172 Reviews

The story behind why I made this pie is so unbelievable, that I won't even get started.
I made it with the following changes: I added about 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and a little lemon zest. I knew the baking time was off..bake at least 50 min, until brown and bubbling. Do NOT slice for at least an hour, or you will have a runny mess. If you wait til it sets, there is no need for cornstarch. Make sure you bake any fruit pie on a cookie sheet, as they tend to bubble over a bit.
This was excellent. Truly excellent.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris #5 September 19, 2010

If you want a fresh blueberry pie that isn't "jam-like" but bursting with whole berries please use this recipe!! I used Pillsbury pie crust and even managed to make a lattice top crust. It was delicious - and it was gone in 2 days!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierBjw August 13, 2002

Read here to make a perfect pie using frozen blueberries: We used the full five cups of blueberries thawed, thoroughly drained, and squeezed a bit in a colander. To the flour mix we added one tsp of cornstarch. In place of sugar, we used splenda (cup for cup) to save calories. We tried previous reviewers methods of brushing egg wash on the bottom crust before putting in the filling; this worked well. My husband rolled the top crust out, cut it into seven 1 1/4" wide strips and did a basketweave pattern on top. (We saw this method on Alton Brown's Good Eats Blueberry episode.) We dotted the margarine in between the slats of the top crust, and brushed on an egg wash of one beaten egg with approx. 1 tbsp water. It looked like a Martha Stewart pie. Alton says to let it cool a long time--at least two hours--so that it will hold up. Ours cut and held together perfectly, but we let it cool overnight. We ate it for breakfast this morning warmed up with lowfat vanilla frozen yogurt on top. It was easy, delicious, lower calorie than most pies, and a perfect spring/summer dish. The frozen blueberries were much more cost effective, and I doubt anyone would guess that they were not fresh. Thank you for sharing!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bette April 30, 2008

I made this blueberry pie for our Fall Fair,I won first prize.A keeper.It,s very good.Nora Marie

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 13765 October 05, 2002

Superb!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frosty June 30, 2002

Addendum to my previos review: we had a diabetic visitor so I substituted Splenda for sugar, with no loss of quality.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.Destructo November 13, 2010

I could not believe how good this pie was!!! If I could give it 10 stars I would!!! I did make some changes to the original recipe. I decreased sugar to 3/4 cup, increased flour to 1/2 cup and added 2 teaspoons of tapioca to thicken it. I also brushed the bottom crust with egg white to keep it from getting soggy. This pie made all my blueberry picking this summer worthwhile!! Serve it with vanilla ice cream for a totally indulgent experience!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherismiley August 20, 2007

Loved this recipe. Went to the blueberry patch this morning and this highlighted the sweet fresh blueberries. I did make my own crust. We love Ina Garten's crust recipe and the lattice top. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1 T cornstarch and probably would repeat that though don't think the cornstarch was necessary. We served it with fresh whip cream. Thanks for sharing! Will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stmarkwell July 22, 2012

WHERE HAS THIS BLUEBERRY PIE RECIPE BEEN ALL MY LIFE??? I used my own pie crust recipe & I added 2 T. cornstarch to the filling. I don't care much for egg wash, so I sprinkled the top crust with sugar...EXCELLANT!!! THANKS for sharing!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman December 08, 2011

Very good and tasty! It was my first time making a blueberry pie and it came out pretty well! I used frozen blueberries, and after the first 30 mins at 400F, removed the foil (protecting the edges of the pie from burning) and put the pie back back in the oven for another 30 mins at 425F. I did also add 1 tsp of cornstarch in the blueberry/flour mix. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dou Sa Bao November 25, 2008
Blueberry Pie