160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the first time I made a Blueberry pie. I made it for my dad for Father's Day (since it is his favorite). I used fresh blueberries and the pillsbury crust. I read the reviews before and added a Tsp of Cornstarch to the Flour Mix. I also did the egg wash on the bottom crust and top crust. After I had all the berries added to the flour mix, I did squish them a little bit so it was still almost all whole berries, but some of the squished berries mixed well to make a great filling. I saw that Alton Brown squished about half his berries first so I tried squishing some of mine. I would probably make this pie exactly the same again. My dad sent me a text message on Father's Day evening thanking me for the wonderful pie and said he had devoured a fourth of the pie before he had even realized what had happened. :-) Also, the vanilla ice cream is a must in my opinion. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifanie2003 June 16, 2014

This was my first time making (or eating) a blueberry pie. My husband had requested it, after seeing blueberry pie on TV, so I tried this recipe, and it came out great. <br/><br/>I forgot the butter, so when I checked the pie at ~30 minutes, I brushed some melted butter on the top of the lattice crust (aiming to get some blobs in the lattice holes), before popping it back in the oven. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to let it bake a little longer (about 50 minutes).<br/><br/>It was *almost* too sweet, but that is probably because I'm not used to eating a lot of sugar. The sweetness was mellowed out perfectly by the vanilla ice cream. I might use slightly less sugar next time, but other than that, this pie was perfect. My husband was 100% pleased.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorene F. June 16, 2014

didn't get a picture, it was all gone! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen E. April 08, 2014

- Margarine? That's vegetable oil on a pie. Ick.<br/>- Someone didn't think lemon juice was appropriate. The acid (of lemon) and pectin (of fruit) react with sugar and will thicken (set).<br/>- Tapioca flour is better than all-purpose. It's grain free (for you non gluten folks), is smoother in texture and binds better.<br/>- I've never understood the infatuation with (read: overuse of) cinnamon. It can compete with the blueberry flavor. Maybe a teeny hint. Nutmeg is a softer complement.<br/>- Egg yolk vs. whole egg for glazing crust.<br/>- Make your own flaky crust and make sure you have a little bit of vinegar in it. You can also swap some water with blueberry, apple or orange juice. Certain liquors can be used as well.<br/>- 35 minutes is definitely not long enough. You need the blueberry mixture to get hot enough for the pectin, etc. to set. Cook at the bottom of the oven to avoid burning the crust too early.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gregnnat March 06, 2014

This recipe was a hit! I am not a huge fan of blueberries but this pie was delicious! Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crob2510 January 05, 2014

I just realized I didn't rate this recipe yet. I had never made a blueberry pie before because I really "didn't" like it but my sons do. I've made it 3 times now and I'm a convert. This one is so easy to make that even I can do it. I did the unthinkable and used premade frozen crusts that come in their own tinfoil pans. This turned out to be a good thing. I took the advise of others and coated the bottom crust with the beaten egg and added 2 tablespoons of corn starch to the dry ingredients and berries. The cooking time I increased as well to 50 min. After 30 minutes I used the tinfoil plate to cover the pie to keep it from getting to brown instead of tinfoil around the edges. That worked so well as the crust came out nice and brown and not crumbly with the pie well cooked. For the best results let it cool then chill in the refridgerater before cutting. Awesome recipe Bev :>)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zzzdreamerzzz August 21, 2013

Thank you Bev! I'm new to pie-making and never even liked blueberry, but this was a huge hit for the dads on Father's Day. The sugary top to the pie crust and the whole, bursting-berries were raved over by all. Now I love blueberry pie, I'll have to make this all the time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieGwen June 18, 2013

Making this recipe for the second time today. First time, my mom said she didn't like blueberry pie.Now, she;s the one wanting me to make another one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PJR63 May 08, 2013

Other than adjusting the bake time to 50 minutes, this recipe is AH-mazing. This is the first time I ever made a blueberry pie, and my boyfriend loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ACLgrl February 15, 2013

This pie was fantastic. I left out the butter and lemon juice because I see no point for those ingredients in pie. 35 minutes is not long enough to cook this pie. Change time to 50 minutes and it will cook up right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theosuperstar January 21, 2013
Blueberry Pie