168 Reviews

BEST blueberry pie ever!! I used fresh blueberries and my own butter crust recipe and froze it for a special occasion. It turned out beautifully! I cooked it from frozen on the second lowest rack for 20 mins at 425 and then for 60 mins at 375 until bubbling. I also used foil on crust to avoid burning. It turned out spectacular and the filling is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer B. July 27, 2015

Super easy to make this a gluten-free recipe and it was fantastic. My gluten-free'ers were so happy! I made the recipe as written except used a Wholly Wholesome gluten-free, organic pie crust via Kroger, and replaced wheat flour with Cup4Cup gluten-free flour (available multiple places including William Sonoma or Amazon). Fantastic recipe & will definitely be making again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dallasparent July 06, 2015

I made this recipe exactly as it is listed and it was fabulous! I had blueberries that were just a few days old, but this made them burst with flavor. The pie was gone in one night. Not too sweet and just a hint of cinnamon. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet D. June 22, 2015

This is a wonderful recipe for big juicy fresh berries. There is no cornstarch, so no slippery feeling to the filling -- Just wonderful blueberry flavor, tastes like summertime. Unsaved all other blueberry pie recipes. This is the best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bhrenkund June 21, 2015

I just won a pie contest with this recipe! (And it was the first pie I had ever attempted baking too!) the consistency was perfect and tasted amazing. Went great with vanilla crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica S. June 18, 2015

I am an amateur cook, so I might have made a basic mistake, but there was not enough liquid in this recipe to dissolve the sugar/flour. I baked the pie according to the instructions, and the flavor was great, but there were giant clumps of semi-melted granulated sugar in several places. When I put the fruit into the pie shell before baking, it was pretty much dry sugar/flour. I suppose the juice from the blueberries was supposed to saturate the dry ingredients, but it did not work. No one else had this happen?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsvvgcva June 09, 2015

My whole family said this was the best blueberry pie they had ever eaten, they love the way the blueberries keep their shape and their true flavor! I made two this week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mombird6 April 06, 2015

I've never been a huge pie person but this recipe was so easy and delicious! I love the hint of cinnamon in the filling. This is one for my "Favorites" folder. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen R. August 09, 2014

This was the first time I made a Blueberry pie. I made it for my dad for Father's Day (since it is his favorite). I used fresh blueberries and the pillsbury crust. I read the reviews before and added a Tsp of Cornstarch to the Flour Mix. I also did the egg wash on the bottom crust and top crust. After I had all the berries added to the flour mix, I did squish them a little bit so it was still almost all whole berries, but some of the squished berries mixed well to make a great filling. I saw that Alton Brown squished about half his berries first so I tried squishing some of mine. I would probably make this pie exactly the same again. My dad sent me a text message on Father's Day evening thanking me for the wonderful pie and said he had devoured a fourth of the pie before he had even realized what had happened. :-) Also, the vanilla ice cream is a must in my opinion. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifanie2003 June 16, 2014

This was my first time making (or eating) a blueberry pie. My husband had requested it, after seeing blueberry pie on TV, so I tried this recipe, and it came out great. <br/><br/>I forgot the butter, so when I checked the pie at ~30 minutes, I brushed some melted butter on the top of the lattice crust (aiming to get some blobs in the lattice holes), before popping it back in the oven. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to let it bake a little longer (about 50 minutes).<br/><br/>It was *almost* too sweet, but that is probably because I'm not used to eating a lot of sugar. The sweetness was mellowed out perfectly by the vanilla ice cream. I might use slightly less sugar next time, but other than that, this pie was perfect. My husband was 100% pleased.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorene F. June 16, 2014
Blueberry Pie