159 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very nice blueberry pie. I cut the recipe in half and made 5 turnovers, 1 tart, and one 5" pie. I made my own crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet August 24, 2010

The flavor and texture of the filling were very nice. I made my own crust. My only complaint is that the pie took 15 to 20 minutes longer to bake than the recipe directed. It was a lukewarm, pasty mess when the timer went off. I put it back into the oven until the filling was bubbling, and it came out beautifully. I did have to put an aluminum foil tent over the pie to keep it from browning too much. Overall, it was very tasty and my guests loved it. 4 stars because the cooking time or temperature on the recipe is off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeDe M July 26, 2010

I've made this three times now, once with thawed frozen blueberries, once with a mix of thawed frozen blueberries and strawberries, and once just with strawberries (didn't have enough so added a layer of pudding on top topped with strawberries). All were delicious! for all three, I used the lemon juice, 1/2 cup of flour, about a tablespoon of rice starch and this homemade pie crust http://www.recipezaar.com/Homemade-Pie-Crust-13619 absolutely delicious. also didn't have cinnamon but tasted great without it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heejin March 22, 2010

Great pie used frozen berries but added some corn starch to the mix. I didn't have enough blueberries so added a bag of mixed berries . I also left out the butter ( I was out ) this still turned out great . Thanks so much bev

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DAKOTAFARMGIRL February 06, 2010

I will make it again and cook the filling for just a couple minutes to dissolve the flour and sugar better. I left out the butter and since I had really sweet berries cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. This was a birthday pie for my husband. It was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovdolls August 03, 2008

Excellent. My family loves this so much I am going to have to start making two at a time. I use a 8" pie plate and I've found that reducing the blueberries to 4 cups and mashing half of them makes a thicker filling so the pie more compact and easier to work with. You may want to reduce the sugar to compensate for less berries. I also reduce butter by at least half. I use pie crust 13619 with half butter, half shortening. The crust actually takes slightly longer to make than the pie itself, but I think it's worth it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef July 29, 2008

I made this for my son's "birthday cake" and everyone loved it. Followed the recipe precisely and it was beautiful besides being good! Thanks Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dottie5 September 30, 2003

I followed this recipe to the letter. However it came out way too juicy and runny. I think I will try it again and increase the bake temp to 425 degrees and the time an extra 10 minutes. The taste was excellent though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana A July 15, 2003

I've never been a huge pie person but this recipe was so easy and delicious! I love the hint of cinnamon in the filling. This is one for my "Favorites" folder. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen R. August 09, 2014

This was the first time I made a Blueberry pie. I made it for my dad for Father's Day (since it is his favorite). I used fresh blueberries and the pillsbury crust. I read the reviews before and added a Tsp of Cornstarch to the Flour Mix. I also did the egg wash on the bottom crust and top crust. After I had all the berries added to the flour mix, I did squish them a little bit so it was still almost all whole berries, but some of the squished berries mixed well to make a great filling. I saw that Alton Brown squished about half his berries first so I tried squishing some of mine. I would probably make this pie exactly the same again. My dad sent me a text message on Father's Day evening thanking me for the wonderful pie and said he had devoured a fourth of the pie before he had even realized what had happened. :-) Also, the vanilla ice cream is a must in my opinion. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifanie2003 June 16, 2014
Blueberry Pie