Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Blueberry Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blueberry Pie

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2014

      - Margarine? That's vegetable oil on a pie. Ick.<br/>- Someone didn't think lemon juice was appropriate. The acid (of lemon) and pectin (of fruit) react with sugar and will thicken (set).<br/>- Tapioca flour is better than all-purpose. It's grain free (for you non gluten folks), is smoother in texture and binds better.<br/>- I've never understood the infatuation with (read: overuse of) cinnamon. It can compete with the blueberry flavor. Maybe a teeny hint. Nutmeg is a softer complement.<br/>- Egg yolk vs. whole egg for glazing crust.<br/>- Make your own flaky crust and make sure you have a little bit of vinegar in it. You can also swap some water with blueberry, apple or orange juice. Certain liquors can be used as well.<br/>- 35 minutes is definitely not long enough. You need the blueberry mixture to get hot enough for the pectin, etc. to set. Cook at the bottom of the oven to avoid burning the crust too early.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      This recipe was a hit! I am not a huge fan of blueberries but this pie was delicious! Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      I just realized I didn't rate this recipe yet. I had never made a blueberry pie before because I really "didn't" like it but my sons do. I've made it 3 times now and I'm a convert. This one is so easy to make that even I can do it. I did the unthinkable and used premade frozen crusts that come in their own tinfoil pans. This turned out to be a good thing. I took the advise of others and coated the bottom crust with the beaten egg and added 2 tablespoons of corn starch to the dry ingredients and berries. The cooking time I increased as well to 50 min. After 30 minutes I used the tinfoil plate to cover the pie to keep it from getting to brown instead of tinfoil around the edges. That worked so well as the crust came out nice and brown and not crumbly with the pie well cooked. For the best results let it cool then chill in the refridgerater before cutting. Awesome recipe Bev :>)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      Thank you Bev! I'm new to pie-making and never even liked blueberry, but this was a huge hit for the dads on Father's Day. The sugary top to the pie crust and the whole, bursting-berries were raved over by all. Now I love blueberry pie, I'll have to make this all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      Making this recipe for the second time today. First time, my mom said she didn't like blueberry pie.Now, she;s the one wanting me to make another one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Other than adjusting the bake time to 50 minutes, this recipe is AH-mazing. This is the first time I ever made a blueberry pie, and my boyfriend loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      This pie was fantastic. I left out the butter and lemon juice because I see no point for those ingredients in pie. 35 minutes is not long enough to cook this pie. Change time to 50 minutes and it will cook up right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This is by far the best recipe I've tried! This summer we were buried in blueberries so I had lots of pies to make and find the right combination of ingredients to make a fail-safe pie. This was it. I made a few adjustments:I used less sugar about 2/3 cup seemed plenty, and I made my own crust(one of the vinegar crusts on food.com). As mentioned before the cooking time needs adjustment, but this is a keeper. Quick add this to your recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      What a wonderful filling! I made my own homemade pie dough but followed this filling recipe. I omitted the cinnamon (my preference) but this still came out bursting with flavour. My husband and I ate half the pie in one day! Good recipe if you have an abundance of blueberries like myself. No problems with being too liquidity. If anything the filling was the perfect texture. I let it sit for 10 minutes before I sliced into it. I SHOULD have waited longer but I could not wait to try this! Not going to lie, I burnt the roof of my mouth but it was well worth it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      This was the best blueberry pie I have ever tasted! Not too crispy, not too mushy, and perfectly sweet! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Oh my! This is my new favorite pie! I am a fan of pumpkin but this blue berry pie is perfect. I served it with ice cream and wow was it a hit.
      I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      This is a wonderful recipe!! I've made it dozens of times, for over 3 yrs now, and it's ALWAYS excellent! I interchange berries (strawberries, blackberries, raspberries) too. Also substitute Splenda for sugar and no one can tell the difference, still a 'normal' sweetness. I made this pie for a 4th of July celebration and a friend wanted the recipe; glad to find that it's the first one listed under "blueberry pie"-- it deserves to be at the TOP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Simply scrumptious! I used blueberries that I had picked and frozen last year and the flavor was wonderful. I made my own pie crust to use and had to bake a bit longer than the instructions stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Wow, this pie was fabulous!!!! I made some whip topping to go with it and we were in heaven!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Perhaps large blueberries were a mistake. I followed this recipe to the T and it looked marvelous at first glance. Inside the berries were still whole, the sugar was still not dissolved and the flour was clumped everywhere. It was a grainy mess. My husband ate a couple of pieces but finally ditched it. I thought the cinnamon was overpowering but that was probably due to the berries not bursting. I am a big fan of your pie crusts though. Cheers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      This recipe rocked! It was soooo simple to make, I couldn't believe it. I made it on a whim for some good friends who came over for dinner. My guests not only loved it, they asked if they could take some home. I used my own pie crust recipe which turned out beautiful and flaky. Perfect consistency and sweetness. Definitely sharing this with my sister who also loves to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      I had never been that impressed by blueberry pie. It always seemed to be too sweet, but this recipe is perfect! I used it with Laurie's No Roll Pie Crust #51537, crumbling the crust on top. It turned out delicious! I plan on making this again with raspberries and blueberries. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      YUMMY!! This was an excellent pie recipe! I used fresh berries and a home-made crust. The crust recipe I used wasn't great, but it was easy to overlook that because of how great the filling was! Thanks for sharing. I'll definitely be using this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

    • on July 02, 2010

      I scaled this pie filling recipe down to just 1/5th to use as a hamentaschen filling. It came out perfect and delicious. Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe. At first it seemed clumpy and weird, but as the instructions stated, i stirred it well and everything dissolved and combined just fine. I didn't have to add any additional anything, and it cooked just fine at the temperature the cookies call for, 375.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blueberry Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.2
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    35%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 30.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 320.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 37.0 g
    148%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites