169 Reviews

This was a very nice blueberry pie. I cut the recipe in half and made 5 turnovers, 1 tart, and one 5" pie. I made my own crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet August 24, 2010

The flavor and texture of the filling were very nice. I made my own crust. My only complaint is that the pie took 15 to 20 minutes longer to bake than the recipe directed. It was a lukewarm, pasty mess when the timer went off. I put it back into the oven until the filling was bubbling, and it came out beautifully. I did have to put an aluminum foil tent over the pie to keep it from browning too much. Overall, it was very tasty and my guests loved it. 4 stars because the cooking time or temperature on the recipe is off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeDe M July 26, 2010

I've made this three times now, once with thawed frozen blueberries, once with a mix of thawed frozen blueberries and strawberries, and once just with strawberries (didn't have enough so added a layer of pudding on top topped with strawberries). All were delicious! for all three, I used the lemon juice, 1/2 cup of flour, about a tablespoon of rice starch and this homemade pie crust http://www.recipezaar.com/Homemade-Pie-Crust-13619 absolutely delicious. also didn't have cinnamon but tasted great without it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heejin March 22, 2010

Great pie used frozen berries but added some corn starch to the mix. I didn't have enough blueberries so added a bag of mixed berries . I also left out the butter ( I was out ) this still turned out great . Thanks so much bev

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DAKOTAFARMGIRL February 06, 2010

I will make it again and cook the filling for just a couple minutes to dissolve the flour and sugar better. I left out the butter and since I had really sweet berries cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. This was a birthday pie for my husband. It was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovdolls August 03, 2008

Excellent. My family loves this so much I am going to have to start making two at a time. I use a 8" pie plate and I've found that reducing the blueberries to 4 cups and mashing half of them makes a thicker filling so the pie more compact and easier to work with. You may want to reduce the sugar to compensate for less berries. I also reduce butter by at least half. I use pie crust 13619 with half butter, half shortening. The crust actually takes slightly longer to make than the pie itself, but I think it's worth it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef July 29, 2008

I made this for my son's "birthday cake" and everyone loved it. Followed the recipe precisely and it was beautiful besides being good! Thanks Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dottie5 September 30, 2003

I followed this recipe to the letter. However it came out way too juicy and runny. I think I will try it again and increase the bake temp to 425 degrees and the time an extra 10 minutes. The taste was excellent though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana A July 15, 2003

After reading all the reviews about how so many cooks had trouble with both the cooking time and the filling thickening properly, I am surprised to see so many 5 star reviews. I baked for a total of 55 minutes, and it still wasn't thickened. I don't know if it's worth trying to fix this recipe, or if I should just try a different one. Very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halima Dances June 13, 2016

Just perfect! Easy to make and really delicious!! I made it with brown sugar and andean blueberries and it went perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniela Borja K November 17, 2015
Blueberry Pie