickly this recipe came together. It was a bit too thick and "floury" so I added some water at the end. I think cutting back on the flour or using more water would be an improvement. I used fresh blueberries and it worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) July 07, 2007

Yum!!! Served it over pancakes. Can't wait to try it in a pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada November 15, 2006

I sure wish I could give this more then *****. I made this last night to bring to work today. I served it over #98415 amd it was amazing. It was a little thick, so I added more water. Today I warmed it in my crock pot and served it warm over the pancakes. The women were actually moaning. Serveral said that I shouls sell this. I should also say that I picked my own blueberries last weekend. I will use this many times to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right July 19, 2006
Blueberry Sauce